We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned for a second night.”
Review of Bistro De schilder

Bistro De schilder
Ranked #83 of 716 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome The place in Bruges centre to eat good at an honest price
Adelaide Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Returned for a second night.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I first went here in the rain, late after arriving in Bruges. They were full but made room for me, a solo traveller. I enjoyed one of their specials with a beer - a rabbit casserole, and returned the following night for Moules. Great place, come early or book!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear CarolySC

Thank you very much for your review! Good that you leave some tips to reserve because on certain nights it is for sure needed and earlier coming is less busy.

Friendly greetings from Belgium !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    204
    41
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Rabbit that would make a hard-core veggie backslide”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Will you be in Bruges? Yes? Then you must go here. Order the rabbit, or the pepper steak if you just can't stand the idea of eating BunBun. The rabbit is to die for, simply wonderful. It's a family business, and they really couldn't be nicer or more friendly. It's priced very,very well for what you're getting, and in addition it's quite a cozy restaurant. I would take anyone here without worry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaymoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear JaymoOslo

Thank you very much for your review ! We surely hope that your readers will do what you said, and for the veggies who don't backslide we have a selection of veggie dishes as well also available during dinner !
Thank you very much and remember when in Bruges have our Rabbit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Cosy restaurant on Jan van Eyck Plein, couple of minutes or so from main square.
Two main courses, two desserts, bottle of water and 4 beers came to around 53 Euros. Great value for a really nice meal.
Waiters lovely as well - none of the attitude that staff in certain other restaurants seemed to have. Recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank diveannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear diveannie

Thank you very much for your review! We just try to do what you are writing the staff is very happy that you liked the style of service .
Thank you and hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good find on a one day visit”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We almost went past this place while looking for a beer and snack, as we saw another group turn away, but as they were many and we were just two, we decided to ask. Downstairs was full but the staff pointed to a narrow staircase, which we ascended to find one empty table, next to the window, overlooking the statue of Jan Van Eyck.

There was a gas fire made to look like a wood burning stove, and the view across the square to the attractive buildings opposite was just perfect.The stairs are very steep and narrow, and would be difficult to anyone less mobile.

I was recommended the local Zot beer, which was lovely, while my wife tried a Leffe blond. On ordering our second beers we were also bought a small bowl of assorted nuts.

We had planned to have a quick snack [croque monsieur], as we were going to eat again in around three hours before our trip back to England, but the snacks were so delicious, and accompanied by a wonderful salad, that we decided to have a dessert as well.

I had a superb waffle [completely different from those at home], while OH tried a cherry pie. Service was a bit slow, but we didn't really feel ignored at any time. We spent 2 hours in here, and were the only customers remaining upstairs, when we left, although downstairs was still full.

We cancelled our plans for the later meal, as we were full up, and just needed a snack on the way home. There was a small mix up when I came to pay, as they undercharged, but this was soon sorted. We had 2 beers, I coffee, 1 croque monsieur, and 1 dessert each, for under E50.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gorby321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Gorby321

Thank you very much for your big review , must be one of the longest we have seen this year ! Keep it coming, we are very happy to hear that you had a good time in our place , its true that on a one day visit most probably don't arrive here but you did and we are glad.

Friendly greetings from brugge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slightly off the beaten path but definitely better than some of the tourist traps!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

seems like almost an arty type place , We booked during the day for dinner and were seated upstairs. We each had a starter and a main and to be honest a main was probably enough because portions are large. With some of the stews they give a pot with the extra stew. Desserts are nice and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. In terms of value this was a lot better them the places in the Markt area and significantly better quality. Can't fault it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blowers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Blowers79

Thank you very much for your review! We are indeed in the artist area and old trade center located. and yes we don't allow people to leave with empty stomach.

Thank you very much for your visit and see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro De schilder also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bistro De schilder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing