We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food . . . and friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro De schilder

Bistro De schilder
Ranked #75 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome The place in Bruges centre to eat good at an honest price
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food . . . and friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights in Bruges and after having had a fantastic meal here the first night, we decided to go back again for our last night.

Both meals were delicious and the service was excellent.

Over both evenings between us we sampled the fish soup, vegetable soup (which was the soup of the day) and cheese croquettes as starters. Then for mains we had steak, mussels in white wine and the Flemish stew.

Couldn't fault a thing!! . . . and decent prices as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6Wanda6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear 6Wand^6

Thank you very much for your review!

We like to keep quality up and service 2 even if you come back the second time.

You picked all of our specialities of the menu and here is the result !

Thank you for your visit and hope to see you again!

Friendly greetings from Brugge

Dimitri Vanhaecke
Bistro De Schilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    200
    41
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quality has to be paid for....it's worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

You quickly come to realise that to eat good food in Bruges is not cheap. Bistro De Schilder is just about perfect on a Summer's evening. We sat under the van Eyke statue and watched the world go by as our food was prepared. Service was not the quickest, but then, your food is cooked to order and comes piping hot. The trip to Bruges was worth it just for De Schilder's coq-au-van, it was just the very best with exciting and unexpected flavours. Try it for yourself and be amazed!

Bruges is now high on our places to revisit and Bistro De Schilder will be top of the list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear mikeraine

Thank you very much for your review ! Restaurant prices are often made with external factor such as high taxes and labour costs. In Belgium we have the highest labour cost in
Europe. Politics are not backing up the touristic sector but simply tax it even higher.

But we are not politicians, we open an restaurant. Thank you for putting us on the top of your list!

Friendly greetings from Bruges

Dimitri Vanhaecke
Bistro De Schilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Whenever we visit Bruges, which is often, we eat here. We always get a warm welcome but were saddened to hear of the owner's death, the place is now in safe hands with his son. Service is always good but it gets busy with locals and visitors so it is advisable to book. The menu is good and varied but I always go for their fish soup as my starter, best I've ever tasted. The Flemish stew is excellent as are the steaks and of course, Belgian chips are in a league of their own. Prices are reasonable, it is not cheap eating out in Bruges. We always leave full and contented.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blod12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear blod12

Thank you for your review ! Yes our father has passed away this year.
But we will try to keep our place the same as it Always was and as you very well know it.

Friendly greetings from Brugge

Dimitri Vanhaecke
Bistro De Schilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good food with athmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

we had a good time sitting on the van Eyke place eating a super fish-soup and rabbit stew for me while my husband enjoyed the beef stew never to be missed in Belgium. Celebrating our 10 Year Wedding Anniversary we looked actually for a posh restaurant with white table cloth, but the food smelled so convincingly good that we did not regret our visit for one second.
Staff very friendly and it is a family business! A brother at the front the other behind the stove. An absolute success story. Thank you for the nice evening, A kid from the neighbourhood got its violin out and played at advanced level some sonata for half an hour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eleundhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Eleunhund

Thank you very much for your review!

You know that without customers like you this place would never be a succes story.

You are welcome and hope to see you again.

Friendly greetings

Dimitri Vanhaecke
Bistro De Schilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Excellent experience in this busy little bistro. As soon as we sat at the table the waiter came over and apologised for the expected wait of 30 minutes!
The food was home made and fresh and was delivered well within that time.
The set menu was excellent value for money and the food looked and tasted very appetising. Plain food, well cooked and nicely presented.
Set in the more historic part of the city, its location is perfect The service was top notch and I would definately recommend this bistro to anyone visiting Bruges.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Lainy121

Thank you very much for your review! The set menu changes every season and we like to use the products that are in the season.

Hope to see you again !

Dimitri Vanhaecke
Bistro De Schilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro De schilder also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bistro De schilder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing