We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, too many choices.”
Review of Bistro De schilder

Bistro De schilder
Ranked #104 of 723 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome The place in Bruges centre to eat good at an honest price
Rochdale
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ok, too many choices.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The food was nice and the setting nicer, but there are many more places that offer better quality of food and beer. Would recommend for the settings that you are served in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike2Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Mikydee999

Thank you for your review. We are proud of saying that since 1983 our restaurant started and or goal is to offer the best food/quality/price available. About our beers , we offer to our clients about 30 different beers, we have 6 different trappist beers, One of them for example is Orval, voted in Belgian newspapers to be the best beer in Belgium. Orval and many other beers we order way in advance to keep in our cellar before we serve them for Better taste.

We are not a Beer Café but merely a Belgian restaurant with food made with beer and served with beer.

Sincerely
Dimitri Vanhaecke
Bistro De Schilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    204
    41
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beernem, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price in the heart of Brugge”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great food at a great price in the heart of Brugge. Close to the market in the historical center of Brugge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Tom S.

Thank you for your review ! In future we will try to keep prices great and food also!

Friendly greetings
Dimitri Vanhaecke
Bistro De Schilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday night in Bruges”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great restaurant in lovely Square. We should perhaps have sat outside but that was our choice. Good menu and my rib eye steak (and my girlfriend's rump steak) were very good. Service was friendly and efficient. Capped off a great day.

Thank you to the staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear ontheroadagain059

Thank you very much for your review ! We offer seats outside but inside is always available for you. We are happy to hear that we were part of your great day !
See you again!

Friendly greetings

Dimitri Vanhaecke
Bistro De Schilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Brugge”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Bistro De Schilder is the best restaurant in Brugge of that we have no doubt. We found it by accident, one New Years Eve afternoon, just round the corner from the Market Square. We are forever grateful that they had just had a last minute cancellation, as they were fully booked. We have been there two years running now for our New Years Eve Celebration and It is now a tradition that we go there every NYE. In fact we have just booked again for this year to make sure we get a table. It is a family run restaurant and Dimitri the owner is wonderful, so hospitable. The food is superb, first class, it could win awards. The NYE menu is sumptuous and creative with wonderful ingredients. Atmosphere is relaxed whilst making you feel special.The ambience is welcoming, nice place settings, tables not packed together, plenty of room and Dimitri speaks good english. Cannot fault anything.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Jay D. :)

Wow its true new years eve is a special night and on this night we always do a special menu, a fact is that if you want to have a table on this evening its better to book but sometimes it happens that a table comes free and you were the lucky ones to have it.

Always nice to have you and your family.

Friendly greetings

Dimitri Vanhaecke
Bistro De Schilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice place for a good dinner”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a great dinner, friendly people, quiet place and afterwards they have send me a receipe to try it at home. We will come back!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank LiesbethNierop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear LiesbethNierop

Thank you very much for your review , you never told me how it went with the preparation at home of that recipe?

Hope to see you again

Friendly greetings
Dimitri Vanhaecke
Bistro De Schilder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro De schilder also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bistro De schilder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing