We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro De schilder

Bistro De schilder
Ranked #69 of 706 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $37
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome The place in Bruges centre to eat good at an honest price
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Early meal”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled on this place because next door was full, went early and just as well because it soon filled up. I had the mussels and my wife had a steak, both of which were excellent. Service was fast and friendly and the prices were not too bad, not the cheapest but you get what you pay for.

Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Alan R.

Thank you for your review ! Our Kitchen is open the whole day from 12.00h till 21.00h. And Early meals are also more then welcome.

Hope to have you again !

Friendly greetings from Bruges

Dimitri Vanhaecke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    200
    41
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint and friendly”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked as recommended so as not to miss out on a table. We were about 15 minutes early, which was not a problem and were seated straight away. We ordered a bottle of house Rose, which was light and pleasant. As also recommended we both had the Flemish stew served with salad and fries. The beef was so tender it fell apart. The sauce was rich and flavoursome. A small amount of the stew was initially presented to us on our plate, but then the waiter brought the rest of stew in a dish with a ladle. We would highly recommend this dish.

The young waiter was pleasant and attentive, even when the restaurant was full (all ten tables). He managed very well on his own.

Cannot recommend this Bistro enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Gillys

Thank you for your review! In our Restaurant is not obligated to reserve but if you would like to be sure of your table its better to reserve.

The young waiter is working with us since about a year and we are very happy to have him amongst us.

Friendly greetings from Bruges

Dimitri Vanhaecke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex uk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Mussels and Flemish Stew”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We found this place by chance, and were lucky to get a table as later in the evening others were being turned away.

My wife had Pumpkin Soup to start, followed by Mussels (there is a good choice of sauces to accompany them- she chose Herbs with tomatoes)

I went for Flemish Stew - excellent choice.

Both served with Fries.

Friendly and polite service.

I would certainly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billyseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Billyseagull

Thank you for your review! Every day we make a different fresh soup and mussels a freshly delivered and the beef stew is home made like everything else on the menu.

Hope to see you again

Friendly greetings from Bruges

Dimitri Vanhaecke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Favourite meal of our entire trip”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The food and beer were outstanding. We each ordered off the house-specialty menu, coq au vin and a flemish beef dish. They were lovely meals. Our server was very kind and the atmosphere was very warm and cozy on a cold winter night. we would highly recommend for a special evening out, or just a fantastic dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fargovespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear fargovespa

Thank you very much for having your favourite meal with us. We feel very proud and thankful.

Hope to have you again !

Friendly greetings from Bruges

Dimitri Vanhaecke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Very good dinner”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had the rabbit stew and the shrimp and tomato salad. Both were quite excellent and the shrimp salad was a welcome reprieve from many of the heavier Flemish dishes. A little pricey, but in line with the rest of Bruges.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank abt9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrivh, Manager at Bistro De schilder, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear abt9904

Thank you for your review, If we may remark that our prices are below the average of Bruges.
Thank you for your visit and we hope to have you again.

Friendly greetings from bruges

Dimitri Vanhaecke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro De schilder also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bistro De schilder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing