We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning restaurant, gorgeous food but watch out for supplement prices.”
Review of Park Restaurant

Park Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $84
Cuisines: French, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A classy and relaxed restaurant in a classic 19th-century house, facing the beautiful Koningin Astrid Park. Old fashioned Belgian cuisine - light jazzy background music.
coventry
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning restaurant, gorgeous food but watch out for supplement prices.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked us into this restaurant for an anniversary meal having read the reviews on trip advisor.
We had a fabulous night - it's a beautiful venue with great food and service.
The only downside is the supplement on some of the meal options - we both ended up ordering dishes with supplements on both starters and main courses which made it a lot pricier. Of 4 main courses, 2 had a 5e supplement. Surely if running a reduced menu, it should be created to fit the 40 euro price.
It did take the initial shine off but the food more than made up for it, as did the gorgeous surroundings.
We would still highly recommend this for a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoventryLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axel5123, Owner at Park Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Coventry Lisa,

Thank you very much for your fine review of our restaurant and food.

Let me just explain about these supplements ( of 5 euro ).

These supplements, are a reflection of the price of the raw product.
Foie gras is more expensive than mushroom for example.
Cod is twice the price of Salmon.

This supplements are indicated and totally justified.

Contrary to what you might think, these products can not be fitted in a 4 course menu of 40 euro.

Consider this : some restaurants of the same category will charge up to 32 euro for ONE dish.
The 40 euro menu, with or without supplements, remains excellent value.

Furthermore, we offer an internet promotion of 74,90 euro, in the which everything is included.
Everything means : the 4 course menu, aperitif , wines, mineral water, coffee, AND, all supplements.

Please accept my dearest regards

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,645
    342
    84
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and food”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was a special occasion for my girlfriends 30th birthday. Having read the reviews I thought this would be the perfect venue to celebrate, we were not let down. We were made very welcome by Axel and his team and through chatting with them decided that the set menu deal with wine pairing would be our best option. The champagne and wine was free flowing and the food was of a very high standard for all four courses. At the end of the evening Axel came to our table and sang happy birthday which was a great end to the evening. Park restaurant serves high quality food and has a lovely atmosphere, if we return to Brugge (which I'm sure we will) we will be heading to Park for dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trusted Tripadvisor”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Booked a table at this restaurant due to Tripadvisor and a friends recommendation.
It is a beautiful restaurant and the service is very good. I find the mark of an exceptional restaurant
is being special without being pretentious. The park I found to be a little prententious although borh meals (my wife and I) were very good. I had the steak and it was excellent. One negative was the cheese fritters to start, the were dreadful, avoid them!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Visited the restaurant last night with great expectations from previous reviews, my wife and I were not disappointed, totally agree with earlier reviews, the venue, the service and the food were truly great. Many thanks to everyone at the Parkrestaurant for a memorable evening. I highly recommend you try this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Alantolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and meal”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was a wonderful restaurant which had come highly recommended by a close friend. I took my wife there for her birthday and it turned out to be a really treat.
The food was outstanding as was the wine but it was the superb service that we really noticed. The room and surroundings were also great.
We live in the UK and wish we could get meals of this quality in the UK for this price. I would certainly recommend the wine with each course option.
I would recommend this restaurant without any problems.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrickdclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Restaurant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing