We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinner”
Review of Park Restaurant

Park Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $84
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A classy and relaxed restaurant in a classic 19th-century house, facing the beautiful Koningin Astrid Park. Old fashioned Belgian cuisine - light jazzy background music.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a wonderful evening here, we were glad we had booked the internet offer to include wines, water and coffee. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff, the building is charming, and the decor elegant, we enjoyed the quality of glassware etc which along with the expertly cooked and presented food made the meal a very special occasion. We would return if we were lucky enough to visit Bruges again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nwspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,669
    344
    85
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Superb. Bruges best resturant and now I see why”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A mark of a great restaurant is the balance between Front of house (ambience, service, staff) and back of house(the kitchen). Few resturants manage to get the balance right without it becoming either a great meal ruined by terrible service or no matter how good the service, it can#t compensate for bad food.

Park Restaurant in Bruge is an exception. A finely balanced relationship between the two brothers who own and run this super resturant means from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave it doesnt disappoint you.

We were a group of 6 that had booked the 4 course menu with accompanying wine (All for euro 75 per head): We were treated to a superb Salmon blini amuse bouche, great Kir Royale, and then with every course there was a delicous wine and plenty of it.

Between us we pretty much tried the whole menu and everyone commented on the wonderful blend of texture, taste and presentation. This is a chef who knows his trade and manages to pull of the results conistently.

HIs brother as Maitre D, Axel, was a perfect example of having great personalised service without it being obtrusive. One of the staf mentioned it was her first day, but despite that she was knowledgeable about the wines , the pairing and the food.

This quality, consistency and training is exactly what you expect frrm a michelin starred reaturant and it wouldnt surprise me if Park Resturant soon earns that accolade,

Go now. You wont be disppointed and at euro75 a head the Prix Fixe with matching wines is a steal. But do book (they take online bookings)

Bravo., Axel. Quite superb. Thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdcryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford On Avon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Suprise weekend away”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Booked this table online after reading several reviews. It's never easy to make a decision if you have no 'personal recommendation' but the e mail response and booking process was efficient and friendly. Once there, we had a really lovely evening. The food was delicious, the service attentive and the surroundings very special. A normal Saturday evening out was actually a really lovely experience and will be part of our fabulous memory of a surprise trip to Bruges - thank you to Axel and his very professional staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent evening at the Park!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a great evening at the Park on our last evening in Bruges. I saw the good reviews on Trip Advisor so booked a table, and definitely wasn't disappointed! We had the €40 set menu with matching wines for an extra €25 each - it was excellent value! I had the shrimp cocktail followed by the salmon, which was delicious! My boyfriend went for a meat option and had the fois gras pate followed by the steak and has been raving about it since.

On visiting Bruges you soon realise that there are a lot of restaurants (both good and bad!) and that most of them are fairly pricey. The Park really stood out to us as a place which was excellent in terms of quality, service and value for money. I just wish it was located nearer to where we live!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahPLondon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Rated no1 of 509 in Bruges, & you can see why.
We booked this restaurant in advance as we knew it would be difficult to book on the day.
Wise move as it was full on the Saturday evening.
The co owner Axel greeted us on arrival, nice touch as this continued throughout the evening.
Our waiter was also very pleasant and attentive but not over the top which can be the case in some top restaurants.
Overall a great evening with food to match.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank chunky310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Restaurant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing