We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little spot!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Restaurant

Park Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 707 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $82
Cuisines: French, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A classy and relaxed restaurant in a classic 19th-century house, facing the beautiful Koningin Astrid Park. Old fashioned Belgian cuisine - light jazzy background music.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little spot!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Me and my girfriend were here on Saturday night.
We arrived at around 8:30 and were lucky enough to get a table as a booking had canceled, so I'd advise booking.

It's worth knowing that on a Saturday The Park only serves a set menu of four courses at €40 per head, so it's a little more expensive than if you'd intended to to simply stop in for a main.
The food however is fantastic and we both really enjoyed our meals, it's actually great value for money.
The scallops in particular were awesome!

There was also the option to have a set drinks menu too. The way it works is that for €25 you get a pre meal glass of sparkling wine or a champagne cocktail, and then you are given various wines to match your choice of meal for the set menu. The wines are topped up when they are running low (without limit) and you have the added comfort of knowing that your wine will complement each course.

It's a very relaxed atmosphere and the young lads serving were very friendly and professional and really represented the restaurant well.
The guy managing (maybe the owner??) was a very friendly chap and everyone was keen to ensure that we were enjoying our meals and were comfortable. At the same time they managed the balance between attentive and intrusive and although we were really well looked after we were never bothered or interrupted by the staff.

Had a great time there and should we visit Bruges again we'll definitely go back.

Things you really should do while in Bruges are climb the Belfry, visit the brewery, try as many beers as you can, have the moules frites, go off the beaten track to find an authentic (not touristy) Belgian waffle and visit The Park Restaurant. Do them in whatever order you like but try to do them all.

Thanks The Park, our last night in Bruges was great :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_and_Laura2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axel5123, Owner at Park Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Chris and Laura 2013.

Thank you very much for your indepth review of our restaurant.

When visiting Bruges it is better to climb the Beffry first and THEN come to the Parkrestaurant.
Doing that in reverse order is almost impossible... ;-)

Best regards from Bruges

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,622
    339
    82
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Grand Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having spent New Years Eve at the Park on a couple of occasions, my wife and I booked in on the Friday evening of a recent Bruges mini break. As usual the welcome was warm, and the ambiance first class. We ordered from the standard 4 course menu and had the wine package. The food was excellent as usual and was enhanced by the fact that the wine package ensured that the wine with each course complimented the food served. I would have to say that the main course of fillet of beef was outstanding, and probably the best beef dish I have ever had. Having spoken to Axel I understand that it was Belgian Blue Beef. I will look forward to having it again.

The service was, as usual, exemplary. The staff charming, friendly, and really knowledgeable. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

I have eaten in quite a lot restaurants in Bruges, (Michelin Star excluded) most of them serving decent fare, but for me the Park is a cut above.

Cheers Axel. We look forward to seeing you again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axel5123, Owner at Park Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Keith L,

It is always a pleasure for us to welcome guests back.
After 25 years in business, some clients have actually become friends.
It was good to see you back and a pleasure to cater for your Birthday !

Please come again,

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Annick Had a great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

After reading so many positive comments we decided to try the Park and were not disappointed. The ambiance and service were first class and so was the food, although I would have loved to try a typical carbonnade de boeuf - please note Axel. Next time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axel5123, Owner at Park Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Annick S,

Thank you very much for your high rating of our restaurant.

Allthough Carbonade de Boeuf is not an item on our menu, we will be more than happy to prepare it specially for you, if given notice some days in advance ( not on Friday or Saturday though, when we only serve the set menu )

Is that a deal ?

Best regards from Bruges,

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been nicer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Me and my girlfriend dined here last night (wednesday evening) and from the moment we walked in, the hospitality and atmosphere of the restaurant was outstanding. When we were seated, the friendly staff made sure that we fully understood the separate parts of the menu and made every effort to provide a quick and efficient service. The food itself was delicious, probably one of the best meals that we have ever tasted. Definitely worth the money - the bill didn't come to as much as I thought a place of this standard would normally charge. 10/10!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_1256_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axel5123, Owner at Park Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mike_1256_13,

Thank you for your visit and being such a good ambassador for our restaurant.
It pleases us all to read that we made your evening an enjoyable one !

It will be a pleasure welcoming you and your charming partner back in our restaurant.

Please accept my best regards

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice but nit sure if it is no1 in bruges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I went there with my family for dinner on a Saturday night, they only served a limited choice of items in the menu. It was OK for us since the food on the menu did sound attractive. The food was good but I won't say it is the best in Bruges. Their desserts were actually a bit disappointing. Overall, I do think it is nice place with going to but I wouldn't say it is the best in Bruges.

Helpful?
11 Thank myfoodmyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axel5123, Owner at Park Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear myfoodmyview,

Thank you very much for your visit and review.

The Ranking on Tripadvisor reflects "overall guestsatisfaction" as to the restaurant ( and its concept ) the client has chosen.
It is not a culinary guide where the best restaurant with the most stars is on top of the list.

If you are looking for the best restaurant in Bruges , then it is advisable to buy a culinary guide, written by professional foodcritics and pick a restaurant on top of that list.
It is clear that the price you will pay, will aprroximately be 4 to 5 times more than what you have payed in our restaurant, which is normal.

We offer uncomplicated, great food, served in beautiful surroundings by friendly waiters.
All of this, at a reasonable price.

The overall satisfaction clients get from all of the above points is reflected in the Tripadvisor ranking.

Please accerpt my best regards

Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Restaurant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Park Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing