We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent New years eve!!!”
Review of Hotel 't Zand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 't Zand
Ranked #83 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent New years eve!!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We manged to get a room with this hotel at the last min for new years eve, and it couldnt have been better!!
The room was basic but very clean and tidy, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotels restuarant before heading out to celebrate and the food was really amazing! Plus a good choice of nice wine too!
Definately the best new years we have had, walking through the city celebrating and ended up in the quare outside the hotel, with some belgian kareoke!!
Would advise this hotel to anyone going away for a weekend break and even more so for new years eve!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattandgemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    62
    35
    12
    2
See reviews for
22
67
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

If you are after a no frills gvfm hotel then this one ticks all the boxes. Just a short 10 mins walk from the station, the hotel is situated on the first square that you come upon. From the hotel it’s only another short walk to the main Markt Square. The rooms are contemporary and clean with all the basics of shampoo, shower gel sachets, but don’t expect extra niceties like a box of tissues, safe, mini-fridge etc. The staff are quietly efficient and helpful. Breakfast is a good basic – fruit salad, yoghurts, juice, Danishes, cheese and ham etc.

We didn’t dine at the hotel and only tried the restaurant next door, De Middenstand, but can highly recommend it. Huge portions when ordering the carbonnade flamande and the prices are also slightly cheaper than other restaurants! Also … for an unforgettable mug of chocolate heaven go to De Proeverie in Katelijnestraat.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mipanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Just returned from a night stay at the T Zand and would certainly book again ! The hotel is only small but the sevice and the friendliness of the staff was excellent. The room was nicely decorated and very clean and the breakfeast buffet catered for any needs.The hotel is ideally located on T Zand square and only a few minutes walk from the market square.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodlooking1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The hotel was within easy walking distance of the station. Our rooms were immaculate, with Air-con which was very welcome. The staff were lovely, and as we arrived early we'd hoped just to leave our bags to check in later, but the rooms were ready and we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel is a five minute walk from the main square.
We stayed for only 2 nights but again, as we were leaving Bruges quite late on the hotel were very helpful in keeping our luggage safe.
Breakfasts were very nice, served in a very pleasant first floor room overlooking the square. We ate in the main restaurant on one night and the food was particularly good. The waiters, and indeed all the staff, were fluent in a range of languages and we were made to feel most welcome at all times.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel, and will in fact be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desdemona2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel 't Zand for one night in August. We planned this trip rather spontaneously and found that a lot of hotels were already fully booked. Another thing to remember when visiting Bruges is that a lot of hotels have a 2 night minimum stay. I emailed the hotel and actually sorted everything out with the owner via email. Manager Pascale Van Moffaert and her husband not only speak at least 4 languages (Dutch, German, French and English) but are also extremely friendly and helpful. As an example, the weather was dreadful when we arrived and were immediately offered an umbrella which we were able to use while we explored Bruges.
The room was great, really tidy and very comfortable. The bathroom was super clean and spacious. We didn't really want to leave the room to go out in the wet.
The breakfast the next morning was good, nothing too fancy. You get freshly squeezed orange juice, which is always a plus but the selection was rather limited (scrambled egg, bacon, ham, cheese and a selection of jams). However the selection of breads was great –the fresh roles were delicious.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel, it's quite central (bearing in mind Bruges isn't very big) about 5 -10 minute walk to the main square and only a 10 minute walk to the train station. It also has a car park just outside the hotel (not sure about prices though, as we came by train).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Student_Andreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the 'tZand fronting on the large plaza fronting the hotel. Just beyond the restaurant terraces is very large and convenient, and most important inexpensive, parking garage (a little over 8 Euro for 24 hours). Arrived without reservations but needing parking, we checked with tourist info, and while looking over the list of hotels I saw this very attractive small hotel over a restaurant right across the street from the "i". Indeed they had a room, and showed us two, both $110 per night (Wi-fi extra but not expensive) which was appropriate for the location (we could just wheel over our bags). The rooms were newly redecorated and beds were comfortable (in a clean scandinavian style which would fetch over $300 a night in New York). The breakfast was good, the clerk (who doubled at the restaurant adjacent to the small reception area) was helpful. We found that a restaurant on the Burgplein was better than the cafe in the hotel and the adjacent restaurant (it was chilly and there was not only a fireplace, but better food). Very convenient for all sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrangerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Great customer service- staff on reception attentive and very keen to please. Rooms are air conditioned (though took 12 hours to drop to comfortable temp- maybe because when key card removed from room everything turns off!!) Rooms are understated but bedroom and bathroom are very clean and there are comfortable beds.
We needed family accomodation and were offered 2 rooms with a connecting door at a reasonable rate. Location is good with secure underground parking available within 100 yds ( approx E9 per 24hr period- a bargain!)
internet access via a cable is available if own laptop- charged at 5 euros for us.
Ate in the restaurant in the eveing- not able to add meal bill to hotel bill. Hoever food good and service good and friendly.
Couldn't fault this hotel. Would certainly stay again and would suggest it to others.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Leopold
Leopold
#72 of 97 in Bruges
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#31 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portinari Hotel
Portinari Hotel
#42 of 97 in Bruges
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#17 of 97 in Bruges
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Brugge
Park Hotel Brugge
#86 of 97 in Bruges
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Zand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Zand

Property: Hotel 't Zand
Address: 't Zand 21, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 't Zand 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel 't Zand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel t Zand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing