We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird, but clean, comfy and organized!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Marjan Degraeve
Ranked #121 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed in a room that was filled with strange decorations including a mannequin and multiple dolls. It was kind of odd at first, but everything else about the place kind of makes you forget about it.

Marjan was super organized, friendly and helpful! She put together a great list of recommendations for food, beer and shopping in Bruges. It was so helpful because we had never been to Bruges and sometimes just picking a place to eat is tough without a recommendation.

On top of the place being very clean and tidy, there is a sink in your room, so you can wash your hands and brush your teeth without leaving the room. Marjan also brought us a delicious breakfast each morning to start our day off right! She was even kind enough to drop us off at the train station after we checked out.

It was a very comfortable and enjoyable stay for both of us!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 43 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

It was a strange and a very special room. I never have seen such a home. We was fascinated. At first it was to much for our child - she was slightly frightened, but then she discovered a lot of old comics and was happy!
The service is great, the breakfast - very good!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnkaBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I decided to stay in Brugge for a night prior to a business meeting in Belgium. I am glad i did. I have a friend back home from Brugge and told me if i had a chance to visit. I will now be telling anyone i meet to do the same and stay at Marjan Degraeve. This is not your "normal" b&b and has many great differences. The fridge of beer and wine that you are welcome to buy (at around 2 euro a bottle for the beer) is a sure fire way to get the praise of an Australian. Breakfast was just what was needed. Great bread, cheeses etc. Rooms very comfortable and quirky. If you don't mind a mannequin in your room, don't mind something interesting to look at in every nearly every inch of the place, don't mind some of the best beer I have tasted, don't mind a couple of the nicest hosts you will come across and don't mind one of the most beautiful villages you will ever see, this place is for you. SUPERB.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyJames79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed in this B&B for a long weekend at the end of May & it was our first trip to Bruges. We can happily say that we could find no faults either in the room itself or the hospitality shown by Marjan & Karel.We loved the idea of having our breakfast left for us outside our room each morning and being able to make a hot drink in our room at any time of day. As an update to previous reviews we should add that the spacious attic room now has it's own toilet & shower so that you no longer have to share facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailNick90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

I talk about this B&B to anyone who mentions Bruges. My usual highlights:
- While it's off the beaten path, it's not far at all from anything. Being in a neighborhood meant we happened upon a local block party with bands and beer!
- Marjan was so generous. We asked to use her washer for laundry as that was advertised on the site, and she did our laundry and hung it up to dry for us!
- Just reading the guestbooks and exploring the artwork of the house was entertainment.
- Our room in the attic was very spacious for the two of us.
- A shared bathroom is nearly enjoyable with the artwork and decor you have to see to believe.

I don't know how you could have a bad day in Bruges staying here. We stayed an extra day just enjoying our space and wandering the town, not doing much of anything in particular.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christymir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We were at this B&B at the beginning of july 2007. It is a fascinating place located at less than a kilometer from the main place. They have 2 rooms, one on the first floor and a very large room on the 2nd floor. Not like the usual B&B, you have your own coffee machine and fridge; so you can have breakfast in your room. Beside location and price, this place is also interesting because of his "unique artistic interior design" (see the pictures). The owners also prepared a list of attractions and restaurants according to your budget. The place has a web site if you want more infos.

Thank PufferTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La chambre du 1er étage au coût légèrement plus élevé (75€) est plus spacieuse et plus fraîche en ét...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Félix L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
10.7 mi away
Woodside Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.3 mi away
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
0.9 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Marjan Degraeve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Marjan Degraeve

Address: Kazernevest 32, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $55 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect the unexpected! Two spacious and airy rooms in an artistic house, overlooking a pleasant park and canal. Breakfast included, private facilities. Close to the windmills, at 10 min. walking distance to the market square. The owners are wine-makers and brew their own beer. Bicycle rental. Free parking. Free Wifi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing