We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B and right where you need to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calis Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #69 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice B&B and right where you need to be”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Loved it. One block away from the Markt and a sidestreet away from a typical Belgian bakery loaded with espresso and fresh baked croissants. Rooms are really nice sized and very clean. Breakfast arrived with continental flare - soft boiled eggs, cured meats, cheeses, yogurt and fruits. Everything is walkable, especially from this location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We took the Mediterranean; very spacious, but there are no floor to ceiling walls between the bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank severlupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Excellent location in the centre of Bruges (we walked from the train station which takes about 20 mins). Super-friendly owners who greeted us by name. Large, bright, airy, room with king sized bed. Clean and very comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and served to your room each morning at your nominated time. There is a small boutique restaurant downstairs that we can also recommend. The owner is the chef and they serve great local or french inspired 3 course meals for 35 euro per person.
Only one down-side to the room: the bathroom is not seperate so not a good idea if you are shy!

Room Tip: The mediterranean room is the best. It is upstairs and a bit quiter because doesn't face onto th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The owners are lovely. The location is fantastic. The aroma drifting up to the rooms from their restaurant is wonderful. Sadly we did not get a chance to eat there, it was packed every night. But it did smell great!

The room is clean and nice sized. The rest I have to say is pretty average. The beds are very hard which you may love (I did not, but my boyfriend did). Because of a previous review of the hotel we were warned about the "pillows" that they have so we brought our own. We were very glad we did. They are more like a decorative toss pillows, not something you would actually use to sleep on. The breakfast is nice but not great as some other reviewers state, and it does not vary from day to day... soft boiled egg and an assortment of bread with plain yogurt. It is very nice however that it arrives in your room and you can eat privately instead of like many B&Bs with a communal breakfast area.

We stayed in the Marine Suite - a nice sunny room with large windows. To call it a suite however is a stretch to call the cubby hole sitting room a room at all. It is actually too small for 2 people to sit in there together and would have been better served if it was turned into a closet because there is none in the room. Instead there is a rack on the wall in the bedroom area with 4 hangers and an antique chest of drawers that you cannot open the top drawer of and has very shallow drawers that placing 2 t shirts on top of each other would preclude you from closing the drawer. On top of the dresser is a book that previous guests who have stayed in the room have filled out, which was nice to look through, and a nice personal touch. Additionally there is no night table by the bed, so no alarm clock in the room. My boyfriend uses a C-pap to sleep with, so he had to put it on the floor and under the bed so it would not get accidentally damaged. The hotel, like all of Bruges is an historic building, which also means not many electrical outlets, We anticipated this and brought our own multiple plug extension cord and we were glad we did.

There is a little refrigerator in the room which comes in handy. The TV may be bit too small for the room, but you do not go to Bruges to watch TV.

To no fault of the hotel, there happens to be a youth hostile a little bit down the road from Calis, and sadly we were woken up both nights because of drunken teenagers heading back to their hotel. Again not the hotel's fault, and there a number of hotels and bed and breakfasts in the area which all face the same issue, but something to keep in mind.

Room Tip: Marine Room is on the first floor street level front of the building. Drunk teenagers stay at the y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treeisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The lady running the B&B was possibly the friendliest hotelier I have ever come across! She was so welcoming and down to earth, even feeling our New Years Day pain with a late breakfast (which is excellent by the way). The rooms are very clean and individually themed adding to a sense of occasion. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gusatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed at, a great choice for a trip to Brugge. The room was so eclectically decorated, I loved it! The owners are very sweet and were waiting on us for our late arrival. We parked at the train station and took the bus into the center of town, I can't remember if they had nearby parking. They serve an awesome breakfast in your room, which we loved. We ate every morning in our room's breakfast nook overlooking the street below. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommended to everyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor room, 4 post wooden bed and an 'out house' in the room for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelseys220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at the Calis in September and what a little gem it is! The hosts were the friendliest and most accommodating people ever...There are just 4 themed rooms, we stayed in the "African" room...which was very comfortable. An amazing continental breakfast is served in the room which we thought was a nice touch. The Calis is situated in the historic centre of Bruges...just 100metres from the main square, an absolutely fabulous location...Highly recommended! The only reason I haven't rated this a 5 is that the toilet is in the bedroom! (partitioned off by a 5ft wall with no door) This is fine if you have no inhibitions but in my opinion there are certain things one likes to keep private!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozzie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night on September 13. We stayed in the Creole room and chose it based on the pictures on the website. We liked the look of the raised platform on which the breakfast table was located. The window there looks out on an alley and a rooftop garden across the way. The lighting was nice and the room was well-decorated with a comfortable bed. The biggest downside was probably the noise from the alley outside the room (which is probably something that's hard to avoid if you want a place close to the middle of Bruges).

Location: block and a half from the town hall square. Two blocks from a parking garage that's 8.5 euro/day. Charlie Rockets hostel is a block away and is probably part of the reason for the noise.

Service: The owners came outside when we arrived and directed us to the parking garage, made recommendations for waffles and chocolates (good recommendations), and allowed us to leave our baggage as late as 6pm the following day (the room wasn't taken so we just kept the key).

Breakfast was prompt and very good, with soft-boiled eggs, toast, jam, fresh juice, coffee and hot chocolate. (only one hot drink apiece).

Room Tip: -Creole room is below the other rooms. you can hear people trudging up the stairs right outside you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekker243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#43 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#54 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Zenasni
La Maison Zenasni
#62 of 231 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sint Niklaas B & B
Sint Niklaas B & B
#28 of 231 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
#40 of 231 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fort Lapin
Fort Lapin
#118 of 231 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calis Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calis Bed & Breakfast

Property: Calis Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hoogstraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Calis Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Calis Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing