We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hobo Is Best Place To Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hobo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #123 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We have traveled to Brugge several times. This was our first time staying at the HOBO...and won't be our last!! Kristin is wonderful to work with. Always available to answer questions. We can't say enough about the wonderful breakfast each morning. It was huge. Great way to start each morning.
Room was clean and very comfortable. The only thing is you do share a bathroom that is located in the hall.
Location was perfect for seeing the sites.
We will be back soon.
Allan and Kim

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lifeiscrazy4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 91 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2008

From the moment I emailed Kristin with our request for a room everything ran smoothly with the Hobo bed and breakfast. The B&B itself is full of character. We stayed in the romantic room which was very comfortable, spacious and had an en-suite with good facilities. Breakfast was fantastic and the heart-shaped omelettes are just a really nice detail. The location was great and it was only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Bruges. We would definitely go back to the Hobo.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michellecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We spent three nights in Bruges for the February half-term.

We booked at Hobo B&B after a recommedation from another guest house that we were unable to get a booking for. The owner gave us great directions on how to get there and checking in wasn't too difficult. We were given the black and white room overlooking the street. Of the three rooms in the house it would probably be my last choice as the other two rooms get the best of the afternoon sunshine. The black and white room is also a twin room rather than a double room.

We shared a toilet with the room across the hall but at least we had our own shower. The room opposite had a great looking bath (we peeked in as we were the only ones there on the first night). The top room also looked nice and was fully en-suite.

Breakfasts were great - other reviews mentioned the heart-shaped omlette. My wife has just reminded me about the great hot chocolate. A good selection of rolls, bread and pastries and good coffee.

Parking was also very easy as the owners provide a parking disk that is valid for 4hrs and offer to change the disk through the day.

The B&B is a short walk from the main sights and we found getting around very easy. A couple of good resturants are close by and we would recommend the market in the town square on a Monday. (We were able to buy a load of assorted chocolate for the family at about half the price of the shops).

We spent 3 nights in Brugges which was probably one more than we needed but had an enjoyable stay all the same.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surrey_Zebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We stayed in the romantic room which is on the top floor and has it's own bathroom and toilet (although there was a curtain instead of door to this).
The room was clean and quite spacious and at a reasonable price. Kristine prepared a generous breakfast complete with heart shaped omlette. She was a friendly and helpful host and the location was a short walk into the markt (about 10 min).
Would surely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NZgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

When a recommended B&B was booked we were referred to this B&B run by Kristin Van Eeghem. She has 3 rooms and we booked the black and white room and blue room which are across from one another. Each has a bath facility but share a WC and with the doors open it felt like we had an apartment! Our breakfasts were artistic and ample- arranged fruits, omelettes shaped like hearts, etc. She was a great host and went out of her way to make sure we had information about the town and things to do. Her home has many funky accents, like a monkey hanging in the skylight.. The location is great, a quiet street off the street leading to Burg Square. An enjoyable stay!

Stayed: June 2007
Thank monksresolve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2007

Our stay at the Hobo was most pleasant. The warm and inviting sitting room with fireplace was a peaceful place to sit and have morning coffee or late afternoon tea. Our room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Kristin is a lovely hostess. We would definitely visit the Hobo again.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank Seamstressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

This is one of the best B&B's in Brugge... and there are a lot of ordinary places here. I was lucky enough to book all three rooms for myself, my wife and our 4 friends for NYE 2006. The owner, Belle, was an excellent host - always friendly, always helpful and willing to chat about Brugge and recommend the local restaurants (which also were fantastic).
My party of 6 all agreed - the rooms are gorgeous, the breakfast is fresh and plentiful, and the location is unbelievably good.
NYE 2006 also came with a surprise - Isabelle has sold the B&B, and we were lucky to meet the new owners on New Year's Day. Christine and her husband (didn't get introduced to him), have been learning from Belle and seem confident and able to take over the B&B. And it's a hard act to follow after Belle's reign. Good luck to them, but I feel that they'll do very very well. Christine is also a very friendly helpful and polite hostess, and I have no doubt she will be still there when we visit Brugge next.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank The_Mighty_Wombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.3 mi away
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobo Bed and Breakfast

Address: Ganzenstraat 54, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $65 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing