We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the peace and quiet”

Collier's Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Collier's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #111 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved the peace and quiet”
Reviewed December 2, 2008

Just spent a weekend at this B&B with family. We had 2 rooms on the 2nd floor which were very clean. We had continental breakfast which was good, there was a good choice of cold meats, cheese, yoghurt, orange juice, cereal, bread rolls, delicious croissants and boiled egg on offer.

We had gone to Brugge for the sightseeing/canals at a time when the Christmas markets were on (these are quite small compared to other cities such as Vienna). This B&B is only minutes walk from the main shopping area but is located in a side street just far enough away to be quiet. After parking outside the property to unload our bags, we were directed to a free car park about 10 minutes walk away from the property.

There are plenty of good places to eat, most offering a choice of fixed price menu as well as a la carte and the owners were happy to suggest places to go/see/eat.

Would say this is a convenient, clean and comfortable place to stay and would use again.

  • Liked — Quiet location
  • Disliked — Steep stairs!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Somersetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

We have stayed at Collier's B+B 3 times now, and are planning a fourth trip. This is a wonderful guest house in a beautiful city. Bruges is just over an hour's car drive from Calais which was great for us and our 2 young kids. The city has plenty of bars and restaurants with loads of 'touristy' things to do. The B+B is in a clean, safe area, and is only a 5 minute walk from the centre. The rooms are very clean and are all en-suite. I can highly recommend the attic room with the full size bath and ample area where the kids were able to play. The hosts are wonderful and offer a superb breakfast selection! I can highly recommend this B+B and have enjoyed every minute of our stays there.

  • Liked — Superb Location
  • Disliked — No parking, although there is a year round free car park nearby
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TomM1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

My Husband and I were away on a 10 day trip and needed to fill two days prior to getting the tunnel back to the UK.

This B and B was recommended to us by friends and we were very glad we took up on their advice!

It was very easy to get to from Calais, about an hours relaxed drive and it was especially easy to find, following the directions on the website, and although there is no parking at the B and B (which is the "norm" throughout the city as its very pedestrain and bike orientated) generally, you can park up outside to drop off luggage and stuff before putting the car in the local car park (3 min walk, 2.40 euro a day and quite secure as everyone uses it).

The building is quite unobstusive, look for the house number to find it, and its gorgeous! It has recently been renoveated to a very high standard. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was yum with fresh, hot rolls...

Jayne and Christian were great hosts and had lots of tips and advise to make our stay run smoothly.

We even managed a trip to the local beach, which was fab! It cost 3 euros for a return ticket, took about 20 mins... loved it!

We would highly recommend this B and B, and Brugge too!

  • Liked — All of it
  • Disliked — going home?!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

Our family of 4 stayed in rooms 1 and 2. Jayne and Christian were great hosts with so much info and background on history, places to visit, dine, etc. Gorgeous location looking out on the park and canal trail. Rooms and bathrooms are sparkling clean and charming. Bathrooms are very modern but small. Breakfasts were delicious and ample. I'd go back in a minute to this B&B and to Brugge (Bruges).

  • Liked — breakfast, rooms, location, hosts, neighborhood
  • Disliked — small bathrooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2006

We stayed here for a Christmas shopping weekend. Brugge is a very pleasant and manageable place, lots of shops, bars, restaurants and things to look at in one location. It was busy but not overwhelming and the atmosphere was very jolly.

This was an excellent place to stay as it was very near to everything but away from the noise. The property has recently been done up so everything is clean and new, which is lovely to find in a hotel/b and b.

  • Liked — All very clean and new
  • Disliked — Nothing, it's very authentic and pleasant
  • Tips/Secrets — Parking in Brugge was easier than we thought it would be and the drive from Calais was easy
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2006

My wife and I stayed in this charming B&B on a recent weekend to Brugge. It is ideally located within the old city centre on a tree lined avenue. The B&B is a recently renovated period town house that was warm and extremely comfortable. The room we stayed in, number 2 I think, was on the second floor and had a view across the park on the edge of the river. The owners made us feel very welcome and I recommend the full English breakfast, it's wonderful.

As for Brugge itself; well it's fantastic. It is full of amazing architecture and art work but my favourite was the Belgian speciality......Beer and chocolate of every flavour you can imagine.

Getting there is a breeze on the Euro star as the city is walking distance from the station. By car is just as good as the road from Calais or Dunkirk is quick and straight.

I would throughly recommend the city and B&B to anyone.

I didn't take photos of the room but you can see them on the website at [--]

  • Liked — The location and breakfast
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chocolate-starfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#36 of 97 in Bruges
2,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#44 of 97 in Bruges
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#74 of 97 in Bruges
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#17 of 97 in Bruges
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collier's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collier's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Collier's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hendrik Consciencelaan 31, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Collier's is charming 3 story Flemish house overlooking the park. Located on a quiet side road but only 10mins walk from the Grote Markt. It ensures a restful stay but is close to all Brugge has to offer.The rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floors, all have TV and ensuite facilities. They were all recently decorated to a very high standard.Breakfast is included in the room price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Collier's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing