We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet ”
Review of Hotel Wilgenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Wilgenhof
Ranked #126 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet ”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We didn't realise that Hotel Wilgenhof was so far from the centre of Bruges but don't let that put you off. We managed to get taxis daily for about £10 euros in to the outskirts and then just walked the rest of the way into the centre. The rooms are beautiful and we had a really nice wet room / shower. Would recommend if you can do with the taxi journeys or get yourself some bikes!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves back at the Wilgenhof for the third time. We have stayed in 3 different rooms and they have all been excellent. The beds are comfortable, clean rooms and bathroom with a lovely large shower head. It is very quiet at night time, we could leave the windows wide open during hot nights. Breakfast was lovely, a lot of attention has been paid to it. The bread was delicious, very fresh and crispy.

This is a delightful spot and we can recommend it to anyone who wants to stay just outside the busy town of Bruges.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annelies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The B&B was tugged away in a quiet and quaint area. So this is good if that is what you are looking for but bad if you think you are in the city. The family room was huge...essentially two bedrooms connected by a bathroom. The place is clean but in our opinion, it needs some updating. Breakfast was by no means ample...very simple...bread was good. Hostess was not overly warm but did the minimum interaction...this is not to say she was not nice, just not very talkative.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were happy to come back to the Wilgenhof and it did not disappoint. Cosy log fire at breakfast, fresh roses in December in our room. A++ If you are looking for a quiet retreat after a manic day in Bruges this is the place. All the 6 rooms have their own different styles and 3 are on the ground floor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croxy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Wilgenhof was absolutely lovely. We stayed for three nights. Set on a beautiful polder avenue along one of the canals out of Bruges, it was a welcome respite from tourist-heavy central Bruges, and helped give a true representation of Belgian life outside the city, and put Bruges into context. Alf O's review could not be more wrong. The breakfast was delightful - plenty to eat, good quality and healthy, including a selection of delicious fruits in an older part of the building. The room was big and comfortable. The hotel is set outside Bruges, but within a very easy cycling distance, and the route into town is completely flat, so a very easy ride. Cycles can be hired from the hotel and I would encourage everybody to do so as it was utterly liberating riding along the canal side. It was easy to find without sat nav. Nadine was an excellent host for whom nothing was too much trouble - when we visited the local pub in Damme and she happened to be at the bar, she bought us each a drink. We were made to feel very welcome. The only thing I can agree with Alf O on is that it is a borderline B&B, but that only adds to the charm. My only downside was very slightly less than perfect bathroom facilities, but that is something that seems commonplace throughout Belgium. In this case it was just a matter of a couple of broken tiles. I'm and interior designer and probably nobody else would even have noticed! The other reviewer who commented on the smell of smoke is right - it is there - but only in the hallway. I come from a smoke-free home and it didn't bother me in the slightest. A genuinely lovely stay, and I would recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizaALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I went here for a 3 night break inbetween packing up to move house. Booked on the internet due to the excellent rating on Tripadvisor. I will be honest and say that it was not the cheapest accomodation but I was determined to have a relaxing stay in a beautiful location. It was worth every penny.
We drove over and if you are going to stay a car is pretty much a necessity. On arrival we were taken to our room which was beautifully appointed and the owner explained everything we needed to know. We were given an electronic gate opener to allow access to the property at night and there was a fridge in the wardrobe. The bed was large and very comfortable and we slept really well each night.
The grounds are lovely and there is a well tended and designed ornamental garden. There are sun loungers dotted about the grounds, not like at a swimming pool but more as a convenience, a temptation to lie out and read or relax.
Breakfast is simple but superb, comprising fromage blanc with fruit and granola, cheeses and sliced meats, an assortment of delicious breads, pastries and coffee or tea.
I was extremely pleased with my choice of hotel and would recommend anyone to stay there but with only 6 rooms it may be advisable to book.

Room Tip: Room 1 very nice with a lovely wet room shower. Therefore good for those with mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polis, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This stay was a major disapointment.

This is described as a hotel when by most standards it would be classified as a B&B/guesthouse. Unforunately, the basic hospitality was lacking, as far as we were concerned.

The breakfast was frugal and the coffee was cold.

Finally, this establishment is several miles outside town and would be extremely hard to find without SatNav.

I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend it.

On a postive note, the room was clean comfortable enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruges
2.0 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
403 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hoeve de Steenoven
Hoeve de Steenoven
#5 of 16 in Damme
31 reviews
4.1 mi away
Antares Bed and Breakfast
Antares Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 231 in Bruges
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Canal Deluxe B&B
Canal Deluxe B&B
#8 of 231 in Bruges
498 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
2.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilgenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilgenhof

Property: Hotel Wilgenhof
Address: Polderstraat 151, Bruges 8310, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wilgenhof 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Wilgenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing