We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique house, lovely hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marie-Rose Debruyne Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #125 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the experience very much. For a B&B the beds very comfy and the breakfast was tasty with lots on offer!
Marie-Rose and Ronny were lovely hosts, extremely helpful and very approachable during breakfast time.
The design of the house itself is fun to look at and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The location is not directly in the centre, but Bruges being quite small, means you can take different routes everyday. Just follow a canal in any direction and see where you end up! Getting lost here is fun, just keep your bearings!
A recommended stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesWoodQuerales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We enjoyed our one-night stay at this B & B. They were prepared for our visit, and left us a note and the key to our room. The room was quite spacious, and comfortable with a good bed and plenty of hot water in the bath. It was not a very long walk from the Markt, but we suggest you take a bus or cab when you first get there and not try to pull your luggage over the cobblestones from the train station! The breakfast was delicious with wonderful breads, meat and cheeses (and even chocolate!). Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. They let us leave our luggage after check out, which was very helpful. I was so glad that there were tea/coffee making supplies in the room!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TigerLily8558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

As Bruges is pretty sought after in summer, we could not have rooms at any of our first choices B&B (several also require bookings for at least two nights, and we were staying only one). Debruyne proved to be a convenient second choice. Well located, and with absolutely charming hosts. The delicious and generous breakfast, with a pleasant garden view, somewhat made up for rooms that were very clean, but not particularly cheerful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloudtail10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

my wife and i carefully reviewed our options in this lovely city. we chose this b&b because of the preponderance of favorable reviews. we prefer to keep our lodging costs as close to 60 euros as possible, with 30% discount to the USD as a reference.

we were warmly greeted by marie-rose who graciously carried our luggage up two flights of stairs to our room on the third floor. since the home dates from the seventeenth century, the stairways are narrow and steep. those who have difficulty climbing should request a room on the ground floor.

our room was clean and tidy, with details we consider a plus: adjustable heating, reading lamps, generous sized towels. the breakfast provided was superb, both in its variety and its preparation.

best of all, both marie-rose and ronny bent over backwards to answer questions and to make sure we were comfortable.

though their home does not allow for common area outside of breakfast, we were happy to explore bruges and then retreat to our room for rest and reading.

thank you, marie-rose and ronny; i hope we meet again!

Room Tip: our room, on the top floor, under the dormers was charming, well ventilated and clean as can be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ustraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A study in contrasts. A very modern house, with lots of polished cement, tiles, steel and glass within a world heritage historic township. Think round doorways with a central pivot, to move from the B&B bedrooms to the communal kitchen. As others have reported, the breakfasts were very good. Both the egg cups and chair backs differed for each person, so it was always fun to see what you ended up with each day.
The rooms were quite spacious and had nice en-suites. The only blemish was the bed. Not sure if it was the mattress or support but found myself moving to the far side of the double bed to find a comfortable sleep position.
Location wise, it was good. Far enough away to avoid the crowds and noise but near enough that a 15 minute walk saw you at the Burg.
Would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oznewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our hosts were very nice and this B and B had the best breakfast in all our travels through Europe in 2 1/2 months. Great buns, eggs, yoghurt, toast, assorted meats and cheese plus the best coffee yet down to funky egg cups. The decor is really different, very clean and not far at all from the square. They were very helpful.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank martha111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Me and my partner stayed at this bed and breakfast for a three day break in bruges in the middle of December, we were welcomed in by Marie-rose who went through everything about the hotel, leaving no questions unanswered. We were also allowed to rent a garage for our car for 8 euros a day (very safe and in a private courtyard.) The building itself is very modern with interesting decor, we were given a key for our room, a key for the garage and a pass code for the front door, which we thought was a great thing for privacy and freedom (there's nothing worse than going through a hotel lobby full of the same faces everyday!). Breakfast... where do i start... marie-rose greets you each morning with a huge plate of pastries and bread, there is a wide variety of selection for breakfast. The room itself is average size, but plenty of room, ensuite and has everything you need for a city break.... if i'm honest you don't stay the whole of your city break in the room do you! (referring to a review below. VERY MUCH DISAGREE!) The heating in the room was easy to use and perfect for the cold weather to come home to. The location was only a five minute walk to the center of bruges and you come out directly in front of the belfry. we found a beautiful pub called the rembrant, which was a lovely atmosphere for a winters night. There was plenty going on in bruges you could ice skate, visit the bell tower, see Michelangelo's Madonna and child, see Jesus' blood capsule in a little church in the heart of bruges and there is a Disney ice sculpture festival on at the moment. Bruges itself was quite expensive but there were plenty offers on such as three courses for 16 euros however if you were on a budget there is a great Irish pub with reasonable food and large quantities of it!, Would defiinately recommend this b&b to anyone willing to go to bruges. BEAUTIFUL.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenprice26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.6 mi away
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
3.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#67 of 97 in Bruges
666 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marie-Rose Debruyne Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marie-Rose Debruyne Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lange Raamstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $65 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Marie-Rose Debruyne b&b
Marie-Rose Debruyne Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing