We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a rainy day”

Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum
Ranked #33 of 154 things to do in Bruges
Attraction details
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for a rainy day”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Was a little disappointed with this, the only reason I'd recommend coming here would be to get out of the rain, otherwise I wouldn't bother going.

You can do a combination of tours in the museum...chocolate, chips and light tour. We done the chocolate and light tour €11 per person.
I wouldn't bother with the light tour, very dull. There's only so many oil lamps you can look at and lots of reading about them, unless this your thing I would avoid.
The chocolate museum was more about the history, dating back to the Aztecs, with lots of reading.
At the end of the tour was a demonstration of making the chocolate, that was the best bit.

We went with our 19 month daughter. Was very dull for young children although she really enjoyed the demo at the end.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WendySurrey_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    824
    710
    249
    128
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chocolate Museum”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

thought this should be a 'must see' but we were a little disappointed - very much a 'do it yourself' tour though there was a very short demonstration which the guy did ok but nothing too exciting. had a taste but found their own shop to be expensive

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank silverbutterfly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yummy yummy”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We took a tour through this museum as we stumbled upon it while exploring the streets. It was very interesting and interactive. The best part was seeing how they make some of the chocolates and getting a taste.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Didn't meet my expectations”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

You'd think a chocolate museum in Belgium would be something special. Wrong! Belgium is the home of some of the best chocolates in the world, however this museum did not stack up. It charts the history of chocolate making via a series of exhibits in cabinets on various floors (not great if you have mobility problems.) For me there wasn't enough interactive stuff and not enough tasting opportunities. There is are chocolates to try before entering the museum, a demonstration and the chance to try one chocolate at the end, and a plate of chocolate in the gift shop. There looked to be a good chocolate making workshop for kids going on, but this has to be pre booked. All in all, not what I was hoping for.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“give it a miss”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

was really looking forward to this and to get to taste the belgian chocolate but it wasnt a great tour, took about 15 mins altogether! you can taste the chocolate in any of the shops around so give it a miss

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lorna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Choco-Story - The Chocolate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing