We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as we hoped for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bonobo Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bonobo Apart Hotel
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“As good as we hoped for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in an 'L' apartment and had a terrific time. The place is spotless and Magda and Hans seem to have thought of everything. The curtains are black-out curtains and the place is on a very quiet street so we slept very well. The beds were comfortable.

I mentioned to the owners (who live at the Aparthotel) that it was our first wedding anniversary and they had left a bottle of sparkling wine with a 'Congratulations' note, which was very thoughtful.

It is amazing value for money. Which is useful in such an expensive city. The whole place is simply but carefully furnished and we really couldn't fault it. We can see why it gets such amazing reviews.

We were in room 21 which was on the first floor and had a view of the cathedral.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulus_Maximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    56
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
143
250
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights here in this great little hotel. It's simple and rather no-frills, so if you are looking for luxury then look elsewhere. The Bonobo, however, was a very good basic, clean and comfortable place to stay -- exactly what we prefer. The owner/manager was exceedingly nice, friendly, and helpful -- staying late to accommodate our late arrival time and offering good advice and suggestions for restaurants and activities. We chose a self-catering room, which had plenty of space, and it was very convenient to have the kitchen. The location is great -- very convenient to the main square (about 5-10 minute walk) and definitely walkable to the train station, which we did on the morning we left. It's about a half-mile or so away.

The only drawback was that our room was on the ground floor, facing the street. It is a relatively quiet location, so this was much less an issue than it might be in a busier part of the city; still, all the street and sidewalk noise was RIGHT there. In the winter, with windows closed tight, this might not be an issue for you; also, if you wake up early before pedestrian traffic begins, you will not be woken up by it. But in the summer, if you need to have the windows wide open for comfort (or if you like to sleep late), the street-side location, ground floor, would be a much more serious drawback. I would have felt uncomfortable with the windows open all the way, and from the side; we opened ours from the top & kept the curtains closed -- given the time of year, this was fine. Be warned, however, that if you opened the windows from the side instead of the top, a person walking by on the sidewalk could literally reach right into your room -- and even climb in with little trouble. I felt that Bruges was a safe city overall, so it's less a safety issue (though always of some concern) than one of privacy.

We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Bruges, but if possible we would ask for a second-floor room facing the courtyard. We also might prefer just to skip the convenience of the kitchen and take the breakfast on-site. The interior courtyard offered was lovely. After a tiring day of sightseeing, it was so nice to be able to relax in the quiet, peaceful, and private garden courtyard. I almost forgot to mention: the internet worked! I have found that this is not often the case, despite hotels that promise free wi-fi. One night, late, the connection crapped out, but otherwise the internet was fast and reliable. Hooray for that!

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Bruges.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kbr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

Hotel Bonobo was my choice for a short trip to Bruges as a surprise for my Husband for Christmas. I was very pleased with my choice and so was my husband. It was everything we wanted. Friendly, comfortable, roomy, clean and the breakfasts were very fresh and plenty of it. It was just a short walk from many of the attractions and easy to get to from the train station ( a 10 -15 minute walk ). The weather we had in March was cold and the room was warm and welcoming when we got back at the end of the day. There were good restaurants a short distance from the Hotel and they also had a list of recommended eating places and emergency numbers. Magda and Hans were very helpful and Hans could speak 4 languages , so he could communicate with most guests. We will return to Bruges and we will certainly stay in Hotel Bonobo again next time. I would highly recommend it. We had no complaints

Room Tip: We liked our room with the seperate dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed in one of the "hotel" rooms in this apart/hotel and were very pleased. Cleanliness is a huge priority for me, and this hotel certainly met my fairly high standards. The breakfast was good, and in our, case included in the stay. So, for less than $100 US/night including breakfast, it was a good value.
While certainly not a "big" room, it is Europe, so your expectations need to be in check. The view out of the second floor window is great, and the room is reasonably quiet. It is less than a 10 minute walk to Market Square and about a 10 minute walk from the train station. It was a comfortable stay. However, if you are looking at being more "in the action" of the main square of Bruges or on/near the canal, look elsewhere. But, keep in mind that Bruges is reasonably compact, so a walk to the main square or canal is never far within the old city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoniM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed with our 1 year old son, and had no trouble. There is plenty of space and the convenience of a self contained kitchen. So close to everything which was handy when traveling with a 1 year old. Bruges can be very expensive and you need to watch for the hidden detail with some operators, but Bonobo you can trust.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart-Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

In the midst of the old town and 15mins walk from the station this small apart hotel in an old building is modern and well appointed inside. We stayed for 3 nights in a two room apartment on the first floor that would have been fine for a family. The owners are very friendlily and helpful. We would unconditionally recommend it.
We ate out each evening, but Bruges/Brugge is expensive and anyone deciding to cook their own food should note that although our kitchen had a full-sized hob, fridge and microwave there was no oven so meals would need to be planned accordingly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Excellent apart hotel . Clean, spacious convenient location, would definately reccomend to family and friends. Bruges can be quite an expensive place to stay but the Bonobo is definately value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reifl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.7 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fevery
Hotel Fevery
#7 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonobo Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonobo Apart Hotel

Property: Bonobo Apart Hotel
Address: Goezeputstraat 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bruges
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#7 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonobo Apart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonobo Apart Hotel is situated in the historical heart of Bruges in a very quiet and picturesque street. The hotel has 11 large apartments for 1 to 6 persons. Each apartment has a kitchenette, safe, wifi, flatscreen television. 3 of the apartments are situated in the terrace and 1 of these apartments is wheelchairs accessible. Extra: family hotel, pets not allowed, no smoking, private carpark next to the hotel, sunny terrace, elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bonobo Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bonobo Apart
Bonobo Apart Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing