We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location and good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Ranked #64 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 2 wks ago couldnt fault it rooms clean staff friendly and location excellent only critisism was pillows were flat as pancakes but didnt say anythin an sure they would ave provided more if wed asked had lovely wkend and would definately stop ere again oh and breakfast was a bit borin but not much for continental anyway thats just me brillirant wkend

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 189 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

We completely agree with other reviews - location and price are the main selling points of this hotel; other aspects can be a bit lacking. The breakfast spread wasn't terrible, but far from bountiful, and the anteroom in which it was served smelled a bit like cigarette smoke. The room was relatively small (not unexpected for Europe), but the furniture and decor were out-dated (and not in a charming, antique-y way.) The location is excellent, though - close to everything, but on a quiet street so not too loud.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

There are two reasons to stay at Hotel t’Voermanshuys; location and price, beyond that keep your expectations in check. Location is excellent, a block away from Markt Sq, however the street is noisy with a bar across the street that kept me awake (with my windows shut) until 1am, but the bar was closed the next evening. Impossible to sleep with windows open, due to "normal" street noise.

My single room was good size for European standards, clean, very simply furnished but very tired looking, with a bit of a musty smell. The bathroom had a tub without shower curtain and a hand held shower head, which I dislike. I’ve never succeeded in showering with one hand and not getting water everywhere. No hairdryer and only “universal” soap. My biggest complaint after the street noise was no WiFi; nearly every hotel has it, so it’s a disappointment when you come across the few that don’t!

Breakfast was adequate, coffee/tea, cheese, meat, cereal and a basket of bread. No eggs or hot food. Service was good, pleasant for breakfast and check in/out, otherwise not tremendously helpful. Other then no sleep the first night, I had a pleasant stay but I’m not sure I would stay here again because of the street noise and lack of WiFi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is in a great position .It is easy to get to all the places of interest easily.The hotel was very quiet ,room was of a good size and beds were comfortable.Buffet breakfast was good ,you can fill up ready for a day of serious sightseeing. Totally adequate,no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank KEVIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Good location, less than a minute walk to The Markt (Market Square) and very close to Bruges other main attractions (Cathedral of Holy Blood, City Hall, etc). The old guy at the reception was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is good.

Maybe it just my luck but the room I've got is less than my expectation. It's a big room with big bedroom (so it's a good point), however I think some renovation need to be done to make the guest's stay better. The furniture are old, one tile outside the bathtub is loose and it was fixed with only a sellotape. The pipe from the toilet is feasible and seems like connected to the pipe from the bathtub. The shower was part of the bath tub but no shower curtain, so if you only want to have a shower, you need to sit down on the bath tub (perhaps this is normal in Europe).

I've got a really good price compared to other available hotel when I booked it since it was long weekend, but I went to Brussel the next day and stayed in a hotel near The Grand Place, it cost EUR 20 less but the room quality is so much better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Primaully W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Jesse L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#54 of 97 in Bruges
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#68 of 97 in Bruges
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel De Pauw
Hotel De Pauw
#78 of 97 in Bruges
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#85 of 97 in Bruges
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ensor
Ensor
#55 of 97 in Bruges
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montovani Hotel
Montovani Hotel
#75 of 97 in Bruges
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Voermanshuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Voermanshuys

Address: Oude Burg 14, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $87 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 't Voermanshuys 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historic centre of Brugge, Hotel T Voermanshuys is housed in a 16th century building offering rooms with a touch of old Flemish atmosphere, at attractive rates and accommodating service. The rooms at Hotel T Voermanshuys have private bathrooms with bathtub, and are equipped with cable flat screen television, safe, hair dryer, and a kettle with coffee and tea facilities, while free Wi-Fi access is provided all over. Continental buffet breakfast is served each day and included in the room price. Although later meals or alcoholic beverages are not available, guests can get advice from staff on where to get meals and drinks in the area. Surrounded by canals, the unique and very central location of this property, makes it ideal for discovering the beautiful and romantic city of Bruges. Main sites of interest such as the Groeninge museum, the Oud Sint Jan site, the cathedral of Our Lady, the Basilica of the Holy Blood, etc. are only 200-500 metres away, while the famous market with the imposing belfry - landmark of the city- is only a block away. Shoppers will not be disappointed either, as the main shopping streets are within a few steps distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 't Voermanshuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel t Voermanshuys
t Voermanshuys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing