We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great experience”
Review of Hotel Gulden Vlies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gulden Vlies
Ranked #45 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Gulden Vlies is a great little B&B right in the heart of Bruges. It sort of feels like you are living in someone's giant townhouse, but that's ok because the staff is really friendly and nice and helpful. They printed something for us, they left us a key when we checked in long after reception closed, they called us a cab to go back to the train station. The rooms were spacious and clean, the beds comfortable, the WiFi free (always a plus) and the prices reasonable. Not the best breakfast, but included so no real complaints there. Overall, it was a really great stay. Bruges as a city is unmissable. A fantastic addition to any Netherlands vacation and an absolutely beautiful spot to see!

Room Tip: easytobook.com provided us with a really good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willshakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 206 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the owner was extremely helpful, breakfast was adequate and served with delicious coffee. Free car parking outside the hotel was an extra bonus. Ten minute walk into the centre of Bruges. Room furniture was dated but in keeping with the Belgian decor but it did have a lovely new bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night, great location on the ring road with free parking opposite and only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Bruges. Lovely old building with high ceilings, we had a great room (#4), covered the whole front of the building on the 2nd floor. Some road noise but nothing the shutters and curtains couldn't hide. The service and breakfast were both excellent. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobthecat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I found our staying at the Gulden Vlies a terrible experience and I would not recommend it to anyone. We paid for a standard double room 85 € and maybe the double superior is better but our rooms were appalling. First we were given a room that maybe is normally a service room and not for guests, because you need to go through the private area: it was big and decorated in Asian style what I found dissapointing because we were expecting art nouveau style. The pipe smelled awfully, so we decided to ask for another room. The change was for the worse! room number 7, in the upper floor, tiny, absolutely disgusting, terrible bathroom, dirty blanket, no light and totally depressing.
The staff was not specially friendy and breakfast nothing special. NEVER AGAIN. I cannot understand the positive reviews of other guests, because even the common areas are well-used and look old.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregorlagares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guldenvlies, Eigenaar at Hotel Gulden Vlies, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2010

I'm very sorry to read this comment because it is so different from all the other comments; the room you first had in the back of the house is very big and extremely quiet with a small garden you can use and most people really love it -some ask especially for this room. It is true the other room is small but it was the only room we had available at the time (high season).
I pay special attention to the variety in my breakfastbuffet with local products and fresh fruit and get good comments on this every morning.
I still believe that the price-quality I offer as a 2*star hotel is correct and although I try to learn from any comment I'm comforted by the idea there are still many people who enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We had a great stay at Gulden Vlies. It's a small family-run hotel in a beautiful old house, just a pleasant 10 minute walk from the centre of town. Really cozy and a very friendly introduction to Bruges.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for two nights, and although we seemed like the youngest couple staying here (24 and 26) we had a wonderful time. We stayed in a superior room and it was well worth the extra money. The room was beautifully decorated. The lady who ran the hotel took very good care of it, and the breakfast offered was very good, with pasteries, cheese, meats, yogurt and some form of eggs. The hotel was easy to get to from the train, only one bus away, and it was a ten minute walk to the main square. I have no complaints about this hostel and have even suggested to my parents this would be the perfect romantic get away for them.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellokelly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We spent 4 nights at Gulden Vlies, Inga, owner, and her staff were wonderful hosts and worked to meet our every need. Good breakfast. Hotel is 10 minute walk from main square. Great location if you are driving. Free parking. We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. Only negative was no elevator..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
B&B Con Ampere
B&B Con Ampere
#16 of 232 in Bruges
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Het Consulaat
10.5 mi away
Woodside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
#38 of 232 in Bruges
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
0.8 mi away
Hollywood - Logies
Hollywood - Logies
#46 of 232 in Bruges
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gulden Vlies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gulden Vlies

Address: Koningin Elisabethlaan 40, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $87 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gulden Vlies 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gulden Vlies is a small bed and breakfast hotel in a stately mansion from the early 20th century with some unique art-deco architectural details. A rich variety on the breakfast buffet : fresh fruit, cereals, buns, bread, yoghurt, cold cuts, regional cheeses, coffee, tea,... included in roomrate. All rooms have ensuite bathroom, hairdryer, radio & tv. Plenty of free parking on our street; 10 minutes walking form Market square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gulden Vlies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing