We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beautiful Bonifacius.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse Bonifacius
Ranked #16 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lyne, you are a star, you made us feel so welcome, we loved the terrace where we could enjoy the lovely views with a cup of coffee after the excellent breakfast which kept us going till lunch time, we found the people of Bruges so friendly,and can't wait to come back,and will definitely stay at the Bonifacius again. Our room was so picturesque looking out on to the canal watching the swans go by, it is definitely a fairy tale place. we felt we had special treatment from lyne,but i think she treats everyone like this,she is an excellent host, and would recommend Bonifacius to anyone wanting a beautiful place to stay in. Thank you so much Lyne. Mick & Dolores.
22/09/2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolorolo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 343 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

This place is so well thought out there is nothing at all to annoy or irritate, even the air conditioner is completely silent which a first in my book. Staying here makes the trip 110% worth while, Lyne is a marvellous host without being intrusive and makes staying in her house an absolute pleasure. She deserves her own television programme, this is how all hotels should be run.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

When my husband and I were considering visiting Belgium (in May 2012 - not Sep as review may show) the original idea was to stay in Brussels and make a day trip to Bruges.
But there were no decent hotels in Brussels available and when I saw the hotel I set in my heart on it and the decision proved to be correct.

Luckily the night we stayed we were the only guests, so we felt like rich merchants occupying a beautiful historical house.
The location is excellent as it is situated in one of the most scenic and historic spots in town. It is more in the academic area but is very convenient for sightseeing.
The view from the roof terrace was superb, we enjoyed an evening drink overlooking the church tower and canal. Breakfast in the lounge was at a table overhanging the canal with views through a 15th century original historic window.

The owner was extremely helpful especially when I lost my passport. She called the local police station to find out if there was any report of it and luckily it all ended well when it was handed in. Thank you to honest Belgian person who found and passed it to the police.
We highly recommend this place to stay.
(Sorry it took so long to post this review)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDY02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We loved staying here! Bonifacius's photos do not do the beautiful guesthouse justice. Lyne went above and beyond to make sure we were completely comfortable and happy. The personalized service, excellently comfortable bed, linens, and bathrooms are equally as fabulous as a Ritz Carlton property. All of us (5 women) had so much fun shopping and dining in Brugges.
If you like seafood: Brugges mussels are delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked a last minute holiday to Brugges to celebrate our 1st year anniversary and whilst we loved Brugges, the perfection of Bonifacius absolutely made the trip. We never usually go back to the same place twice, but we're craving another break at this gem of a guesthouse. As other reviewers mention, Lyne is lovely and as the guesthouse only has 3 rooms, everything is very personal, of the highest quality and utterly catered to each guest. We miss the delicious breakfasts, Jacuzzi bath, peaceful location by the canal and having a glass of wine on the roof terrace which overlooks Brugges. I would highly recommend this guesthouse, especially for those looking for a romantic getaway. Brugges is beautiful and we managed to see every attraction in a couple of days and had lots of chilling time in the numerous cafes and bars. One tip is to not leave it too late to go out for dinner as you might elsewhere in Europe... at 9pm restaurants stop serving and many places are booked up so plan in advance! Canal boat trip and climbing the tower highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wonderful location, wonderful atmosphere and wonderful hostapility!!!

Just in the center of the city, beside the canal. From the private terrace on the roof major towers of the city can be seen, in the evening with glass of wine is superb.
The rooms are equipped foppery but sturdy bed, jacuzzi bath, toilette independent from bath room. And the kind hostess will welcome and let you peace of mind.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a lovely place and full of character. We stayed three nights and it was an excellent base for exploring the city. Breakfast is very good and the location, with a quiet street on one side and a canal on the other, is very restful. Lyne was very helpful. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnywozere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 232 in Bruges
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Bonifacius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bonifacius

Address: Groeninge 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $249 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guesthouse Bonifacius 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the canal in the most picturesque area of the city centre of Bruges an exclusive 16th-century guesthouse is hidden. You stay cocooned in the luxury of a private house and yet enjoy the equipment of a hotel deluxe with extremely high comfort. Bonifacius' guestrooms radiate an elegant and refined ambiance, all different in style and character, with authentic and original antiques, objects d'art and elegant fabrics. Free breakfast, charming and romantic B&B in city center, free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guesthouse Bonifacius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing