We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Bonifacius
Ranked #13 of 230 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heavenly stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at The Bonifacius for four nights starting September 10. Everything about our stay was beyond our expectations. I'll start with Lynn's attention to every detail, our incredibly beautiful 17th century-styled room with leaded glass windows overlooking the canal, the delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts, the jet tub, etc. In the evening we ascended to the private roof top deck overlooking the canal and in the shadow of the enormous church spire. Again, Lynn couldn't have been more helpful and thoughtful considering we were suffering from some dreadful colds. For instance, being Americans we have an affinity to iced drinks and with a simple phone call that ice was delivered in minutes to our door. It was like being with a favorite "sister" during breakfast chatting with Lynn. She directed us to places to eat and shop and recommended many wonderful site seeing destinations. All in all, our stay at The Bonifacius will always be remembered as one of our very favorites.

Room Tip: Choose the room overlooking the canal. You will NOT be dissappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenAndPatSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
250
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Location: This facility is located in the center of the town and is an excellent place from which to sight-see.

Facility: The pictures do not do the place justice since it is incredibly beautiful. I had one of three room in the place and my room overlooked the canal and the Church of Our Lady which contains the Michangelo "Madonna and Child". The room was spacious and comfortable with a relaxing bed, free refreshments, in the mini-fridge, and an excellent bathroom with separate shower and jacuzzi tub. The breakfast room is on the first floor and you can watch the swans as they majestically move up and down the canal.

Type of facility: This is a bed and breakfast, so there is no 24 hour front desk and no concierge desk; however, the owners are very helpful with suggestions for dining and other needs.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough and was grateful I stayed here rather than some hotel. The room was very quiet and the view was stunning. You cannot go wrong with staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.albans
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Bonifacius and had a lovely stay. The location, our room and the food was all perfect! Lyne could not do enough for us!

When i arrived i felt relaxed and content. It is romantic and picturesque.

The bathroom is lovely. I had a jaquzzi bath after walking miles around Brugge.

There are only 3 rooms so you feel like you have it all to yourself.

We will definately be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel.t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was traveling with my husband for our 1 year anniversary. We stayed for 1 night and choose the guesthouse as it looked stunning and the reviews we read about it sounded amazing. I have to say it did not let as down!!! It was beautiful and the owner, Lynn was very welcoming and friendly. Brilliant location for visiting Bruges. Everything was within walking distance. The breakfast had everything, fruit, ham. cheeses, pastry and eggs and bacon.
We were able to park our car in the car and as noone else needed the room after us Lynn very kindly offered us have use of our room until we left at 6pm.
No detail was left out in this guesthouse, would recommend it to anyone!!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and was very quite. We had a jacuzzi bath and a separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudgedeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

You want to visit Bruges ? Look no further, everything about this accomodation is perfect, locatipn, breakfast, rooms, service, hospitality...The best you can find.
Not cheqp but value for money, that's what you get here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wimpy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calpe, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had the pleasure to stay in the romantic B&B Bonifacius. The house has three luxurious guest rooms and we occupied the Clair Obscur Suite. The room was stunning, decorated with gorgeous fabrics, the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath, fluffy bathrobes, high end beauty products...What you would expect in a five star hotel...We were very impressed by the medieval charm this house exceeds.
The owner Lyne was the perfect hostess...Nothing was too much trouble. She recommended some nice restaurants, explained the major sights and served us a fantastic breakfast in a idyllic room which overlooks the canal. We were lucky with the weather and had a glass of Champagne on the roof terrace, a real treat...
We are planning to rent the entire house for our next family holiday. Thanks Lyne, you are the best!!!

Room Tip: The Clair Obscur Jr Suite overlooks the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in Bonifacius during the last 2 days in Bruges and found it to be very charming and welcoming. We hadnt planned to stay here but we stumbled across Bonifacius walking past. Lynn was a perfect host throughout our stay and was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was amazing and the scenes from the roof terrace and from the lounge are beautiful and picturesque - its the perfect location. The room was immaculate - we would love to return at some point and would not hesitate to recommend this guesthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Bonifacius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bonifacius

Property: Guesthouse Bonifacius
Address: Groeninge 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guesthouse Bonifacius 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the canal in the most picturesque area of the city centre of Bruges an exclusive 16th-century guesthouse is hidden. You stay cocooned in the luxury of a private house and yet enjoy the equipment of a hotel deluxe with extremely high comfort. Bonifacius' guestrooms radiate an elegant and refined ambiance, all different in style and character, with authentic and original antiques, objects d'art and elegant fabrics. Free breakfast, charming and romantic B&B in city center, free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guesthouse Bonifacius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing