We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guesthouse Bonifacius is a Superb Choice in Bruges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Bonifacius
Ranked #15 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Let me preface my review by saying that I once worked as a concierge at a Five Diamond resort. I have high expectations and would not rate a property as excellent unless I truly felt that it was just that. I now work as a travel agent, so it is important that my clients stay at the right property. If you are looking for an exclusive, romantic, fairytale experience---LOOK NO FURTHER! I don't normally take the time to write reviews, but this property exceeded my expectations and deserves my accolades. There are only three rooms at the Bonifacius. Each one is spacious, and comfortable. The owner has furnished each with wonderful antiques, fine bedding, and an upscale bathroom including jetted tub, and walk in shower. This little hideaway could not be in a more perfect location. The rooftop terrace affords romantic, private, and magical views of Bruges. Breakfast is bountiful and delicious. This is one of my most favorite hotel choices of all time, and will be my first recommendation to my clients visiting Bruges.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 341 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bonifacius for two nights on our drive to London through Northern Europe. Bruges is an exceptional place to visit and I can't imagine a better place to stay in this romantic city. We were in the canal-side suite and swans came by to greet us every morning. The innkeeper's commitment to hospitality is evident in all the details of this bed & breakfast.

By every measure, Bonifacius was wonderful - from booking to the day we left. (We even had secure parking for our car, and parking is a premium in Bruges.)

Room Tip: Reserve the canal-side suite if at all possible. (There are only three rooms.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Bonifacius is a fantastically located, fairytale of a property with all the modern comforts (free wifi, a coffee-house worthy hot beverage station, whirlpool baths, etc...). There are only three rooms and it feels like staying in a private home. Guests have a tastefully decorated living room and a rooftop terrace (take a few beers up, the view is unbelievable) for their use. Breakfast (included) consists of an exotic fruit plate, hot pastries and meats & cheeses, followed by an egg dish. It will likely leave you with barely enough room for a waffle until dinner. Management is charming and eager to please but since it is a very small guesthouse, ask your questions and make any requests at breakfast as, most of the time, you'll likely have the place to yourself... : )

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnysants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have been to Bruges many times and on this occassion it was for my birthday weekend.

On booking the Bonifacius on line we gave our anticipated arrival time (traffic and channel tunnel permitting!) and were told to report to the Pand Hotel in the first instance as our hostess would not be available that evening. No problem, we have stayed at the Pand Hotel before and it's only a hundred yards from the underground car park we use (Panderitje - very convenient, safe, reasonably priced).

We arrived earlier than we thought and reported to the Pand. The Bonifacius is a sister establishment run by the same family and staff. The reception staff were very friendly giving us town maps and making recommendations and showing us round to the Bonifacius ( three hundred yards walk).

We were shown round the guest house facilities - free help yourself coffee / tea making in the breakfast room, a roof terrace with lovely views, how to use the shower and spa bath etc. Everything was better than it looks on the website and because it was stunning warm weather (for March) we went and sat on the roof terrace with a glass of wine and a beer (free from the mini bar).

We had said what time we would like breakfast and when we went down next morning it was all set up in the beautiful bay window in front of the fire with a view of swans gliding by. We had a fruit platter, breads, pastries, eggs to order, ham, cheese etc. all delicious.

Our hostess / owner Lyne was very helpful and friendly. She was always on hand to help and I suppose we could always have called in at the Pand as a back up with any problems.

We enjoyed Bruges (as always), eating out at Den Gouden Harynck - 5 steps across the street - and the Park Restaurant. Both highly recommended.

On Sunday we had to leave early(ish) for the long drive home. Lyne said we could stay longer in the day if we wished, as our room wasn't booked (the weather was beautiful again and we wished we could).

The guesthouse is in a stunning location (always lots of people on the bonifacius bridge taking photos of the property, it's so beautiful) and when the tourists have gone home it's quiet and picturesque with swans swimming by and the beautiful churches lit up.

Like a 5 star hotel but with the personal touch and olde worlde charm.

Room Tip: The Clair Obscure is spacious and looks over the canal with spa bath and separate shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay @ Bonifacius. The location is great, our room (with a view to the canal) very charming. The breakfast was perfect. We definitively recomend a stay in this place, despite the higher cost compared to other B&B's. It's a unique experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerLisbon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Last week we had a fabulous stay in guesthouse Bonifacius.
It was our first trip to Belgium so we did not really know what to expect. Of course we had heard great stories about Bruges, but it exceeded all expectations.

It is a truly a fairytale city.

We always stay in B&B’s since we think they are more personal and intimate.

We stayed in this guesthouse because our neighbours stayed here last year and raved about this place, so we were curious to see what they were raving about.
Now we know…
The moment we arrived we were greeted by the lovely owner Lyne.
She made us feel very welcome and showed us our magnificent room.
A beautifully decorated suite with canal view. Although the weather was not so great, the view was still stunning. I imagine in the summertime it must be breathtaking.

The room was very spacious and even had a whirlpool in the bathroom. We expected a bed and breakfast but this was like staying in a five star hotel.
After settling in, we joined Lyne for a tea in the cosy lounge. She gave us lots of suggestions for sightseeing and booked us a table in the one Michelin star restaurant Den Gouden Harynck which is literally at 5 steps away, where we had an exquisite meal.
The breakfast was a real delight. We enjoyed the home-made bread, the eggs and fresh orange juice and fruits.

There’s a lot of attention to detail and our hostess made sure we were extremely well taken care of.
I think guesthouse Bonifacius will receive a lot more neighbours and friends in the future. We will never forget this amazing stay and would like to thank Lyne for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We just were the previous weekend in Bruges and we stayed in the magnificant Bed and Breakfast Bonifacius. It's situated in the middle of the old city and you can see everything without needing a car! There are just 3 rooms and because of that it's also very private. The B and B is unbelievable renovated and is situated above the water from Bruges. Everything is excellent in this B&B, the rooms, the breakfast, the livingroom, the beds and the boss! There is also an unbelieveble terras on the roof were you've got magnificant views on Bruges! And price/quality you can't find anything better!!!

Room Tip: You've got one room with a view on the Reien. But all the rooms are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alainandannemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#26 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 232 in Bruges
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Bonifacius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bonifacius

Address: Groeninge 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $238 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guesthouse Bonifacius 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the canal in the most picturesque area of the city centre of Bruges an exclusive 16th-century guesthouse is hidden. You stay cocooned in the luxury of a private house and yet enjoy the equipment of a hotel deluxe with extremely high comfort. Bonifacius' guestrooms radiate an elegant and refined ambiance, all different in style and character, with authentic and original antiques, objects d'art and elegant fabrics. Free breakfast, charming and romantic B&B in city center, free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse Bonifacius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing