We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”
Review of Cote Canal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cote Canal
Ranked #12 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it was one of the BEST B&B we ever stayed in. The place is beautiful, clean and welcoming. The location is perfect and the view from the bedroom window was magical. We would highly recommend this place for any traveller to Bruges.....Enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M2C_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 786 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

What can I say about Cote Canal that hasn't already been said? It will be difficult to cover new ground, but I will try. My boyfriend and I capped a 2 week European trip with 3 nights in Bruges at Cote Canal. I had read the reviews and seen the pictures, but seeing Cote Canal in person took my breath away. I can happily say that I had high expectations and our stay here far exceeded those expectations.

The home and gardens are exquisite. Every room is decorated elegantly and comfortably. The owner, Caroline, wants you to treat Cote Canal like it is your home and it most certainly feels that way. The main areas of the home are warmly lit and have relaxing classical music playing through surround sound speakers to create an ambiance of comfort and relaxation. We spent a relaxing evening in the living room sitting on the plush chairs in the living room enjoying some delicious Belgian beer. Caroline popped into the living room to see if we needed anything and we ended up spending an hour or so chatting with her about everything from the history of the property to our lives back home. You read in the reviews how nice Caroline is, but "nice" just doesn't do it justice. She is warm and welcoming and her first priority is ensuring your stay is perfect. Upon request, she will recommend the best places in town for chocolates, beer, waffles, whatever your heart desires. She is also a great person just to talk to. She is an animal lover and has 2 dogs that live in her private quarters, Fidel and Molly. Fidel is the famous yellow lab often seen laying in the window on the canal, and Molly is the Jack Russel Terrier known as Fidel's "bodyguard.' If you're a dog lover like my boyfriend and myself, you can request to meet the dogs and Caroline will happily arrange a "meet and greet."

We stayed in the Suite la Charpente and I can say this is the coziest, most romantic room we've ever stayed in. The room is situated on the canal on a quiet street. It is on the top floor, so the vaulted ceilings and the floor space makes this room extremely spacious and airy, yet the decor makes it feel like home. There is a large sitting area with a couch and coffee table, desk and TV. The double bed is soft and cozy with homey quilts and fluffy pillows. There are stairs up to a lofted area with 2 single beds, making this suite perfect for a family. We were just there as a couple so we didn't utilize this area, but I did sit on each of the single beds and they are equally as comfortable. The bathroom is just off the sitting area and is filled with all your modern conveniences such as a stand up shower, hair dryer, terry cloth robes and slippers. To give a nod to the peace and quiet granted by this room - I normally don't sleep well at all, often waking up every few hours or not falling asleep for hours. Our first night here, my head hit the pillow and I didn't wake up for 14 hours. No jet lag to blame this on since we'd already been in Europe for 2 weeks, the room was just that cozy.

The morning breakfast is delicious. My boyfriend and I wondered what Caroline's secret to making scrambled eggs was, since they never come out that delicious when we make them at home. The croissants are flaky and buttery. The selection of fruits, breads and cheeses were delicious as well, but the one thing we couldn't get over was how amazing the orange juice was. I hate to wax poetic over a glass of OJ, but it was probably the best tasting orange juice we've ever had.

Finally, the location cannot be beat. Less than a 2 minute walk from the main Maarkt, you have everything you need within a short walk. Bruges is a walking town, and being centrally located we were never more than 15 minutes from anything we needed.

Overall we couldn't have picked a better, more romantic, more relaxing place to stay. We never wanted to leave the comfort of Cote Canal and when we inevitably return to Bruges we will never want to stay anywhere else. Our only regret about staying at Cote Canal? Not staying longer.

Yes, you can find hotels in the area for less than what you will spend to stay at Cote Canal, but you will miss out on all the personal touches that make the stay extra special. If you are even considering staying here, stop thinking about it and just do it. You absolutely will not regret it.

Room Tip: If staying at the Suite la Charpente, keep in mind it is on the top floor and there are quite a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmpigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just returned from a magical New Year trip to Bruges and one of the highlights was the fabulous Cote Canal. Caroline is so accomindating and welcoming and the rooms were luxorious and incredibley clean. Breakfast was delicious and we even got a glass of Champagne on New Years day!

We had a fabulous time and cannot reccommend it high enough!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthyT_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights the week after Christmas and were delighted with our experience. The rooms were spacious and lovely. Caroline was wonderfully hospitable and helpful in giving advice about Bruges. The house is not only beautiful, but located in a convenient yet quiet area. We have stayed in many B&Bs in Europe and US and this was our best experience. I would highly recommend and hope we will have the chance to stay again. Thanks, Caroline.
Peter and Julia

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeGrohse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in the Suite Clin D'Oeil for 1 night on Dec 20th. We arrived mid morning and Caroline generously offered us breakfast free of charge on our arrival which was fantastic and completely unexpected. The house is beautiful, our room was beyond perfection. We adored the Cote Canal and Caroline was amazing, all the reviews are true! We can't wait to return, perhaps next time in the Summer. Thank you Caroline X

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smoogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at Cote Canal between Christmas and New Year. The stay was superb as was the city of Bruges. Our room was excellent, breakfast was great and Caroline was lovely - she gave us plenty of helpful information and reccomended some wonderful restaurants. I would definitely be staying here again when I am next in Bruges.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Everything about this beautiful b&b was 'perfect'. Stayed for 3 nights in June 2011. Firstly, Caroline is the most fantastic host who did everything possible to make your stay memorable. Beautiful decor throughout the home & super clean. Our room Suite Clin D'Oeil was gorgeous with impressive big windows overlooking the garden and canal beyond. It was very spacious with a lovely big bath & seperate overhead shower ( I was in heaven as most places we stayed had hand head showers over the baths !!) The tea & coffee making facilities was also a plus and very much out of the ordinary in Europe. The 'best' bed of our entire 2 month holiday and it was HUGE!! A good range of toiletries were supplied along with a hair dryer, slippers & robes. Great attention to detail. The breakfast was also the best by far of our trip and served in the gorgeous kitchen or in the beautiful garden that overlooked the canal. We spent lunch one day relaxing in the garden watching all the boats pass by. We parked the car in the very secure garage and walked everywhere as the b&b is very well situated in the city.I just LOVED this b&b and would love to return.

Room Tip: For a romatic stay Suite Clin D'Oeil ticked all the boxes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colourcooljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.5 mi away
Huis Koning
Huis Koning
#1 of 232 in Bruges
718 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B La Maison Bruges
B&B La Maison Bruges
#4 of 232 in Bruges
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Canal

Address: Hertsbergestraat 10, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive Guesthouse - Unique Location! Along one of the most picturesque canals in between the two oldest bridges of town. All of our rooms offer a view on garden and canal. But we offer more than a room: the garden with terrace, the lounge and the dining room are all yours.Official classification: de luxe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cote Canal Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing