We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Brugges Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Malleberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Malleberg
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Brugges Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Malleburg is in the ideal location for a visit to Brugges. Easy walking distance to the most interesting tourist sites, including Burg Square, very good restaurants and transportation. It's a good value for the money and the husband, wife team who own and manage the hotel are very helpful. The rooms are basic but a good size with comfortable beds. They have a very nice little courtyard where you relax after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast is fine with typical fare for a european hotel. The breakfast room, located in a lower level, has a curved brick ceiling that looks like it was once a wine cellar. Very inviting.
We are considering a return trip to Belgium next year and we would certainly stay at the Hotel Malleburg during our time in Brugges.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    131
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
83
131
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is extremely located just around the corner from the Crown Plaza and right in the very centre of Brugge. It is quiet and the rooms are a good size. The breakfast is more than adequate, there's a nice courtyard and very good coffee that you can prepare yourself in a very pleasant sitting room downstairs. Attractions are almost right on your doorstep here. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwifaye2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here in May 2014. Rooms are spacious. Breakfast very good. Great location. Walk out your door & you are very near to many shops & restaurants & the old town city center. The beds were comfortable. Front desk staff very helpful in assisting with hotels in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heiny-gianino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located right next to the market square. For the money it was extremely good value. Rooms were a little basic but beds were comfy and everything was clean. Breakfast was fine if slightly basic however for the price you cant complain. The staff were polite and very helpful and I would recommend the Malleberg to anyone looking to stay in Bruges on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Perfectly located in the very heart of the historical part of the city, this charming eight-room hotel stands in a classic medieval Bruges house. Family owned, managed and hosted, there is no elevator so think it twice if you have heavy luggage and/or any kind of physical limitations. Room N° 6 on the second floor is quiet, cosy and clean but basic, and so are the furniture, towels and bathroom amenities so don´t expect distinction on those subjects. Express check in and out, in room safe and good internet connection are a plus, but no fridge is definitely a minus. Good quality continental breakfast with different kinds of freshly baked breads, one better than the other. Front desk only opened until 8:00 PM everyday and no room service all day long, so a couple of vending machines would be surely appreciated for a late night snack considering Bruges goes to sleep early. Overall: good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SergioRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grayshott
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Having been to Bruges many times (8 in all) and having stayed at various hotels in the city, including the hotel opposite the Malleberge, though I found the price very fair and the location excellent, we were somewhat disappointed. The rooms were reasonable but a close look at the cleanliness and one could find dirt, for example under the beds and on the stairs. The breakfast could be improved in particular the cheese board, for the 3 pieces of cheese looked rather tired. any noise in the room was not different from other hotel, for the traffic noise is made worse by the cobbled street This was my Golden Wedding, and my daughter and Grandson with his Partner enjoyed theirvisit to Brugge

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qualtrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, England
Level Contributor
294 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Having spent a few days in Paris last year with two grandchildren, in a quadruple room in the city, we had decided to visit Bruges this year, but required a bit more than just one room for two adults and two grand children aged 13 and 10.. I picked this hotel for its location, the fact that it had a family suite, with two large rooms that were separate twin bed and double bed. Shower and shower over bath and separate WC. Both rooms with tv, free wi fi, quiet, warm on the ground floor, tea/coffee making facilities. Perfect for all. Breakfast in the cellar area adjacent to the small lounge area (good use of space) cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruits or a tinned fruit salad.
Eggs boiled, all the breads, toast etc., croissants cheese, ham... unfortunately disappointment all round for kids, no pain au chocolat! In Bruges too!! The owner/manager and his wife were pleasant, we were able to leave our suitcase in the reception until our taxi arrived, so we could still use up the time without lugging our bags about. We were early on arrival, but our room was available immediately. Plenty of fresh towels, shower gel was affixed to the wall type, so take own if particular.
Walking distance to all the city .... so easy to get to everywhere. We loved it, and would definitely recommend with our without children. Thank you for helping to make their first visit to Bruges such a success.

Room Tip: Family room No. 9 ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Time Travellers' Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#34 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duc de Bourgogne
Duc de Bourgogne
#48 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#36 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malleberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malleberg

Property: Hotel Malleberg
Address: Hoogstraat 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Bruges
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malleberg 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malleberg is a comfortable, friendly, family-run hotel at a unique location just 200 m from the market square. Situated in the heart of magnificent Bruges, the hotel is ideal for cyclists and perfect for discovering the old town of Bruges and its surrounding area. A warm welcome awaits you in a quiet and friendly atmosphere. Our pleasant rooms provide every comfort and they all have their own bathroom with shower. Coffee and tea facilities in the room are standard. You will experience Belgian hospitality in this typical Bruges town house that instantly becomes home to every guest. Families are very welcome to our family suite, which is ideal for parents and their children. You start the day with a full, refined, hearty breakfast in our 16th-century cellar. Please let us know if you need any information on tourist attractions, excursions, bicycle rental, museums, etc. In the afternoons you are invited to have a free cup of coffee or tea in our lounge. A PC is available at no extra charge and there is free Wi-Fi all over the hotel and in all the rooms. On a nice day you can enjoy our patio with its gorgeous flowers and plants. Our hotel becomes a home to every guest! The Vienne-Van Lersberghe family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Malleberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malleberg Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing