We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good alternative in Bruges”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Malleberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Malleberg
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good alternative in Bruges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Silent hotel, close to the central square (Markt). As Bruges must be enjoyed on foot, there is a an underground parking lot not far from the hotel. The staff was very helpful and even reserved space for us. The room is comfortable, and breakfast is good. The only disadvantage to take into account (that I think must be normal in other old buildings in the historic part of the city) is that the hotel has no elevator, so staying -for example- on the second floor can be a problem for some people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpresotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    131
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
83
131
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Malleberg. It is VERY well located very close to the main square and several good restaurants though still is a relatively quiet, little corner. The hotel was very clean and very artfully decorated. It has a small, but nicely decorated back patio. The room was not quite mid-sized but still roomy enough. The bathroom was fairly small and a bit awkward (there also weren't a bunch of extra items provided like bar soaps and shampoos etc.) We were also asked to pre-pay for the two nights lodging upon check-in (which I found a bit odd). The owners appear to live on-site and both seemed pleasant enough.

Bottom line: we were looking for a well situated, clean place to sleep for a reasonable price. The Hotel Malleberg met the mark perfectly. It was a nice place and I would stay there again as well as recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaldEagleWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent central location, extremely quiet hotel with lovely, helpful staff. The hotel was full, but you wouldn't have known it as it was so quiet. Fantastic breakfast, although not cooked if you are expecting that (you can boil an egg). Excellent value. We parked in the station car park for 3.50 euros a day which was great value compared to the underground carparks in Bruges - you also get a free bus ticket into town. The return bus will cost you 2.00 euros per person, but you can walk depending on the amount of luggage you have! Facilities in rooms are very good and everything you would expect for a 3* hotel. All in all this was a great value for money stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummy2CeCe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

After much web surfing we decided to choose this hotel. Cost wise very reasonable compared to other hotels. Location perfect for access to city centre with big plus, breakfast included AND a very good one too. Many hotels will charge extra for that which if you only want a slice of toast then approx. 30 x Euros extra is a lot to pay for!!! Rooms large, warm and comfortable (we had a double bed plus a single in ours). Gave a 4 score though because of dark red decor and use of low energy bulbs which gave it a rather gloomy appearance. We were very happy with our choice and would stay there again. Would recommend to others.
Re getting there from station, take a taxi. Too many cobble stone pavements to take a wheeled suitcase!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in Bruges for 3 nights over a weekend in January and were incredibly happy to find Hotel Malleburg is just a couple of minutes walk from the centre and about 10 minutes taxi journey from the train station. The rooms are very basic and old fashioned, but not more is needed on a city break. There is a continental breakfast served each morning, which is nice but again basic. The service is fairly friendly, our questions and queries were answered but do not expect an enthusiastic welcome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is the perfect quaint hotel and a great value. The rooms are impeccable, the breakfast lovely, and Frank the owner is always accessible and gracious. The location is ideal. We felt like we were in our 'home-away-from-home'. The city of Brugge is at least a 3 day stay - experience the restaurants, bars, loads of sight-seeing, chocolate & cheese sampling, great shopping, biking and free entertainment at Markt Square in the early evening!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely 3 nights in Bruges. We booked the hotel because of the trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed. The staff were lovely, very welcoming but not overbearing. We were given vouchers for free drinks at a local restaurant on arrival and chocolates when we checked out. The room was large, very clean, the beds comfortable and the shower was nice and powerful. Tea and coffee facilities, tv, safe and hairdryer were also provided. The continental breakfast was brilliant. Coffee was brought over to the table and there was a fabulous buffet with fresh breads, croissants, eggs, fruit and much more. There was even Cava if you fancied a bit of booze with your breakfast. The cellar in which the breakfast is served is a great place to eat.
The location is brilliant, just of the main square not too far to walk when you've had some of the belguim beer or have ate too many moules and frites.

Overall, a great stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#34 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duc de Bourgogne
Duc de Bourgogne
#48 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#36 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malleberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malleberg

Property: Hotel Malleberg
Address: Hoogstraat 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Bruges
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malleberg 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malleberg is a comfortable, friendly, family-run hotel at a unique location just 200 m from the market square. Situated in the heart of magnificent Bruges, the hotel is ideal for cyclists and perfect for discovering the old town of Bruges and its surrounding area. A warm welcome awaits you in a quiet and friendly atmosphere. Our pleasant rooms provide every comfort and they all have their own bathroom with shower. Coffee and tea facilities in the room are standard. You will experience Belgian hospitality in this typical Bruges town house that instantly becomes home to every guest. Families are very welcome to our family suite, which is ideal for parents and their children. You start the day with a full, refined, hearty breakfast in our 16th-century cellar. Please let us know if you need any information on tourist attractions, excursions, bicycle rental, museums, etc. In the afternoons you are invited to have a free cup of coffee or tea in our lounge. A PC is available at no extra charge and there is free Wi-Fi all over the hotel and in all the rooms. On a nice day you can enjoy our patio with its gorgeous flowers and plants. Our hotel becomes a home to every guest! The Vienne-Van Lersberghe family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Malleberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malleberg Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing