We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Alternative to B&B - Comfortable, Clean, Friendly, Inexpensive, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Malleberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Malleberg
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Perfect Alternative to B&B - Comfortable, Clean, Friendly, Inexpensive, Great Location”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed in Bruges before at a great B&B. But it was booked for this trip AND my husband has a strange hatred of Bed and Breakfasts. So the Hotel Malleberg was the perfect alternative. Reasonable price 89euro a night. Especially since it is literally located in the perfect location downtown. Easy acces to everything but quiet street. Across the street from a 4 star hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even helped us arrange concert tickets. The breakfast exceeded our expectations in a pretty cellar dining room. Our room was quite large. Simple furniture, but comfortable and clean. perfect for our trip to Bruges.

Room Tip: We were in room 8. Very quiet and large. But you do need to be able to climb the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACMC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    138
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
139
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Only approx. 5 minutes walk from the Belfry and situated on a quiet road. Our room was a good size and breakfasts (included in the room rate) were excellent with lots of choice. Breakfast was taken in the beautiful cellar room.
Easy access by foot from the railway station (25-30 mins walk) through the town.

Room Tip: Lack of a lift may be an issue for less able-bodied travellers, but a ground floor room is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TangoNovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Lovely hotel good location lovely little court yard at the back , nice and clean room the breakfast was outstanding in a lovely cellar, we would return to stay there again, car parking close by no complaints at all :) xx

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We booked this wonderful little hotel after reading all the other TripAdvisor reviews and weren't dissappointed. We chose to walk with our suitcases from the main train station and enjoyed the 15 minute walk to the hotel. We arrived 2 hrs before the suggested check in but our room was already cleaned and waiting for us. We had e-mailed in advance and requested a double (not twins pushed together) and the back of the hotel and were given just this. The room was ultra clean, the bedding and towels really good quality and the bed probably one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The "trek" up the 4 or so sets of stairs to our top floor didn't bother us. The breakfast served in the "cellar" each morning was plentiful and all of good quality. As far as location goes - perfect. A one minute walk into the main square yet not affected by any noise whatsoever during the nights..... Loved Bruges, loved this hotel and would return in the wink of an eye..... Also, a point to note.... There are only 9 rooms to this hotel. Room 9 based on the ground floor is actually a 2 bed appt so we would return with our boys in the future. Thank you for a fabulous stay. xx

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJoWondermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed for two nights at this wonderful little hotel. It was an easy walk from the central square if you don't have much luggage, and it is so close to many of the interesting sights. Although our particular room was small, it was comfortable and quiet. The full breakfast which was included was good and in a lovely setting. The owners were very helpful in answering our questions and providing good restaurant recommendations. We would definitely encourage anyone staying for a short while to check out their website. -- Susan & Aimee, Oakland, CA

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_Jazzlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel was a real 'find'. It is superbly located right in the heart of the wonderful city of Bruges. There are two possible downsides to this hotel. Firstly parking is about a quarter of a mile away and this can be quite a trek although it is possible to park for thirty minutes right outside which overcomes the luggage problem. Secondly you may need to be fit. There were forty steps from reception to our room and there is no lift. These two possible drawbacks aside, the hotel is superb. The owner was very friendly and welcoming. The building represents old, authentic and characterful Bruges and an excellent breakfast is served in the most beautiful and well appointed cellar.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was a Bank Holiday City break with friends, and for 2 nights/ 2 days this hotel offers a near-perfect location and warm customer service.

It covers everything needed for a short stay with just a couple of minor exceptions; being a bar and a lift. Both of which are negligible when looking at a mini-break, in my opinion. There is a great backpacker hostel a few steps east of the hotel which proved itself to be an essential part of most journeys!

We were on the top floor and had a small but neat room. Our friends were on the floor below and had a much larger room in the same style. Both kept very clean and “reset” immaculately. Whilst hotel policy may well be to remove half-used toilet roll, soap and toiletries and replace with brand new ones it certainly doesn’t assist their green credentials and would not be expected with the majority of guests on a 2 night stay.

Breakfast is served in the basement (mind your head of the way down...) and is a strong area of value within the Malleberg. A standard continental spread is complimented by a huge tub of local Pate and the special egg bath – providing a very good start to the day. Afternoon tea is served in the same area on inviting sofas, however we failed to make it back from the attractions of Bruges to indulge.

For us, this ticked our boxes and I would happily recommend for fellow travellers on a similar schedule.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#37 of 97 in Bruges
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#51 of 97 in Bruges
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#23 of 97 in Bruges
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#31 of 97 in Bruges
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#9 of 97 in Bruges
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malleberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malleberg

Property: Hotel Malleberg
Address: Hoogstraat 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Bruges
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malleberg 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Malleberg is a comfortable, friendly, family-run hotel at a unique location just 200 m from the market square. Situated in the heart of magnificent Bruges, the hotel is ideal for cyclists and perfect for discovering the old town of Bruges and its surrounding area. A warm welcome awaits you in a quiet and friendly atmosphere. Our pleasant rooms provide every comfort and they all have their own bathroom with shower. Coffee and tea facilities in the room are standard. You will experience Belgian hospitality in this typical Bruges town house that instantly becomes home to every guest. Families are very welcome to our family suite, which is ideal for parents and their children. You start the day with a full, refined, hearty breakfast in our 16th-century cellar. Please let us know if you need any information on tourist attractions, excursions, bicycle rental, museums, etc. In the afternoons you are invited to have a free cup of coffee or tea in our lounge. A PC is available at no extra charge and there is free Wi-Fi all over the hotel and in all the rooms. On a nice day you can enjoy our patio with its gorgeous flowers and plants. Our hotel becomes a home to every guest! The Vienne-Van Lersberghe family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Malleberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malleberg Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing