We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what is required for a city break!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sint Niklaas B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sint Niklaas B & B
Ranked #29 of 228 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exactly what is required for a city break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

As most people have already commented on in their reviews this establishment is everything you could possibly need for a short stay city break. Quality furnishings in extremely comfortable surroundings that are so close to the centre attractions but reasonably quiet as well! Only a 15 min gentle walk through some pretty streets direct from the railway station - no need for buses or taxis unless absolutely necessary.

We stayed in room 2 on the top floor - which was good exercise for the legs but some may find the final stairs a little steep. You should however overcome this for the beautiful view of the Belfort tower across the rooftops!

Anne is a lovely host who will keep you on the right track with her local knowledge of where to go and what to avoid. Please listen to her when she recommends the Cambrinus pub - excellent choice of 400 Belgian beers (believe it or not) and good food to compliment them - all at reasonable prices for a tourist centre.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: I asked Anne about rooms upon booking and in her own words - "All are beautiful and each guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LonelyBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
164
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Though this B&B is very beautiful and full of character, with a location that is unmatched (room views of the bell tower makes feel like you're in a ferry tale), a breakfast that is classic and delicious, the best thing about this charming place is Anne.

We drove from Amsterdam to Brussels in crazy traffic and then to Brugge, and parked at the train-station (don't bother driving into the city, narrow roads=stress) then took the bus in, which drops out off about 1.5 minutes walk from Sint Nickalas (how awesome is that!!!). It was an overall exhausting day, but as soon as Anne opened the door, I said to myself, "ahhh, everything is going to be all right". Enough said. See you soon Anne!

Room Tip: I had the oval room, really nice, view of the bell tower is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Right in the midst of a chaotic 2 week, 3 country European vacation we stayed at Hotel Nicolas B&B and it was an extremely pleasant and relaxing visit. Although I am not that experienced with B&B’s in general (my 3rd), I have frequented many hotels and this was perhaps one of my favorite stays I have ever had.

Anne was both a gracious and friendly host who was very helpful. Her breakfasts were delicious with a lot of variety to choose from. This is my first tripadvisor post and it was such a great experience that I felt compelled to write a review. Overall, I would recommend Hotel Nicolas to anyone staying in Brugges.

Just to point out, quickly glancing at some other posts some may be reviewing based on "hotel" experiences versus "bed & breakfast" experiences. It should be noted that this is a B&B and that most B&B's offer a markedly different service than hotels. I based my criticism with that in mind.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

As three couples we rented the whole wonderful house. This is a great location in the midst of everything. The owner was fantastic she helped us arranging transportation for the rest of our trip and made the BEST restaurant suggestions. This is a beautiful city that was more enhanced by our great accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarrieTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

You couldn't get closer to the major sights of this beautiful and historic Belgian city than stay in this most charming and comfortable B&B. Clean, bright, well furnished and comfortable rooms along with a delicious breakfast make for a five star stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marek010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed for a weekend with a friend in this charming b&b.the weather was bad but the location superb,very clse to the centre of Bruges and the trainstation.the owner was very nice, recommanding us places to visit, restaurants and bars..it was my first visit to Bruges but i will defenitly come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed in the Oval room and loved it. Really fantastic location, decoration and the owner was amazingly helpful and welcoming. Highly recommend to anyone in Bruges - stayed for a night and paid €135 (about £105 July 2012) - was definitely worth it. It's about a two minute walk to all the main stuff to see, but it is down a side street so nice and quiet. Breakfast was great, nice fruit, pastries, bread, tea, juice etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_benson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#66 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#41 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 228 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sint Niklaas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sint Niklaas B & B

Property: Sint Niklaas B & B
Address: Sint-Niklaasstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sint Niklaas B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Sint-Niklaas is a house full of charm dating from the 19th century. The 3 rooms have their own private bathroom and are all decorated differently and have a nice view on the Belfry Tower. The house is ideally situated in the historic center of Bruges and you can explore the whole city by walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sint Niklaas B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Niklaas Bed And Breakfast
Sint Niklaas Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing