We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Contrast Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 230 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great location - everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed with Cathy and Dries for three nights with our two teenage sons and it felt like we were visiting with them not just staying in their B&B. From the very warm welcome to the wonderful breakfast, they cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable and stress free. The location is ideal to walk into town when the crowds are there or after they leave and our hosts had all the info we needed to find restaurants or tour the area (including extra umbrellas)! There was a laundromat a short walk over the canal which was easy to use. We chose this B&B over others because we wanted somewhere with a garden if we wanted to have a glass of wine outside in the evening and the position on the canal. Sadly, the weather did not cooperate, but the looking out on the canal from our room was a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoRoadWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    44
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
173
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Look no further than Contrast B&B, it ticks all of the boxes!

Stayed 6 nights in the house room on the top floor, overlooking the city and canal. Room had plenty of space and lots of shelf space in the large bathroom (very useful).

Great location for the centre, 5 min walk to the Town Hall, but also nice and quiet for sleeping.

However, the main reason to recommend the place is the hosts. Both Cathy and Dries were fantastic at welcoming us, providing a great breakfast and going out of their way in recommending places to visit - both in the city and in the surrounding area.

Thanks for the great stay

Mike

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Contrast B&B for 5 nights in June while enjoying the sights of Brugges. We were so happy with our lucky find of this wonderful b&b. Cathy and Dries were the ultimate in hosts - always there to be helpful and accomodating. Someone wrote that after enjoying their breakfast that you would not need to eat again until late afternoon - how very true! We loved our garden room with patio seating. The location of the b&b made it easy for us to walk to the hightlights of the city.
Would love to return sometime!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I and my two brothers stayed at Contrast for two nights during our stay in Bruges (as part of a longer trip throughout Europe). Our stay at Contrast was one of the highlights of the trip. Cathy and Dries were amazing hosts, always there with a smile and ready with recommendations for restaurants, sightseeing and even bike routes. Breakfast was great, and served in a pretty little sitting area that overlooks the B&B's beautiful courtyard. The B&B itself is ideally located, a short walk from the city center and just beyond where things get crowded with tourists. The only reason I'm not giving a five is because the bathroom was a bit of a challenge - there is no shower, just a showerhead you can hold while sitting in the bathtub - and the room was dimly lit, which made reading hard. Overall, a great experience, and I would recommend Contrast to anybody!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAdler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We had 3 nights at the Contrast Bed and Breakfast in Brugge. The room looked recently furnished and we stayed on the top floor apartment. After mainly staying in tiny rooms throughout Europe, this was a welcome suprise. We had our own meals table, great bathroom and a double bed. Every morning we had a great European breakfast with crossaints and ham and cheese, as well as freshly squeezed orange juice. Location was about a 5-10 minute walk to the old town square, which was perfect. Cathy and Dries were wonderfully hospitable hosts who couldnt do enough for us, we really appreciated their enthusiasm and advice on what to do while we were in Brugge. Overall would recommend strongly to all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Recently returned from a trip to Belgium and enjoyed a lovely four days in the Contrast B&B in Bruges.
Location of the B&B is excellent, with a very short walk to the beautiful city centre, meaning that almost everything was in walking distance. The coast was a bit too far, so we rented a bicycle and got there.
The hosts made us feel welcome immediately and warmed to us with their positive energy and a lot of great advice about the region.
We had the top floor room with a beautiful view of the four main towers of the city and the canal (see the pictures). Taking a canal cruise comes highly recommended. The breakfast was good, too; overall the first place of interest at the next visit to Bruges, which will surely happen. Can only hope that it will be sooner rather than later. Great stuff!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AP217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of November. Loved our stay. Cathy & Dries were great hosts and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were amazing! So much to choose from. Stayed in the very top room, and had a great view over the canals. It was snowing when we were there, and it was so pretty looking at all the white rooftops.

Out of the centre of Bruges, which is a definite plus. Only a 5-10 minute stroll into the centre anyway, Bruges is an easily walkable city.

Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again if we go back to Bruges.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
1.2 mi away
Villa des Raisins
Villa des Raisins
#24 of 230 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 230 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Groeninghe
Hotel Groeninghe
#74 of 230 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#3 of 230 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.6 mi away
B Guest Bed & Breakfast
B Guest Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 230 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contrast Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contrast Bed & Breakfast

Property: Contrast Bed & Breakfast
Address: Predikherenrei 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Contrast Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BB Contrast situated in the very heart of Bruges, a contemprary and unusual accomplishment Situated alongside the Bruges canals, at walking distnace from the Marked Square, the Burg, and many other places of interest, our BB is the ideal starting- point to explore " Bruges the Beautiful" Our Assets Luxury guest rooms with spacious bathroom, flat screen tv set Abutant continental breakfast with fresh products Interior garden and private terrace Splendid location in the center of Bruges Quiet neighbourhood, but close to smalle restaurants and pubs No parking problems: 25m: Centrumparking Langestraat Safe bicycle garage with charging point for electric biked ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Contrast Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contrast Bed And Breakfast
Contrast Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing