We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little bar”
Review of Cafe De Kuppe

Cafe De Kuppe
Ranked #22 of 41 Nightlife in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic little bar”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My partner and I stumbled across this bar by accident on our recent trip to Bruges, as it was the only bar that seemed definitely open near where we had just eaten - though it's only a 5 minute walk from the centre.
It's a funny dingy little bar, always playing pretty out there 70s and 80s disco tracks which we LOVED.
There's a really quite fantastic selection of beers, though we almost stuck religiously to the Delirium Tremens (we were told we'd see pink elephants after drinking it..!). The beers are extremely reasonable in price compared to other places we visited, although we didn't visit some of the other nearby bars.
Our barman Pascal was just lovely - he asked us lots of questions about London and advised on us where was good to eat in the area.
There were only a few other locals in the bar both nights we visited but I love that when we asked what time the bar closed, we were told 'there is no closing time - we close whenever, when people have left' - such a refreshing attitude compared to most bars trying to ushering you out at the first opportunity to close!
We felt so relaxed and at ease here - a nice easy little bar to come and get boozy on the wonderful beers with pals or a partner !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    23
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,397 reviews
661 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Excellent basic bar”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

A few minutes walk from The Markt, this local's bar is very friendly and has an extensive beer list. And the prices are very reasonable too. Definitely worth a visit (or two).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We've now been to Bruges twice and both times we've ended up in this Bar, the staff are incredibly friendly and the patrons are also very friendly.

They are a lot cheaper than the bars around the centre and only a couple of minutes walk from the Belfry.

Easily the best bar I've visited in Bruges.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chaysp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No food but great beer”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Friendly helpful staff. Spoiled for choice with the beers, plus good advice on what to try. Bit off the beaten track but with finding.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Try it you won't regret it ”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing good old fashioned service, nothing too much trouble and very helpful in terms of making drinks suggestions for myself (not a big beer drinker) and my fiancée a passionate beer drinker. Over 100 beers available, close to the square and a lot cheaper than the tourist traps on and right next to the square. We were also helped with restaurant recommendations and there is another fab bar la Trappiste a few doors down on the left (open from 5pm).

Bastian was our bartender and he was genuinely friendly and like I said couldn't do enough to help us. Tips
Are included already on all food and drink in Bruges so you know its heartfelt. Chilled place to while away a couple of hours. Also try momont the famous chocolatiers to the right of this bar on the corner.


Helpful?
Thank SkiptonPhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe De Kuppe also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Cafe De Kuppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing