We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alice in wonderland experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Salvators

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Salvators
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Amsterdam
1 review
“Alice in wonderland experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

Absolutely amazing. We stayed in room 42 and it was the most exclusive room I have ever seen (while I work for the most exclusive hotels in Amsterdam every day). Especially the private sauna option (in the other building), and the design in the room surprised me. For these prices you can't book anything alike, even if it was in the middle of nowhere (and it is not, we did everything by foot). Really if you love yourself... book it!

Only the food was not that amazing, but well enough, and tehre a many placed where you can eat just around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    119
    38
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
205
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed in Room 7 for 2 nights, and absolutely adored Hotel Salvators. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, giving us an apertif upon our arrival and even packing us a breakfast the evening before our departure since we had a very early train ride the next day! The location is perfect - right next to the large old beautiful Salvators church, an easy walk to all of the Bruges sights and restaurants, and about a 15 minute walk from the train station. The room was spacious with many windows and lots of light, and the jacuzzi tub was a nice way to relax after a long day of walking!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelF_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

Our stay at Salvators was a very pleasant one! We stayed in Room 42 in the Annex. It had been newly remodeled, and had a big bathroom with shower, kitchenette, table, and a large screen tv. It was clean and tastefully decorated. I would have given the room 5 stars except the bed was a little uncomfortable. There was some sort of vertical bar right down the middle of the bed.

The hotel is excellently located -right in the middle of everything. You can walk everywhere in Bruges, but we found that our favorite spots were steps from the hotel. It is also close to the train station. I'm sure you could walk to the hotel from the train station, but we took a cab both ways because we just weren't sure how to get there. The roads in Bruges wind every which way and street names change randomly.

The breakfast in this hotel is great. Plenty of choices and they fix your eggs to order. Always fresh coffee and hot water for tea. A huge assortment of breads, cheeses, cold meats, and chocolate croissants! They will of course serve you a waffle. Our breakfast kept us fueled until late afternoon.

We found that the people who managed and worked in the hotel were very nice, friendly, and helpful. I don't think you can beat the value of this place!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

We booked 1 night in Bruges on route to Germany and it was our first time in this medieval city. Having read lots of reviews on trip advisor we decided to go with the Hotel Salvators as it looked very nice for the money - 90 euros for a double room in the centre of a city seemed good value.

We were not disappointed when we got there and the hotel had a nice traditional appearance on the corner of a fairly quiet street which was just off one of the main streets close to the Christmas Markets.

We were lucky in that there was a spare parking place on the road right outside the hotel - parking is free between 19:00 and 09:00. For the extra couple of hours we needed either side of this window, it cost approx. 4E for 2 hours. Very reasonable and we didn`t have the hassle of having to move the car.

We had room number 8 on the 3rd floor which was unusual as it had an extremely tall sloping roof, which is common of the architecture in Bruges. We had a golden teddy bear light on the wall above our bed which was special! In additional they promise a surprise in each room, ours was a round red ball lamp which you could detach from it`s power supply - can`t say we reaklly used it but it makes such a change to stay in an individual hotel with character - there was even a sign in the reception stating this is definitely not a Novotel!

Contrary to some reports we were not kept awake by the Salvators Church clock - it did not sound at night and I think it only started at 08:00am.

Breakfast was excellent and had a very homely feel - scrambed egg was cooked especially for us.
The lounge next to the breakfast room had a big roaring open log fire which was an inviting place to be in the evening - if you have time! The fire was was also lit in the morning and you can also eat your breakfast there if you prefer.

All in all this was a great experience and we would recommend this to anyone seeking a hotel with character in the centre of Bruges at a realistic price!

PS - if you visit Bruges in November - January check out the ice sculpture show, it`s well worth a visit! http://www.icesculpture.be/

  • Liked — Unique traditional hotel in great location
  • Disliked — No lift would be a problem for anyone with walking difficulties
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlfaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

This is a lovely hotel in an ideally situated position, within minutes walk of all the main sites.
each room is different, after looking at the internet site we chose room 2, an excellent choice, the room was very cosy with a kingsize double bed, which I can honestly say was the best I have ever slept in. There is a balcony (not a great view, but nice to sit out at the end of the day with a drink) plasma wall mounted tv (with BBC1 & 2/ ITV) a built in living glow fire, a fridge, coffee making facilities, and 2 fish tanks with tropical fish (very theraputic)
The toilet has a large shower cubicle with a superb power shower and sitting area (ideal to let the hot water run over your shoulders and back) There is also a surprise with the water system which is fantastic, it applies to the shower and wash hand basin, but will not tell you what it is as it would spoil it for you.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, and maid service is daily, towel change as you need them.
There is a bar downstairs with the drinks priced at reasonable rates.
Hotel rates include a superb breakfast, we were offered eggs and ham cooked either in omelette/scrambled/ fried way.
A selection of local bread, croissants, meats and cheese.
Cereal/yoghurt/fresh fruit/pure juice tea and coffee, certainly one of the better breakfasts I have enjoyed over the years.
The staff are all friendly and speak excellent English, you also get a Brugge discount card as thankyou for staying with them and this entitles you to money off various attractions in the area.

  • Liked — THE SURPRISE WITH THE WATER SYSTEM
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tankywalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

Found this hotel online, and personally emailed the staff, who could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The hotel is an easy 10-15 minute walk from the train station, and in a great location for everything else. We checked out early and had to miss breakfast, and the staff prepared a beautiful package for us to take upstairs the night before. There is a great lounge to hang out in (if you can stand the smell of smoke drifting in from the bar), with TV and free internet! We stayed in room 6, which had a cozy loft bed and a pull out couch, the only weird part was the partially transparent bathroom door. We were there for one night and wish it could have been longer!

  • Liked — Great Service, Location
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NyTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

Can't add much more to the previous reviews really. Lovely place, great location, lovely clean room with excellent views.

Breakfast great, and nice to be relaxed between 8-10, rather than the frenzied rush to have breakfast before 9 as in English B & B's. Plenty of choice, and enough to fill you up till late afternoon.

The bike hire is really useful, and very cheap at 5Euros a day.

The staff are very helpful and very pleasant.

All-in-all, I would recommend it to anyone, and the stairs are nowhere near as steep as made out by earlier reviewers.

The smoky bar was only bad one night - all they need is an open window.

Captain

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPhlegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#33 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#23 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Leopold
Leopold
#76 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#65 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salvators? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salvators

Property: Hotel Salvators
Address: Sint-Salvatorskerkhof 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salvators 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Salvators reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvators Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing