We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Salvators

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Salvators
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is nicely located in the historic center but still in a side street which allows sufficient night rest (not all visitors to Bruges seem to respect this)

A Large room with comfortable and large bed. A whirlpool in the bathroom is nice when it is functioning. The use of a shower that is to be used by a faucet at 1.90m height is still not clear to me. No decent curtains to darken the room at night

Breakfast is rather minimalist but with freshly baked eggs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    122
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
213
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Spent a long weekend here after finding the Hotel via Google. The room was clean and well maintained - the "style" of the room (I think that most of the rooms in the hotel are individually decked out) was certainly a refreshing change from the mass-produced rooms presented by most of the chain hotel. The fish-tank was a source of of some amusement with various territorial chases and encroachments repeated across the duration of our stay. Shower was very good, bed was comfortable and the location of the hotel was excellent for eating out and exploring in the town centre.

Breakfast was a relaxed affair in the hotel's lounge/bar area, with a fire in the grate and the hotel cat lounging around and accepting whatever attention, scritching and fuss came his way.

Had the loan of 2 of the hotel bikes in order to get further out into the city on the final day - would certainly recommend this!

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 41 which has the "sofa bath", large fish tank and kitchenette. Nice room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnB186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a great time, lovely hotel, helpful staff, friendly cat. Great big log fire, clean room, comfy bed, and lovely breakfast. Central to all the best bars/shops/restaurants,Highly recommended (and I'm a fussy sod). Met up with a load of Londoners, had a great time, people you need to go here! Will definitely visit again.
Brian and Sarah
Swansea

Room Tip: We stayed in room 42, great big comfortable bed and lovely shower, Quiet, no noise from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is situated in the center on Bruges. The hotel was really good and all the staff were extremely helpful and all spoke excellent English. The breakfast was absolutely fabulous with eggs and ham alongside the usual continental breakfast.
Although there is nowhere at the hotel to park there are car parks close by and available from €8,70 for 24 hours, we choose to park at the car park by the train station which was a 10 min walk and only cost €3,50 for 24 hours, all car parks are secure.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the largest and also has a terrace. Room 2 had a terrace. It also had an aquarium in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Salvators for 2 nights, 19-21 of October. No disadvantages at all! Very good location, very helpful staff, delicious breakfast, cosy restaurant, very comfortable and nice decorated rooms. The best choice for active travellers who like city serfing rather than hotel sitting. Short story in addiition. We left wife's handbag in the room and found this casus just after coming back to home. One call to the hotel and I've been informed that my bag is founded and waiting the adress for mailing, Two days later my bag had been delivered to my office in Moscow by DHL express mail. A lot of thanks to the hotel staff! I beleive that is a real care for the customers and a respectable business style!

Alexey

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga_Alexandrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Travelled here with family, two adults and two boys, we stayed in a family room, good space,really cosy and clean. Truly enjoyed our stay here. The double beds were large enough and everyone had a comfortable sleep. Friendly hotel staff, breakfast was good as well. Would definitely recommend this to anyone with family but take note that you will need to climb stairs, we did not have issues as our boys are 7 and 11, they enjoyed it. Walking distance to shopping outlets and attractions. Have fun and enjoy.

Room Tip: For those travelling with kids, please ask for the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k1deiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in October while venturing through Europe. First off, the location is superb! Just a short stroll and you are in the middle of the square. On the way, you'll pass by some excellent Belgium chocolate shops, great shopping spots, and even a few pubs/restaurants. The hotel itself probably has several different themed rooms but we stayed in a double with bathroom attached. The rainbow colored shower was a nice touch. Our window opened to the street where people dressed in Knight costumes were shooting a film with their horses - quite a step back in time. Our room was on the 2nd floor and could be a little noisy in the morning but nothing that really bothered us because we were out venturing around Bruges by 10am anyway. The breakfast was included and was excellent. The waffles were the best we've ever had. One of the girls at the desk went so far to do me a favor to print off some documents and email/scan them back to me. Things we took for granted in the USA were sometimes difficult in Europe but she made it easy. I really appreciated her going above and beyond to help out. We didn't know this when we arrived, but the main train station was actually within walking distance (only about 10 minutes away) from the hotel. The dinners in Bruges at the main square (and some a few blocks off) were fantastic! We did manage to try quite a few Belgian beers in all sorts of different sized glasses - very tasty! The 12% alcohol beer I had didn't even taste 12% but was potent! We loved Bruges and loved staying at this hotel. We will most definitely be back some day and won't hesitate to book with Hotel Salvators. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skorchkatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#31 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leopold
Leopold
#72 of 97 in Bruges
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#69 of 97 in Bruges
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#70 of 97 in Bruges
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#46 of 97 in Bruges
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salvators? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salvators

Property: Hotel Salvators
Address: Sint-Salvatorskerkhof 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salvators 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Salvators reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvators Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing