We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother looking anywhere else!”
Review of Hotel Salvators

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Salvators
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Don't bother looking anywhere else!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in October while venturing through Europe. First off, the location is superb! Just a short stroll and you are in the middle of the square. On the way, you'll pass by some excellent Belgium chocolate shops, great shopping spots, and even a few pubs/restaurants. The hotel itself probably has several different themed rooms but we stayed in a double with bathroom attached. The rainbow colored shower was a nice touch. Our window opened to the street where people dressed in Knight costumes were shooting a film with their horses - quite a step back in time. Our room was on the 2nd floor and could be a little noisy in the morning but nothing that really bothered us because we were out venturing around Bruges by 10am anyway. The breakfast was included and was excellent. The waffles were the best we've ever had. One of the girls at the desk went so far to do me a favor to print off some documents and email/scan them back to me. Things we took for granted in the USA were sometimes difficult in Europe but she made it easy. I really appreciated her going above and beyond to help out. We didn't know this when we arrived, but the main train station was actually within walking distance (only about 10 minutes away) from the hotel. The dinners in Bruges at the main square (and some a few blocks off) were fantastic! We did manage to try quite a few Belgian beers in all sorts of different sized glasses - very tasty! The 12% alcohol beer I had didn't even taste 12% but was potent! We loved Bruges and loved staying at this hotel. We will most definitely be back some day and won't hesitate to book with Hotel Salvators. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skorchkatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    126
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
218
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Third time we've stayed here - obviously we love everything about the hotel. The rooms are unique - each room has a definite style. This time, we had a small aquarium in our room. The staff is comprised of very helpful and fun people...and the hotel cat - Speedy is definitely "our kitty in Europe".

The location is wonderful - very close to the market plaza and historical city hall area - right across from the Sint Salvatores church - it is so nice to hear the bells in the morning (but never too early in the morning). They offer a buffet breakfast with pastries, yoghurt, breads, fruit, eggs (husband had them scrambled with ham) and....ta da - WAFFLES. Trust me on this - these waffles are SO much better than any you can buy at the food stands in the town.

Bruges is just a lovely place; we never get tired of walking around and the Hotel Salvators is definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: All are unique - if you are traveling with family - ask for the annex across the street. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALItraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After parking our car in the center of town we started on foot to find a hotel. We found Salvadors on a quiet side street off one of the main squares in town.They offered us a large family room with kitchen,big screen TV and free wi fi.The price of 120 ero was a deal including full breakfast for all 4 of us.The hotel is around 600 yrs old so it had quite an interesting feel to it. It has been nicely appointed and updated.Although not a 5 star hotel it fully delivers on its 3 star self appointed rating could pass as a 4 star.The staff go out of their way to help in every way providing great info on parking etc.Recommend to those who want comfort ( great beds ) but do not need luxury.I would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: the family room on the top floor of their opposite building is very spacious for families. Looks li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hincaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The location for this hotel is perfect for all tourist parts of Brugge. The staff were very welcoming and extremely polite. The room was spacious, clean and all aminities were there including fresh coffee. Tele also had a number of English speaking channels. We arrived on a Harley and they kindly let us leave it in a seperate building locked up with all their bicycles which they also hire out. The breakfasts were excellent, having eggs, waffels, cheeses, meats etc which was great for mainland europe and just coming up from Paris which was no where near as good. There bar also had very good local beers and an outside drinking area to watch the world go by.
Overall a great stay and we would thourghily recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Have the waffels for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Studen750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Lancashire.
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A decent, friendly hotel offering comfortable, reasonably priced accommodation and an excellent continental breakfast - great waffles! The lady on reception was very helpful when we had a temporary problem with our car too. The room at the top of the building was not spectacular but perfectly good and quiet too considering the central location.

The best thing is the location in a nice square next to a church and very close to the old centre of Bruges. Perfect for walking in and out to restaurants and bars and all the marvellous sights Bruges has to offer. Car parking is in a secure underground garage just 2 minutes away and cost under 10 euros for the night.

Wouldn't hesitate to return to Salvators.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Salvators mid May 2012. The room was very big, consisting of a kitchenette area(microwave, hob, fridge) bedroom area complete with massive bath and aquarium!. Good bathroom with massive shower area. The staff were friendly and helpful and we had the pleasure of meeting the resident cat lounging on his rocking stool by the roaring fire! Brilliant location for sightseeing and walking distance from the railway station if you have travelled by Eurostar via Brussels. We had a meal at Ribs N Beer - great food and good choice of beers (of course). Be mindful of drinks prices......the nearer to the market square, the more you pay. Obvious really, but there really is a BIG difference. Love Brugge and the people of Belgium are smashing, friendly folk (we had room 41 in the annexe)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trixieoneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel is nice, the staff is nice, and the cat is nice. But there is major construction going on in two houses directly across the narrow street from this hotel. Cement trucks coming and going, fork lifts lifting, men pounding on the roofs, men drilling...you get the idea. And you'll hear it all, believe me- I did. Looks to me like a big job that'll last some months. I'd suggest you call them in August to ask if it's done, but they told me there was no construction now, so I don't think you can believe them. My best advice: find another hotel- who needs this sort of problem?

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank stockmktgenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#69 of 97 in Bruges
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#33 of 97 in Bruges
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#28 of 97 in Bruges
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#38 of 97 in Bruges
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#67 of 97 in Bruges
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#59 of 97 in Bruges
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salvators? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salvators

Property: Hotel Salvators
Address: Sint-Salvatorskerkhof 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salvators 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Salvators reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvators Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing