We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very nice owner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cavalier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cavalier
Ranked #52 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, very nice owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a small bed and breakfast hotel, and I think it was great for the price. The rooms were very clean, shower worked well, beds were reasonably comfortable. The downside - there is no air conditioner, and the room gets pretty warm during the day, even in September. Luckily, the temperature outside cools down in the evening, so we kept the windows open and had a good night sleep. The owner gave us an electric mosquito killer and we didn't have any problems with them. There is no elevator, so you'll need to carry your luggage up and down the stairs.
The greatest advantage of this hotel is that it is right in the center, and you can walk to all the major attractions from it. It is easy to get from the hotel to the train station - bus stop is just steps from the hotel.
Breakfast is served between 8 and 10 and is pretty good - the owner serves freshly brewed coffee or tee upon request, boils an egg, and there is a selection of tasty breads, jams, cheese and pastramis.
The owner is very nice and helpful. She tried to accommodate all our special requests, and even provided us with a kettle (can't go to bed without a cup of tee) and a hair drier

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    78
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
39
94
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I loved staying here. The owner was so helpful and the breakfast was great and so elegant. We were steps away from the Grand Place. The bus took us right to the train, just half a block away.

We loved walking all over Bruge. The boat ride was great too. We were lucky enough to be there when they had the outdoor market and also was there for there flea market near the river. This will be a memory for the rest of my life.

Room Tip: We were right at the top of the stairs. We loved it. The owner carried our bags upstairs. She is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NonnieDowntown60610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Good hôtel. We stayed just one night. But the women was really nice with us, gave us tips about where to go to have dinner and all... The building is old but the room are really clean
The bed was a bit old though

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel is 2-star rated and is—for 2 stars—very good indeed. Spacious room and bathroom, good breakfasts, very friendly staff, and, most importantly, very central and at the same time quiet location. A rather unique combination. Bruges is not cheap in general, so properly the price of this hotel can be called "low".

Contras: expect the "2-star" condition of everything. In our room, the bathroom door could hardly be closed; at breakfast, the glass cover-plates on the tables had broken and scotch-fixed corners. However it doesn't spoil the general impression if you don't go for a honey-moon.

Room Tip: - Since buses go in the street in front of the hotel, I would recommend to avoid the street-facing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karapetyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel at the end of May 2012 for two nights. We really loved the place and the owner, Vivenne, was very nice and helpful. Below are some Pros and Cons about this hotel from our viewpoint:

Pros:
- The room was very clean, a good size for our use, and nicely equipped.
- It was very quiet and a good temperature in the room, but a portable fan was provided (at least on the 4th floor) if needed.
- The owner, Vivianne, is very nice and helpful. She provides a great and hearty breakfast every morning. Our last morning we were leaving 6 AM and missed breakfast, but she was kind enough to pack us food to bring with us, which we did not expect, but really appreciated.
- The location is great, very central and close to alot to see and do in Bruges. Vivianne also provided a discount coupon to get the town attractions pass at a better price.
- Cost - the price was a good value for the money!

Cons:
- There were steep stairs, but we knew we were getting a long walk up when we choose the backpackers room on the 4th floor!
- Only issue that might bother some if you did also pick the 4th floor room is that there is no true window. In the event of a fire you would be trapped in your room if the stairway was unusable and since the window does not open and is in the roof, then no one would likely know you were there. Unlikely that this would happen, but maybe a concern to some people.
- The shower in the 4th floor room is rather small.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I traveled all over Europe last Summer. It goes without saying that Western Europe is not cheap in comparison to the rest of Europe, Bruges being no exception. Hotel Cavalier was one of the best values we found on our trip. The rooms were very comfortable and the location couldn't be better. The owner is extremely helpful and makes a wonderful breakfast and works hard to make sure your stay is pleasant. Without hesitation, I would recommend this place to anyone that values their money and finds pleasure in actually getting what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreux, switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We came to this hotel with our 1 and 3 yr old children. They gave us a nice large room with a baby crib and extra bed. The four of us stayed for 90 euros. The breakfast was good and the concierge was extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much. We do advise taking the bus from the train station though, if you have small children. it was a bit of a hike. The walls were pretty thin but I think this is typical of hotels in Brugge b/c other hotels we contacted before this one wd not accept children under 6 yrs b/c of noise issues.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#66 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#34 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#33 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#41 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#36 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavalier

Property: Hotel Cavalier
Address: Kuipersstraat 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#44 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cavalier 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cavalier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing