We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, lovely hotel and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cavalier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cavalier
Ranked #52 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great service, lovely hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night and as we were travelling by train we arrived quite early. Although the room was not ready the staff took in our luggage and gave us a map of the area pointing out the places to visit and recommending places of interest.
Once we checked in I was surprised at the very large room and bed with pretty decor. It had more of a guest house feel than a hotel, more of a personal touch.
The bathroom was clean and tidy and there were plenty of clean towels. We requested an iron which was provided and a hairdryer was also provided on request to keep for the duration of our stay.
The breakfast was continental buffet style but also staff made boiled eggs and made and served hot drinks.
Location was central near to the sightseeing and shopping area, and near to pubs and restaurants. We were able to laeve our bags at the hotel for the day once we had checked out in order to sightsee without our luggage
The service and freindliness at this hotel was amazing and I would definately recommend a stay here

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TaraR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    78
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
39
94
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Very friendly and welcoming owner and a lovely breakfast. The location is ideal and it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jake20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

We are a family of 5 and at short notice were accomodated in adjoining rooms. It was comfortable, the owner was very friendly and the breakfasts were lovely. It was a steep walk up many flights of stairs, but well worth it - quiet, roomy and we didn't hear any other guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

The hotel cavalier is a gem.
Viviane the owner is very welcoming, friendly and infomative.
The rooms are spacious and very clean. Our bathroom had a shower and bath.
Breakfast is served in an elegant room, is very fresh with plenty of choice.
Its very central and everything is within walking distance.
This hotel is great,very reasonable,especially for its location,clean and friendly.
Can really recomend ths hotel and will definatly be going back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mek1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We have stayed at the Cavalier on four separate occasions; found in Rick Steves material. Breakfasts are exceptional in a lovely setting and included in the reasonable price. Rooms have been updated since our first stay 10 years ago. Great location just a few minutes from the Main Square. The first stock exchange in Europe is at end of street in front of hotel! Very helpful viviane has made great dining suggestions - with few tourists. Steep stairs but only have to use in the morning and after dinner.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G-dadddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

A absolutely lovely, excellent located hotel in Brugge - with a great service of Viviane, very clean and comfortable rooms (even if you've to climb a lot of stairs but this gives the Cavalier its unique and special atmosphere). And last but not least: a price that is "normal" and therefore a place for young (or old!) tourists who are not spoiled. Online reservation is very simple, too. Brugge is really beautiful and we're sure to come again and we'll stay at the Cavalier - nothing else!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

We booked the family room in the adjoining "guest house Adonis" which was big, though basic and clean. One thing to be cautious of the steep stairs if you are coming with toddlers. Good value in a city that everything else seems expensive. Good continental breakfast and received all the info we needed, so a part from the rainy weather, it was just great.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#54 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#67 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#41 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#32 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#33 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavalier

Property: Hotel Cavalier
Address: Kuipersstraat 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#44 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cavalier 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Cavalier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing