We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We have just returned from a trip to Belgium that included a few nights stay in Bruges. Found the hotel through a well known internet company and before booking read the reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel reception staff were very welcoming and most helpful during our stay - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the garden. A remote controlled air con system in the room helped to blow away any stuffiness, given it was a bit humid during our stay. It was clean and spacious, with a lovely bathroom. The decor and furnishing of the hotel add to the historical feel of Bruges. The location was perfect with easy access to everything Bruges has to offer and very quiet, given it's closeness to the main areas.
We travelled by car and used the underground parking facilities which are a few minutes walk from the hotel at a cost of 20 Euros per night - the hotel have a section of the car park for patrons use. This meant we were able to forget about the car, knowing it was safe and secure during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldilox001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 993 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2010

The hotel staff were exceptional especially Mieke who helped us when our hotel booking had been mismanaged by our booking agent. We spent 2 wonderful nights at this hotel.
We had a very quiet room overlooking the garden furnished in period style. Room was extremely large, new bathrrom , and bed extremely comfortable. Our package included breakfast which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

From my travel blog: 96 Hours across Europe by Train (

The hotel I chose here is another winner. Martin’s Relais Oud Huis Amsterdam is a lovely canal-side setting, a hotel converted from four vintage merchant’s houses. The rooms are, as described in their brochure, huge. All the dining and meeting rooms here are exceptional, lovely antique decor and a really peaceful setting in the heart of such a great little city.

The welcome here made me feel like I was staying at somebody’s home, so nice and warm, makes me want to get in the kitchen and help cook something! Price is great too, one of the cheapest hotels I’ve booked on this trip, a great value anywhere, and an excellent choice in Bruges. Belgians are wonderful hosts, very friendly, very helpful and just a pleasure to meet.

The receptionist at the hotel was very helpful in providing a map (which you really don’t need in Bruges, as long as you can see one of the church towers, it’s not too hard to navigate by) and things to see and do. I mentioned that I’d like to just see the old town. She said ‘it’s all old.’ Fair enough. It is. She also pointed out an apparently very nice art museum which unfortunately had no art left, it was stolen last year in one of the greatest art heists on record.

Great hotel. Fabulous and friendly service. HUGE room. Great value.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank admorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We booked this hotel at a signifcant discount through a popular online travel booking site and we feel we got a bargain. We booked for location.

Before we arrived we requested flowers and chocolates for one of the rooms as the trip was a birthday treat, the flowers were beautiful and a lovely birthday note attached. The price was as you would pay in the shops with only a small mark up. Thank you to the staff for their great service.

The rooms were as described in previous reviews, in an old fashioned style though the striped curtains did use modern colour combinations. The walls are adorned with paintings and prints. Our room overlooked the "garden" a small courtyard in front of the backdoor. It may be a figment of a mid-week stay but it was super quiet, no disturbances as all. We had a great sleep each night in very comfy beds, temperature was perfect at night.

Bed linens and towels were clean and crisp and floors hoovered. Given the dust trap frames and ornate furniture I think the surfaces were well dusted all appeared clean. Ignoring the odd cobweb in the window frame the only issues with cleanliness was in the bathroom. The grouting was black with mildew in the corners around the shower screen. This isn't something that worries me from a hygiene perspective but it was quite obvious. The whicker furniture next to the sink is not the easiest to clean of soap, make up spills extra the staining was testament to this.

Breakfast was fairly standard, cheeses galore, egg (scramble & boilled), pastries, bread with toaster available though leaving you slice in the sun for 5 mins would have been more effective.

Only negative at breakfast was the slow replenishment of food, on one morning 2 gentleman with a desire to consume 8 croissants each, cleaned the place out so the rest of the diners had to wait for c20 mins for breakfast - everything else was low at this time too service still had 40 mins to run so I was surprised at the lack of choise. Fruit ran out regularly on all 3 mornings.

The stairs (as mentioned in other reviews) would be a struggle for someone of lower mobility but there is a lift, however between the lift and the rooms there are more steps here and there.

All in all the great friendly service, location and comfy clean beds outweigh the small cleanliness issues for me hence the 4 rating.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Hotel was beautifully decorated. Rooms comfortable with old fashioned furnishings . Our room (25) had beams and a balcony which added to the originality.Bed was superb. Lovely spiral staircase with a slight lean inwards which would have been an issue for those not too fit!
Downsides- bathroom had a bath with a shower over. Bath only suitable for bathing tiny people but they would need long legs to climb over high sides! ( a walk in shower would have fitted in better). No teas or coffee making facilities. Plugs were old fashioned and the only one modern enough to take a uk adaptor was in the bathroom. Breakfast was outrageously expensive at €20 per person! Good bakery round the corner was a cost effective alternative. We could not afford to spend best part of £120 for 3 days breakfast in an already expensive country. Parking similarily priced at €20 per night.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sooty31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

I stayed here for New Year's Eve. The hotel is in a great location on the canal and only 5-10 minute walk from the market square.

Considering the time of year the hotel was really quiet. Our room was right near the reception desk and overlooking the garden and we were never disturbed by noise at all. The room itself was quite large and clean, it did get a little hot and stuffy in there of a night time and we had to keep the window open ajar.

There's internet access, altough I thought the price was a little steep €8 for 20 minutes. For some unique souveniers from Bruges there is a little glass shop nearby (turn right out the back of the hotel) where you can buy some handblown glass and if you're lucky you can watch him do it. It was probably the cheapest stuff in Bruges!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clouds111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Found this on the web and found that this establishment pretty much lived up to its description. Staff on arrival could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The room had a canal view which was both a terrifc positive but also had some negative impact. Furnishings and fittings were charming - very period and we did seem to have enough coat hangars! Bathroom absolutely immaculate with superb tiled finish that looked very recent. The breakfast selection was excellent and included smoked salmon as well as the trypical bain marie offerings plus great fresh bread and pastries.
Only negative was that we arrived during a heat wave (95deg) and no air-con meant that we had to leave the windows open and experienced some traffic noise until around 1am - hence the sleep-quality rating. If you stay in cooler weather or ask for a rear facing room, this would eliminate this minor quibble.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinot47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCludts, Distribution Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2010

Dear guest,

We want to thank you for choosing our hotel Martin's Relais Oud Huis Amsterdam during your last stay in Bruges and thank you for your comments.

We always do our utmost best to provide the highest service standards for our guests, our goal is to create a home away from home.

As qualilty and comfort is very important to us, all rooms will dispose of airconditioning by March 15th 2010.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future.

Sofie Goossens
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Peellaert - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $115 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing