We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a room not near the stairs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a really great little hotel, perfectly located for tourists in Bruges.
The reception staff were really helpful, even though we arrived on the Eurostar after midnight!
Everything was in easy walking reach, and a great place to base yourself.

If breakfast is not included in your package it is unbelievably expensive, but that isn't really a worry givent he many great places to eat around there.

I would give it 5 stars, however, our quality of sleep was seriously disrupted by being near to the busy corridor and very squeaky staircase - so would recommend, just make sure you ask to not be on the busy corridor!

Room Tip: Not near the staircase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 990 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

We booked this as part of a combined rail and hotel break so we were not really expecting such a Fabulous hotel. It is full of character with lovely staff who can not do enough to help make your stay enjoyable. The location is brill as it's only a 5 min walk to the centre of the square. We had a room over looking the gardens so was very quiet, it was not the best room at the hotel but had a very large comfortable bed indeed, the bathroom was well appointed, the furniture was in keeping with the whole hotel, which is 5 houses made into a very quirky hotel, each house has been left fairly individual so the stairs, floorings and features are all different. We were blown away, who ever stays here be prepared for something different, charming and unique.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for a trip away for my fiancées birthday. The person on reception was very helpful and went through the tourist map with us. They also advised us of some good places for our birthday. Because it was my fiancées birthday we got a room upgrade. Great views over the canal and the room was huge. It was everything we needed for a great stay on Bruges.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Spent a wonderful 3 day break in Bruges. The Martins Relais Hotel was exceptional - great character hotel with excellent staff.
On arrival the 1st impressions are not favourable but that is where the negatives end. The check in was friendly and efficient. We were given a quick overview of the hotel and provided with a city map to give us directions and recommendations for site to see on our visit. Special mention of Ditier - he was most helpful and friendly.
Our room was spacious with separate bedroom and large, well appointed bathroom. Good quality toiletries and fresh white towels. The bed was ideal and probably the biggest bed we have ever slept in!! The room had large double windows which overlooked the canal - sun rise every morning to waken us. We had no problems with the noise from the road below our room - an issue raised on previous reviews.
The breakfast was amazing both in quality and in selection. Cereals, fruit juices (fresh), fresh fruit, yogurts, cold meets, cheeses and fresh breads of all kinds. A cooked selection was available if you so desired. To finish - fresh salmon and champagne!! Wonderful start to our day.
5 mins walk takes you into the main square, the Burg and all the main shopping and bars/restaurants you will need. Obviously the selection of beers available is astonishing and taking advice and reading up on these beers is a must. Try the de Garre pub - accessed vis a narrow alley between the square and the Burg. Great tasting beer that can only be purchased at this pub - watch out it's very 'potent'.
Lots more to see and do in Bruges - and the location of the Hotel makes it all easily accessible.
Easily one of the best City centre hotels we have stayed in.
We can recommend the Martins Relais highly.

Room Tip: A canal view room is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandRosslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was in Bruges for three nights with friends. We had rooms on the second floor, all next door to each other. All of the rooms were really lovely. The bathrooms were modern and spacious. The beds were huge. We all had a canal view at the front of the hotel, which was absolutely lovely, you can throw your windows open in the morning and have coffee overlooking the very scenic canal and houses. The location for us was perfect, just a stones throw from the bustling shopping streets, but far enough away to avoid the crowds and noise at night. We found it a very peaceful hotel, and didn't encounter any noise at all. The rooms were all clean and the staff very friendly. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cacheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Cacheena,

We are delighted to read your positive comments on our hotel, and would like to thank you for sharing this on Tripadvisor.

It is true that we are not located in the middle of the touristic center. However, the area where the hotel is located was very important in the history of our city as the goods we were trading in came into the city through this canal and were unloaded in this area.

Right now the touristic center is more around the market square area, which is still walking distance from our hotel, but we often hear that it is nice to return to a more quiet area after a day in the busy center.

Thanks again for your lovely words on our hotel and my staff members.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Martin’s Relais!

Kind Regards,
Sofie Goossens – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We got one of the cheaper rooms on the ground floor. I wasn't sure what to expect but the room was enormous, airy, light due to the big windows and had a nice view of the garden, and it was very quiet at night. The service was also excellent, the staff were friendly and knowledgeable too. The bed was huge too and a bit soft for me, but that's just personal taste - my girlfriend loved it.

I've also stayed at the other Martin's hotel in Bruges, and although that was good too, I'd pay the extra to stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Ben,

Thank you for your lovely words on our hotel (and on our colleague Martin’s Brugge).

My staff is also delighted to read your compliments on them and their knowledge. Your appreciation is a great motivation for them, because they always work hard for our guests and not everyone is always as grateful.

We are hoping to see you again one day!

Kind Regards,
Sofie Goossens – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed for one night. The staff were very obliging, the room was well equipped and the location ideal. We arrived early and our room was ready. We also asked to extend check out time and again, it was no problem. I would recommend it for a great weekend break away.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Anneandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Peellaert - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
1,877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $115 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing