We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Comfortable Room for a Family of Four”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here three nights. We were given an extremely spacious, clean room on the 2nd floor. Nice size wardrobe with a refrigerator inside (and chilled beer glasses). Two minor complaints - 1. there was really no place to store clothes so we never unpacked most of our things 2. The hotel stresses being eco-friendly. We were there for three nights - they changed the towels after two days, didn't see a need/reason for it. We didn't do breakfast as we thought 20+ Euros/person was a bit much, espeically with all the pastry shops around. The parking was an issue - their parking area was full, so were the next two parking garages. My husband had to park .67 miles away, but we left car there for the three days. We were there to experience the Christmas markets, so it was crowded - it took us 90 minutes to get into the city center because of the traffic (don't know if this happens often). If you're going during a high tourist time, book your restaurants. We had trouble finding places to dine for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjrunaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Family Kjrunaas,

Thank you very much for posting this comment on your stay in our hotel.

We are glad to hear that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is true that the hotel tries to be as eco-friendly as possible. Normally towels are replaced every day, but these days we only change towels if we find them on the floor or in the bath tub.

On busy weekends it is advised to book restaurants in advance indeed. Our reception staff is always willing to recommend or even book a restaurant for you.

We hope we may welcome you again in the future!

Warm Regards,

Sofie Goossens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Martin's Relais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 929 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is ok - but not excellent. The location is good and within walking distance of all the major sights. The staff were friendly and helpful. After checking in, we found the room to be quite cold - we reported it to reception and it was rectified when we returned a few hours later. The room was generally clean and quiet. Breakfast was good quality and value.

The furnishings of the room were slightly incongruous and rather poor quality. The room itself was panelled with modern oak and there were a couple of regency style reproduction armchairs. There was however also a modern "cube" style foot stool and the console table and bedside tables were all cheap modern veneer and alloy type things which didn't really fit. Both bedside tables were damaged and unstable and probably need replacing. There was a stain on the valance sheet on the bed.

There was no welcome pack in the room and no hotel or local information guides. There were no instructions in the room to connect to the wifi and this required a trip back to reception. The wifi connection was intermittent and temperamental. The tea and coffee making facilities were limited and amounted to instant coffee or tea - I'd really expect a four star hotel to run to a cafetiere or capsule espresso machine and to supply some complementary snacks and water. The mini-bar was uninspiring and there was only one beer glass in the room.

The hotel is fine and reasonable value for money - but it wasn't a treat and we wouldn't stay again if we returned to the city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BenC619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, entrance and reception area of hotel is lovely. Very cosy and welcoming, so great first impressions. Got checked into room 214 on the second floor. Adequate sized room, but lacking the charm of the 'charming room overlooking the garden' as it was advertised. Bathroom looked lovely, but when using the shower, there was no shower curtain or glass screen so the majority of the bathroom ended up wet. Very disappointing. We didn't have the breakfast so cant comment on that, but the hotel is in a great location, very short walking distance the main part of Bruges, but far enough away there is no noise. Overall we had a good stay but the hotel was lacking in some areas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrietCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Harriet,

First of all we would like to thank you for commenting on your stay in Martin’s Relais.

Your remarks are useful for us in order to improve the quality we try to offer to our guests.

Please let us apologize to you for the inconveniences you have experienced in your bathroom. In fact, only a few rooms in the hotel haven’t got the glass shower screen (yet), but this should be completed soon.

We hope we may accommodate you another time in the future!

Warm regards

Sofie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The entrance to the Martin's Relais hotel is very charming and certainly gives the impression that this is a quaint and romantic hotel. However we noticed a few problems with our room that tarnished our stay somewhat. Things like stained sheets, broken bathroom fixtures that should detract from its 4 star rating, and subsequently the price you end up paying.

That said, the staff there were very friendly, polite and helpful.

Other reviews have stated getting a canal view room. These on the top floor look out towards the town center, but aren't quite high enough to offer a view out over the city. There is a cobbled road next to the canal that can be quiet noisy cobbled until the early hours of the morning. If you prefer a quiet night's sleep I would suggest a garden view room.

Thank shppo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

Your comments are very helpful for us, we will double check our rooms to see if refreshings need to be done.

We also highly appreciate the positive comments on our staff members, they will be delighted to read them and they will be even more motivated to keep up with the high standard of service they are offering.

Warm Regards

Sofie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel certainly oozes charm and old worldiness which was very lovely, completely in line with the rest of Brugge, but given the price paid, I felt some of the facilities and services were lacking a little.

We travelled as a family group - 5 adults and a child under 5, and stayed in 3 separate rooms.

The hotel is very well situated down a quiet street, about 5-10 minutes walk from the main squares. This suited us well, as we prefer a quiet, more intimate hotel stay, rather than one in the centre of all the action. The hotel has an entrance facing on the quiet street Genthof, as well as a back entrance facing onto a busier street running along the canal, Spiegelrei. Both entrances were handy, depending on which part of the town you wish to walk into. Everything is within a comfortable walking distance, bar the train station, which you can either catch a bus or taxi to/from.

Our room, where I stayed with my husband and under 5 year old was a quiet one, garden facing, with lovely big windows. The room was of a reasonable size for a couple, but once a foldout/zed bed was installed it felt confined and difficult to move in, until we moved the foldout to a position next to the wall, by moving the double beds slightly. The room was very clean and tidy upon arrival, however the decor in the room is coming to the time where it is in need of updating. By this, I don't mean the style of decor, but the finish - walls in our room were scuffed around heavy traffic areas, doors and doorframes had paint chips and paint missing, and some of the grouting and fixtures in the bathroom seemed worn, as well as worn carpet on the stairs leading to our room. The lamps in the room looked dated, and in fact one of them was very unstable and felt like it would fall apart the moment you touched it!

The reception/public areas and breakfast room etc. were very well kept and clean, and we enjoyed the drinks list in the bar, and breakfast facilities were wonderful.

Although seeming a little vague at times with information, the staff were courteous, quiet and friendly, and generally responded quickly to any requests. however I did feel some service was lacking. We had no coffee or tea facilities in our room, despite a kettle being there. We were told that it was a new facility and the supplies had not arrived, however we were not given any supplies by the time they had stated they should have arrived. It meant if we wanted a tea or coffee in the hotel we had to have to pay for our them in the bar, which - particularly given the cost - felt rather ungenerous, given they certainly had supplies for the bar, even if they weren't for the rooms!

There were no bath robes, and we had to ask for the foldout bed to be set up for our daughter, as it hadn't been arranged before we arrived. I'm not sure if this is because they forgot or didn't realise that we had a child with us in the booking. To give credit where it's due, it was set up very quickly after that, however we did move it as it was set up in the awkward position that didn't allow us to move about the room freely to begin with as mentioned above, and ideally, we should have been in a bigger room that would accommodate families rather than a couple, something I can attribute to booking the hotel through a travel agent, and not being involved in the booking personally.

The beds in our room with the exception of the foldout bed were not particularly comfortable - the mattresses felt old, and the pillows were inadequate, only being provided with one down pillow each which was not comfortable as it was, given they were very lightly stuffed with feathers, and flattened very easily. The one spare pillow provided in the room was a firmer but equally poor quality pillow. I had sore shoulders and neck after our 3 night stay.

There was no welcome brochure or any local tourist information provided in our room, which I found unusual. There were also no instructions about how to use the air conditioning, or what to do in the event of a fire, or anything about the services available in the hotel. I was not aware there was a limited chambermaid service, and I might have asked for this had I have known.

Overall, the hotel was a very nice experience, but not at the standard I would have expected given the price paid. The situation of the hotel within Brugge is its real advantage, and the general feel and charm is excellent, despite the concerns I had about the facilities.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 17, which was a very quiet, garden facing room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie G, Directeur général at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Mrs Claria,

Thank you for your time to write this review.

Your comments are very important to us in order to improve the quality of our hotel and our services constantly.

We are sorry to hear that you noticed some shortcomings during your stay.

We would like to apologize to you for the missing room directory (was taken away for updating) and the coffee/tea making facilities not being provided for 100%. Both of these are now in the rooms (again), and we hope, even though you have missed these facilities during your stay, you realize that we are constantly busy trying to improve our standards and the quality of our services.

Therefore we truly hope that we will get a chance to welcome you and your family again so we could prove to you that we are worth all the good reviews from the past.

Yours sincerely,

Sofie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was a bit of splurge on our 4.5 week trip to Europe. We paid extra for the canal view and it was worth every penny. The room was tastefully decorated yet with a rustic charm and I always sleep better in a bed with a down-filled duvet. I also love a room where I can open the windows and let in fresh air. In terms of access, it was only a 5 minute walk to the main square which was great because we walked everywhere and could easily come "home" for a bit of a rest before we carried on with the rest of the day. We took a taxi from the train station to the hotel which was approximately 8 Euros -- very reasonable. Because there were so many bakeries and restaurants close to the hotel, we did not have the breakfast on-site. The reception staff were helpful and always ready to answer any questions we had.

Room Tip: Room 10 is spacious.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie G, Directeur général at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear CanadianOdyssey,

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Bruges and particularly in our hotel.
Every day we work hard to create this feeling of “coming home” for our guests, and we are very glad to read that you have experienced it this way.

It is true that our hotel is close enough to the touristic hart of the city to reach everything on foot, but also far away enough from the touristic fuss in order to enjoy a peaceful stay.

We also appreciate your words of appreciation to our staff members and the information they provided.

We truly hope to welcome you again in the future!

Warm Regards,

Sofie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is so charming and sweet. It's the perfect place to stay in Brugge as it exudes charm and history, as does all of Brugge. It's far enough from the squares, but as Brugge is so small, you're not far from anything. The rooms are spacious, the staff was nice (but not that well informed as to things like bus fare cost or when restaurant are open as I would have liked). The breakfast, which was included in our rate, was amazing.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 on the garden, which was very quiet. However, the shower flooded the bathroom.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie G, Directeur général at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Tdumpling,

Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel and our services.

These are extremely useful for us in order to improve the quality of our services.

We regret to hear that our staff members did not provide you 100% accurate information about the bus fares and restaurants. Actually, this week we have updated our database about almost all of the restaurants in Bruges (regarding opening days/hours, style, price categories and ratings) so this problem should be solved for the future.

We hope we may welcome you again in the future!

Best Regards

Sofie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#40 of 97 in Bruges
2,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#17 of 97 in Bruges
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $119 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing