We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Brugge Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reading,England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Old Brugge Charm”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very good hotel right in the centre of Bruge. Handy for evrything. Adequate size room with a large bathroom, excellent breakfast and a great little town for a long weekend.

Would definately recommend this to others.

Room Tip: All seem fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBumReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    380
    110
    42
    10
See reviews for
144
564
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I have nothing to complain about. The Location is Perfect, right in the Center but still quit. Ever major attraction is withing a 15 minute walk. Our room was lovely, clean and super quiet. The beds are awesome. The hotel has a lot of charme and is absolutely beautiful architecturally. The personnel was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also very delicious, there were many options, English and continental!
One of the nicest hotels I have ever been in for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannabeAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

A nice hotel with few but friendly and very helpful staff. Most of the time it seemed like there was only one receptionist on duty in the whol hotel and one cleaner. This is not a bad point, I have seen hotels that were smaller with many more staff and nowhere near as clean, helpful and nice as this little beauty. The location is great not being right smack in the noisy centre(if indeed you can say that about Bruges) but about a three minute walk from markt square which makes all the difference. Nice breakfast lunch and dinner spots just next to the hotel. I can't comment on the breakfast as I wouldn't pay the price for it but they make a very nice cocktail that you must ask for as its their own! One bad point is the lack of tea and coffe making facilities in the room but that's the only bad point. Just to clear up a few previous reviews...there is free wifi throughout the hotel and I'm using it in my room now to write this.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Kenvance,

Thank you for taking a moment during your stay to write a review on our property.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel, location and staff.

Coffee and tea making facilities will be in place in each room by November 15th this year

Hope to welcome you back very soon

Warm regards

Sofie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holliston
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

it's a great place!!! outstanding staff. pouring with character, small rooms (you are definitely in Europe, so expect it), but a large bathroom. steps from the center (market square & the Burg), but quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LARRYPHolliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod MA
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent 5 nights in September at this lovely hotel. Our room was in the new section, we were told, but it was just charming. It had large windows that opened out to the canal which was quiet and the home to swans in the late evening and early morning. This was an unexpected treat! Our room was large, clean, and very cheery. We had breakfast in the hotel one morning, and found that it was a wonderful spread having both European and American type foods. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Their restaurant recommendations were terrific...non-touristy and reasonable in price. You will not make a mistake with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rbta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie G, General Manager at Hotel Martin's Relais, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Rbta,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.

It's a great pleasure to hear you enjoyed yur stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back at Martin's Relais

Warm regards

Sofie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

There was no room at the inn.... just kidding my room was above what used to be the stables and it was charming - my own entrance, complete with curving wooden staircase and a fireplace in the oversized room. Enough space to host cocktails for 8 people before heading out for dinner (ok a little tight for 8 people - absolutely no compliants!) The staff were great about providing some extra glassware and helping me carry it up the stairs. There were several of us staying here and the rooms are unique, some more than others - one person stayed in what used to be the old kitchen, complete with warming pans and huge fireplace. Nice that they didn't just make all the rooms the same - maintaining a lovely level of both history and again uniqueness. Would absolutely stay here again (ask for the lodging overlooking the courtyard above the stable!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pedal_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived and had a basement room instead of the garden view we were expecting but this was fine after being told they would change it if we were not happy. Very clean if a little dated on the outside of the rooms carpets etc could do with updating. Lovely large bath and stand alone shower. Staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. Free champagne with our breakfast which was a first for us. 5 minutes from the main square so an excellent location and quiet even though the buses went charging past outside our room, they were not running too early or late so to disturb you.

I would certainly go back BUT hopefully a few of the carpets and decor will have been changed.

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms are of a good size but we had a basement room with the road right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia811811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#40 of 97 in Bruges
2,870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Property: Hotel Martin's Relais
Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing