We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B!”
Review of Absoluut Verhulst

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Absoluut Verhulst
Ranked #33 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming B&B!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I would highly recommend staying at Absoluut Verhulst! My sister and I stayed at this B&B earlier this month and really enjoyed our stay. We were warmly greeted by Freida and Benno upon arrival and given numerous recommendations of places to see while in Bruges. Their home is both charming and beautifully decorated. Our room was clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The B&B is also centrally located and a very short walk from the central part of town. Our breakfast was also delicious and beautifully presented. Thank you so much Freida and Benno for making us feel so welcome in your beautiful home!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monball25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
187
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary long weekend in January 2013 and had a flipping brilliant time! Everywhere was covered in snow when we arrived on the Friday but the Eurostar ran perfectly. We took a taxi from Bruges train station to the B&B (EUR 10) and were warmly greeted by Frieda and Benno. We hadn't done much preparation for our trip but Frieda had a stack of city guides and information for us to use at our leisure, including hand drawn maps showing recommended eateries, tea/coffee shops and the main tourist sites. The B&B is located a fantastic 5-10 minute walk from the main squares which is perfect.

We were staying in the Classic room on the 1st floor which was beautifully decorated, stocked and clean. And more importantly given the snow - warm! There were ample tea/coffee supplies with a kettle and lots of towels and bathroom products too. A good supply of DVDs including 'In Bruges' which had been our inspiration for the trip so we enjoyed watching that again one evening before heading out for dinner.

Bruges itself is great for a weekend visit and was made even more beautiful in the new snow that fell all day Saturday! We walked around the outskirts of the city in the snow and greatly enjoyed watching the local kids sledging by the windmills! We ate at the South African restaurant Baobab, the pub Cambrinus with over 400 beers and the Italian Carlito's and would recommend them all. In fact the only thing I wouldn't recommend is the 'Historium' exhibition at the tourist centre which is a bit naff ... but don't miss climbing the bell tower for the view and a visit to the Frites Museum!

Back to the B&B - I'd recommend anyone to stay here with Frieda & Benno, they really make you feel at home. The whole B&B is made from 2 houses that have been knocked together and it's all wonderfully quirky! We were treated like royalty at breakfast as we were the only guests so we had the table in front of the roaring fire - just brilliant :-)

Room Tip: Garden room has the larger bathroom but it's down a flight of stairs - we chose the classic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the Absoluut Verhulst in January 2013 and have only the highest praise for Benno and Frieda and their delightful B&B. From the moment the door opened, I was made to feel incredibly welcome and, for the entirety of my stay, no request or question was too much trouble. My bag was whisked away to my room by Benno while Frieda gave me all the important information, including a very handy hand-drawn map of Bruges with restaurant recommendations and the loan of an excellent up-to-date guide book of the city. The B&B is so close to the two main squares that eating out and walking/sightseeing is a breeze. The smile on my face only grew wider when the door to my room was opened revealing an enormous, beautifully decorated and spotless room. The bed was huge and comfortable and there was a good selection of DVDs. I thought it was a nice touch to be able to watch 'In Bruges' in Bruges! Every morning I was treated to an amazingly fresh, varied and delicious breakfast. If Benno offers you a poached egg, make sure you take him up on it! Bruges is already an amazingly beautiful city and doesn't require much to enjoy one's stay (despite what Colin Farrell's character says in the movie). The Absoluut Verhulst and the warmth of my hosts, Frieda and Benno, were the icing on the cake. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay! Felicity

Room Tip: I can't remember the exact name of the room I stayed in but it overlooked the very quiet street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlickinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Superb hosts....Frieda and Benno! They've spent years preparing their beautiful home for visitors to Brugges and hours every day making sure each guest is made to feel at home and prepared to see this beautiful city. My wife and I stayed in the Garden Room and enjoyed the luxury of a huge, comfortable bed, a wonderful sitting area to prepare for the day and relax during the evening, a refrigerator, coffee, tea, DVD player, and an ultra-modern bathroom. We can't say enough about the delicious breakfasts prepared by Frieda and Benno. They go to market every morning before guests arise to make sure there is plenty of fresh fruit, juice, cheeses, rolls, etc., etc. to put smiles on their guests faces. The egg dishes Benno prepares are out of this world. We had rainy weather while in Brugges and had to stay on foot to see the sights. Their home is a quick 10 minute walk to the central square, and every pathway to the square is filled with interesting things to see. We noted that Benno had two bikes to rent at extremely favorable rates and can't wait to revisit Brugges and the surrounding area on bike. Thank you for making us feel right at home, Frieda and Benno. Art & Jackie US

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NextHorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Brugges is a lovely city and my partner and I always wanted to go there. So a day after NYE we spontaneously decided it was time for us. We called Frieda and she had a double room for two days - such luck for us! She and her husband Benno welcomed us a couple of hours later and we were instantly in love with their warm home. Their house is very close to the Markt (main square), a 5min walk, and still unexpectedly quiet. The rooms have an old romantic charme with wooden floors, antique luggage and mirrors. Yet, the bathroom was recently very modern and clean. Especially Frieda's+Benno's breakfast was wonderful, they really care about every detail. They've been sharing their house since 2000 and Benno's paintings are hanging on every wall. We paid 95€ per night which is totally fine for the service, the location and the spontaneity of our arrival. Only down side was the bed for us.. Unfortunately, both of us slept really bad these two nights which is probably a personal problem though since everyone has a different sleep.
In total, we would always recommend the Absoluut Verhulst in Brugges!! I only met Frieda+Benno for two days but I really wanted to hug them when we left :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessiJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay with Frieda and Benno. Lovely hospitality and absolutely delicious breakfasts. Our room was large and warm (very important for this time of year!). The house is in a quiet location, yet only a five minute walk from the main squares. There are a number of restaurants very close by too. This was our first trip to Bruges and we found it a lovely place to be for a few days. Would really recommend a stay with Frieda and Benno!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent three nights at this beautiful B&B and just cannot recommend it enough. We were greeted warmly by the lovely Frieda and Benno and immediately felt at home. Their house is quirky and colourful, walls adorned with Benno's imaginative paintings. They couldn't have been more helpful, providing us with a food map of where to eat, lending us a guidebook and accommodating a later breakfast time.
We stayed in the Garden room - the photos do not do it justice. Gorgeous wooden floors, huge bed, wonderfully decorated. It was warm and cosy yet had more than enough room for our stuff. The bathroom was down a flight of stairs and I loved it - big shower and airy, like something out of a show home. We looked forward to coming back to the B&B every day, which is quite a feat when you're in a city as beautiful as Bruges.
The breakfast was fantastic - a platter of breads, meats and fruit. Benno cooks eggs to order and we had omelettes all 3 days. They were superb and really set us up for the day.
The B&B is amazing value for money - it felt like a 4 star hotel, but the absolute best thing about this place is the hosts. You couldn't hope to meet a more wonderful, friendly couple and I will certainly be back again to see them.
Thank you Frieda and Benno! We loved staying in your beautiful home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#34 of 97 in Bruges
1,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absoluut Verhulst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoluut Verhulst

Property: Absoluut Verhulst
Address: Verbrand Nieuwland 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Absoluut Verhulst Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing