We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific B&B in Brugges, Absoluut Verhulst!”
Review of Absoluut Verhulst

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Absoluut Verhulst
Ranked #41 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Superb hosts....Frieda and Benno! They've spent years preparing their beautiful home for visitors to Brugges and hours every day making sure each guest is made to feel at home and prepared to see this beautiful city. My wife and I stayed in the Garden Room and enjoyed the luxury of a huge, comfortable bed, a wonderful sitting area to prepare for the day and relax during the evening, a refrigerator, coffee, tea, DVD player, and an ultra-modern bathroom. We can't say enough about the delicious breakfasts prepared by Frieda and Benno. They go to market every morning before guests arise to make sure there is plenty of fresh fruit, juice, cheeses, rolls, etc., etc. to put smiles on their guests faces. The egg dishes Benno prepares are out of this world. We had rainy weather while in Brugges and had to stay on foot to see the sights. Their home is a quick 10 minute walk to the central square, and every pathway to the square is filled with interesting things to see. We noted that Benno had two bikes to rent at extremely favorable rates and can't wait to revisit Brugges and the surrounding area on bike. Thank you for making us feel right at home, Frieda and Benno. Art & Jackie US

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NextHorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 308 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Brugges is a lovely city and my partner and I always wanted to go there. So a day after NYE we spontaneously decided it was time for us. We called Frieda and she had a double room for two days - such luck for us! She and her husband Benno welcomed us a couple of hours later and we were instantly in love with their warm home. Their house is very close to the Markt (main square), a 5min walk, and still unexpectedly quiet. The rooms have an old romantic charme with wooden floors, antique luggage and mirrors. Yet, the bathroom was recently very modern and clean. Especially Frieda's+Benno's breakfast was wonderful, they really care about every detail. They've been sharing their house since 2000 and Benno's paintings are hanging on every wall. We paid 95€ per night which is totally fine for the service, the location and the spontaneity of our arrival. Only down side was the bed for us.. Unfortunately, both of us slept really bad these two nights which is probably a personal problem though since everyone has a different sleep.
In total, we would always recommend the Absoluut Verhulst in Brugges!! I only met Frieda+Benno for two days but I really wanted to hug them when we left :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessiJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay with Frieda and Benno. Lovely hospitality and absolutely delicious breakfasts. Our room was large and warm (very important for this time of year!). The house is in a quiet location, yet only a five minute walk from the main squares. There are a number of restaurants very close by too. This was our first trip to Bruges and we found it a lovely place to be for a few days. Would really recommend a stay with Frieda and Benno!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent three nights at this beautiful B&B and just cannot recommend it enough. We were greeted warmly by the lovely Frieda and Benno and immediately felt at home. Their house is quirky and colourful, walls adorned with Benno's imaginative paintings. They couldn't have been more helpful, providing us with a food map of where to eat, lending us a guidebook and accommodating a later breakfast time.
We stayed in the Garden room - the photos do not do it justice. Gorgeous wooden floors, huge bed, wonderfully decorated. It was warm and cosy yet had more than enough room for our stuff. The bathroom was down a flight of stairs and I loved it - big shower and airy, like something out of a show home. We looked forward to coming back to the B&B every day, which is quite a feat when you're in a city as beautiful as Bruges.
The breakfast was fantastic - a platter of breads, meats and fruit. Benno cooks eggs to order and we had omelettes all 3 days. They were superb and really set us up for the day.
The B&B is amazing value for money - it felt like a 4 star hotel, but the absolute best thing about this place is the hosts. You couldn't hope to meet a more wonderful, friendly couple and I will certainly be back again to see them.
Thank you Frieda and Benno! We loved staying in your beautiful home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were greeted warmly on our arrival by Frieda, at Absoluut Verhulst and having signed in, shown to a lovely room. The room was spacious and was decorated with personal touches to make it more homely. The bathroom was new and although small, served our needs.

Breakfast was served in a snug room, overlooking the courtyard, which during warmer weather (we were there in November), I'm sure is lovely. Breakfast itself was plentiful and I'd imagine any wish would be catered for, within reason, eggs cooked to order for instance.

I would stay here again and would recommend Frieda and Benno's B&B without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueyedpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Absoluut Verhulst November 30 and December 1, 2012. To date, it's one of my favorite B&Bs in Europe. Frieda and Benno are charming, welcoming hosts and their home is lovely. As others have pointed out, the breakfasts are plentiful and very high quality. The B&B is located very close to the action, but just far enough away to ensure a quiet night's sleep. For us, this B&B ticked all the boxes and would be my first choice of places to stay in Brugge. My only caveat is that it is necessary to climb a short flight of very steep stairs to reach the rooms and I think anyone who struggles a bit with stairs would have a difficult time climbing these. Aside from that, this accomodation is perfect in every way. Thank you for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayindigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is an absolute gem. Frieda and Benno are so welcoming, and are great hosts! They can offer advice on a restaurant, sightseeing, or the history of the town. They have bikes you can borrow for a small fee, and can point you in the right direction with maps for a nice ride. It rained the whole time we were there, so we didn't get to bike, :(

Breakfast was awesome. Be sure to sign the gigantic guest book while you are there. We can't wait to come back again and stay for more than 2 nights. Bruges, you are the best! We miss your beer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinsfan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
0.3 mi away
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
0.6 mi away
Huis Koning
Huis Koning
#1 of 232 in Bruges
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absoluut Verhulst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoluut Verhulst

Address: Verbrand Nieuwland 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: $88 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Absoluut Verhulst Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing