We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible value, VERY MISLEADING website”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Koffieboontje
Ranked #84 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
2 reviews
“Terrible value, VERY MISLEADING website”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Agree with the other negative reviews about annex, rooms small, fixtures broken, not clean and close to bar, budget 1star rooms but 3 star price charged, can see how others have had a nightmare experience here ...... at least the bar was quiet for us and no bells

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rab6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    193
    164
    93
    95
See reviews for
126
280
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Unlike some of the previous contributors, we found the bells really relaxing and interesting. Our room was at the back of the hotel and had a view of the bell tower. Intriguing the way the time is told with a tune then the time. The hotel was very helpful regarding dropping off luggage early and leaving it after checkout for later collection. The location couldn't have been better, and walking round various routes from there was easy. Breakfast was entertaining as the lights in the medieval cellar kept going out, but the atmosphere was great. Staff were multi-lingual and advised well on options like boat trips. For the price. we would rate this highly

Room Tip: We just booked it through Superbreak linked from P & O Ferries site where we booked the ferry fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumbersideSmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were in Brugge for 3 days and could not have had a better location. Breakfast was wonderful and staff very hospitable. Good value for money comparing to surrounding hotels . Nice ,sunny room with microwave ,etc. Spacious room as we were 3 people.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bkotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I too can't understand some of the negative reviews. If you want a posh hotel then book one but we chose this one for the price and location, especially the location. I agree the rooms are small but they are very clean and after all we were only sleeping in the room not living there! breakfast was typical continental breakfast if things had run out I just asked for more and was supplied happily. The reception staff were absolutely wonderful, funny, chatty, very helpful and informative. We too would be happy to return. Brugge is expensive but very very beautiful.

Room Tip: Quirky hotel with rooms hidden in every corner. We had room 215 which has a balcony overlooking quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Can't understand some of the reviews on here. This is an excellent hotel. Location couldn't be better. Room small but quirky, very clean, bathroom clean and quite modern. Reception staff very helpful and informative. Was amazed by the breakfast as the reviews were slating. We are foodies and the selection exceeded our expectations. Cereal, fruit, selection of bread and rolls, croisants, jams. Selection of meats (although we don't eat meat), smoked salmon, selection of cheese and even champagne was on offer. I don't know what some people expect from a 3 star hotel. If they want 5 star then they should go to a 5 star and not a 3 star. Overall, very good hotel, would definitely return. We did find thought that Brugges as a whole was very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the price and the location. I hadn't read reviews beforehand and I was a little bit surprised to see these texts, because I think the hotel was old and a little bit worn out. But I wouldn't consider it a hell hole like the guy how has written the review from the same day I visited the hotel.

The garage is like described the review below. The floor is indeed dirty, because there is no concrete below it. What can you expect in old building like this? Of course it is annoying to pay 15e extra for parking (week day), but at least our car was not on the streets.

The staff made a restaurant reservation for us and was very helpful. The breakfast was basic as in the three previous hotels we had visited before. You get your coffee and sandwich.

The location couldn't be better next to the market place, but using the GPS-navigation you should drive carefully avoiding missing the street, which is a pedestrian street (you can drive there anyway). Overall this is a worn out old hotel, so you shouldn't pay much for it or if you are picky, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleksiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is the worst I have ever stayed in!
We were shown 3 different rooms after complaining about the first one,the carpets were stained and had large holes in,They smelt damp and were very poorly lit.
We booked a double room but were given a twin and were assured the bed would be changed,It never was!This was supposed to be a superior room and was nothing like it.
The breakfast was rubbish,no croissants,stale bread,the toasters did not work,the tablecloths were filthy,the floor had not seen a mop for months abd your feet stuck to it!
The car park is a disgrace,Dark and had a layer of dust on the floor several inches thick,access was via a plywood shutter board door secured by a padlock and chain.
Our room was not cleaned for 2 days ans the bed linen was Stained with blood and the edges of the sheets were frayed.
Do yourselves a favour and avoid this place like the plauge!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomTwpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#40 of 97 in Bruges
2,870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#68 of 97 in Bruges
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hans Memling Hotel
Hans Memling Hotel
#71 of 97 in Bruges
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central
Central
#88 of 97 in Bruges
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#39 of 97 in Bruges
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koffieboontje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koffieboontje

Property: Hotel Koffieboontje
Address: Hallestraat 4 | Next to the Belfry of Bruges, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Koffieboontje 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hotel Koffieboontje right in the centre of Bruges, in a quiet traffic-free shopping street close to the "Grote Markt" (central main market square). In a contemporary architectural environment, you will be staying right in the historical centre of the city, with its unsurpassed sightseeing and shopping options.All rooms have a private bathroom, a telephone, a TV, free WiFi access, a hair-dryer and free coffee and tea making facilities. In the morning you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. For a wide choice of more than 50 Belgian beers, please visit our brasserie "Het Strijdershuis", which also has a large selection of French and South African wines on offer. Here you can chose from a variety of meals: pancakes, snacks, salads and pastas, but also regional dishes and menus.For an alternative lunch or a-la-carte diner, try our restaurant "Kwizien Divien" which offers fine food creations at an affordable price.On sunny days the hotel terrace offers a magnificent view of the Belfry of Bruges.If you are in for some action, you can rent a bicycle from the hotel to explore Bruges and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Koffieboontje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koffieboontje Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing