We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Koffieboontje
Ranked #83 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were in Brugge for 3 days and could not have had a better location. Breakfast was wonderful and staff very hospitable. Good value for money comparing to surrounding hotels . Nice ,sunny room with microwave ,etc. Spacious room as we were 3 people.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank bkotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Koffieboontje
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 623 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

I too can't understand some of the negative reviews. If you want a posh hotel then book one but we chose this one for the price and location, especially the location. I agree the rooms are small but they are very clean and after all we were only sleeping in the room not living there! breakfast was typical continental breakfast if things had run out I just asked for more and was supplied happily. The reception staff were absolutely wonderful, funny, chatty, very helpful and informative. We too would be happy to return. Brugge is expensive but very very beautiful.

Room Tip: Quirky hotel with rooms hidden in every corner. We had room 215 which has a balcony overlooking quie...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Can't understand some of the reviews on here. This is an excellent hotel. Location couldn't be better. Room small but quirky, very clean, bathroom clean and quite modern. Reception staff very helpful and informative. Was amazed by the breakfast as the reviews were slating. We are foodies and the selection exceeded our expectations. Cereal, fruit, selection of bread and rolls, croisants, jams. Selection of meats (although we don't eat meat), smoked salmon, selection of cheese and even champagne was on offer. I don't know what some people expect from a 3 star hotel. If they want 5 star then they should go to a 5 star and not a 3 star. Overall, very good hotel, would definitely return. We did find thought that Brugges as a whole was very expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the price and the location. I hadn't read reviews beforehand and I was a little bit surprised to see these texts, because I think the hotel was old and a little bit worn out. But I wouldn't consider it a hell hole like the guy how has written the review from the same day I visited the hotel.

The garage is like described the review below. The floor is indeed dirty, because there is no concrete below it. What can you expect in old building like this? Of course it is annoying to pay 15e extra for parking (week day), but at least our car was not on the streets.

The staff made a restaurant reservation for us and was very helpful. The breakfast was basic as in the three previous hotels we had visited before. You get your coffee and sandwich.

The location couldn't be better next to the market place, but using the GPS-navigation you should drive carefully avoiding missing the street, which is a pedestrian street (you can drive there anyway). Overall this is a worn out old hotel, so you shouldn't pay much for it or if you are picky, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleksiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is the worst I have ever stayed in!
We were shown 3 different rooms after complaining about the first one,the carpets were stained and had large holes in,They smelt damp and were very poorly lit.
We booked a double room but were given a twin and were assured the bed would be changed,It never was!This was supposed to be a superior room and was nothing like it.
The breakfast was rubbish,no croissants,stale bread,the toasters did not work,the tablecloths were filthy,the floor had not seen a mop for months abd your feet stuck to it!
The car park is a disgrace,Dark and had a layer of dust on the floor several inches thick,access was via a plywood shutter board door secured by a padlock and chain.
Our room was not cleaned for 2 days ans the bed linen was Stained with blood and the edges of the sheets were frayed.
Do yourselves a favour and avoid this place like the plauge!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomTwpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Myself and family have just returned after a two night stay in Koffieboontje. I was very concerned after reading the reviews on here lately but I needn't have worried. The bedrooms were small but we had enough space to move around. The bed was extremely comfortable and I got the best two nights sleep ever, don't know how much this had to do with comfort or the fact that I had tasted several Belgium beers! The continental breakfast buffet was great with plenty of choices, including cava and their bread rolls were amazing! The location was perfect just off the main square with plenty of good restaurants and bars! Would I stay here again? Most certainly would!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mual36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We settled for the third room we were shown. All three rooms we were shown smelt of damp; all three were supposed to be doubles, but were actually two singles put together; all three were shabby with broken fixtures. Although the bells of the main square are very charming - they lose their charm first thing in the morning on a weekend. The breakfast is reasonable but otherwise I would give this place a miss.

Room Tip: Suggest going elsewhere
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KashaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#40 of 97 in Bruges
2,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hans Memling Hotel
Hans Memling Hotel
#73 of 97 in Bruges
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#66 of 97 in Bruges
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central
Central
#87 of 97 in Bruges
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koffieboontje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koffieboontje

Address: Hallestraat 4 | Next to the Belfry of Bruges, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $82 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Koffieboontje 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hotel Koffieboontje right in the centre of Bruges, in a quiet traffic-free shopping street close to the "Grote Markt" (central main market square). In a contemporary architectural environment, you will be staying right in the historical centre of the city, with its unsurpassed sightseeing and shopping options.All rooms have a private bathroom, a telephone, a TV, free WiFi access, a hair-dryer and free coffee and tea making facilities. In the morning you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. For a wide choice of more than 50 Belgian beers, please visit our brasserie "Het Strijdershuis", which also has a large selection of French and South African wines on offer. Here you can chose from a variety of meals: pancakes, snacks, salads and pastas, but also regional dishes and menus.For an alternative lunch or a-la-carte diner, try our restaurant "Kwizien Divien" which offers fine food creations at an affordable price.On sunny days the hotel terrace offers a magnificent view of the Belfry of Bruges.If you are in for some action, you can rent a bicycle from the hotel to explore Bruges and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Koffieboontje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koffieboontje Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing