We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Hotel in Brugges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Koffieboontje
Ranked #84 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Central Hotel in Brugges”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Koffieboontje is in an old but remodelled building. Expect modern amenities but narrow, twisting halls. The lobby is dull but the service is very friendly and helpful and the price and breakfast buffet were fine. We had no complaints about the room itself, except for the mystery doors and small window. The location can't be beat, right in the centre.
Brugges is charming and especially at night there are numerous opportunities to take great photos of reflections in canals and floodlit buildings.
Restaurants in Belgium are very expensive, whether for lunch or dinner and prices don't vary much from place to place.The only way to save money is to go to the supermarket, which is also a good place to buy souvenir beer at half price compared to the tourist shops. For clothes and shoes, go to Sluis, Netherlands, a few km away, a good town for designer wear at half price. For beaches, try Breskens also just over the border in Netherlands and avoid Knokke-Heist, Belgium, which is a disaster of bad planning, with sterile high rise apartments lining the beach and for several blocks deep, literally touching each other, without charm or a hint of green.If travelling by car, buy your fuel in Belgium where it is about 20 cents per litre cheaper than Netherlands. Also an option is to travel by bike to see the sights. The Belgian countryside is flat with an excellent network of paved bike paths and the Koffieboontje has bikes for rent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    195
    164
    95
    97
See reviews for
129
281
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I read the previous reviews for this hotel with much surprise. We stayed here recently and really liked it for the price. I assume there must be a very big variation between the different room types.
We stayed in a triple room (room 307) on the third floor. I dobagree that the hallways are very narrow, have sloping floors and are quite musty in places. But the building is very old so i dont mind this.
Our room was lovely. It was a large L shaped room with a king sized bed and a single sofa bed. The beds were incredibly comfortable, including the sofa bed. The room also had a fairly new kitchen but we did not use it. The room had a high beamed ceiling and was lovely with a really nice view. My only criticism is the bathroom. The water pressure was not very good so it was necessary to flush the toilet more than once for it to work. It had a full sized bath with a shower over, a sunk and a toilet. It was an ok size but looked like an after thought. But overall the room was really great for the price.
The location of the hotel is amazing. Breakfast was excellent. Great little hotel - i would stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank halgaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

A group of 38 of us landed to this central location last weekend! We were in rooms of four and six and the hotel had warned us that it was a basic hotel! We were expecting the worst and were delighted with what we found! Comfortable beds and a brilliant breakfast buffet! Hotel was very accommodating with extending late breakfast and also a late checkout!
Hotel is a stones throw from bell tower! Fantastic location! Well done

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markeyr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Koffieboontje is a cozy, charming property located just a few steps away from Bruges' Grote Markt, the city center. It's a great base from which to explore the city given that most of the places to see are within walking distance.

Our room wasn't huge (we did pay for "Small Standard Double Room"), but it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olegnatadero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

First, we arrived right on time, but the room wasnt ready, so we had to leave and come back in an hour. I had reserved parking there, and it was weird. Its old, with a dirt floor, not much room to maneuver, and smelled strongly of horse urine for $20 a night. But my dad's blind, so I wanted something close (easier for me to haul luggage, as I'm pregnant). I reserved a room on the ground floor, specifically with no stairs, and with two beds. Our room was up an elevator, up a small set of stairs, thru an odd door, down a few set of stairs, around a corner... This was not very easy. But, ok, we gave it a shot. The room wasn't BAD it was just not what I wanted. There was a "living room" area that had 4 beds. It was so crowded with beds that it was hard to maneuver. There was a designated bedroom that had two twins together as one bed with ample space, that was nice. But when my mom pulled the blankets back she grabbed the sheet on accident and the mattress pad was badly stained and hairy. Eeek. There was a strange smell in the room and a bottle of bug spray sitting on the table. There was a towel hanging out of the top of the refrigerator that was brown, musty, and had worn holes in and the fridge was warm. But the towels in the bathroom were crisp and clean, if small. We also reserved a room with AC, as it was August, and the AC didn't work at all. The breakfast was good, the was a lot to choose from and everything was constantly refreshed, which was nice, and the breakfast room itself was pretty. The beds were soft and cozy, and the location is great. The staff was pleasant. It wasn't bad... Just not what we were expecting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked at the last minute. The hotel is in a great location, the staff are helpful and friendly. Bike rental is really useful. Breakfast is included in the price and OK. Rooms are a bit tired and need more than painting to update them. On the plus side we had a fantastic view of the Bell Tower from our room and it was quiet for a very central location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked two rooms as a family of four, and only one was ready when we arrived. The reception and outside was shabby and looked half-finished, but thought we'd give it a chance. Our rooms were on the top floor of the annex up a winding dark staircase, tiny with only loft-style windows, more like hostel rooms that a 3 star hotel. We moved rooms to two on the ground floor of the annex, which seemed better.

On the first night I was bitten 8 times by something (I should have realised the bug spray in the corner of the room was a clue), and kept awake by the pub within the hotel and the people along the street. The room itself was a bit of a state - one light wasn't working, there was no remote control, useless hairdryer, broken sliding door to the bathroom (TINY bathroom with the toilet about 2 foot away from the bed), and the wardrobe smelled so musty that I decided to live out of my suitcase rather than put my clothes in there. In the other room we'd booked the TV wasn't working, neither was a light, and the sink kept getting blocked.

The only good thing is the location, but there is another 3 star hotel called Martin's about 10 seconds away which looked far smarter and cleaner, I would suggest going there instead. We tried to move but it was booked.

The car park looked like a building site, and even though they knew we had a car they didn't bother to tell us that most of the roads were closed as we were leaving due to a once-every-5-year parade in the surrounding streets! We had such trouble getting out.

Basically if you want to stay in this area in a 3 star hotel book somewhere else. This place is shabby, loud and full of bugs of some sort. It was my 7th time to Belgium, 5th time to Brugge, and there are far better places out there!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the annex. If you can, get a room in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#41 of 97 in Bruges
2,906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hans Memling Hotel
Hans Memling Hotel
#72 of 97 in Bruges
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#69 of 97 in Bruges
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#39 of 97 in Bruges
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koffieboontje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koffieboontje

Property: Hotel Koffieboontje
Address: Hallestraat 4 | Next to the Belfry of Bruges, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Koffieboontje 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hotel Koffieboontje right in the centre of Bruges, in a quiet traffic-free shopping street close to the "Grote Markt" (central main market square). In a contemporary architectural environment, you will be staying right in the historical centre of the city, with its unsurpassed sightseeing and shopping options.All rooms have a private bathroom, a telephone, a TV, free WiFi access, a hair-dryer and free coffee and tea making facilities. In the morning you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. For a wide choice of more than 50 Belgian beers, please visit our brasserie "Het Strijdershuis", which also has a large selection of French and South African wines on offer. Here you can chose from a variety of meals: pancakes, snacks, salads and pastas, but also regional dishes and menus.For an alternative lunch or a-la-carte diner, try our restaurant "Kwizien Divien" which offers fine food creations at an affordable price.On sunny days the hotel terrace offers a magnificent view of the Belfry of Bruges.If you are in for some action, you can rent a bicycle from the hotel to explore Bruges and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Koffieboontje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koffieboontje Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing