We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a hostel not a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Koffieboontje
Ranked #85 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Awful rooms, don't book an annex room under any circumstances. This is not a 3 star hotel, it's a less than 1 star hostel . It is the same cost more or less as other hotels which are much nicer, so it is outrageously expensive for what it offers. Great location but thats not enough to compensate for the shabby, grubby nature of the hotel. The lobby gives the game away, dingy, dark and falling apart.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 638 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

stayed for 1 night 2nd august and stumbled across this hotel payed 80 euros inc tax room ok size but cubicle bathroom a nightmare if you over 10 stone as no room to move espacially if needing a number 2.very friendly handyman was fixing curtain rail in room.bed most uncomfortable one ever slept in and was 2 singles pushed together so had dip in middle.room not ready and receptionist tried to rip us off for 20 euros change for room.follow signs for breakfast and it leads you to a downstairs dead end room.breakfast ok but a fight for some things, think guests staying at time not been fed for a week.if like us top floor def take the lift stairs nightmare with luggage.would i stay again NO as walking a round lot more nicer hotels for better prices.pluses excellent location friendly handyman.

Room Tip: sleeping bag in reception probulary best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect, just a few stesp and you are in Markt plaza. The room was tiny, bed were confortable. Breakfast was included; you need to walak around many corridors to get to the breakfast room. The breakfast was good and also the breakfast room. Parking: some meters from the entrance of the hotel, it was small, a area adapted for parking but inconvenient.
There are better options near.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fulmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We are two retired couples and chose this hotel for it's location in the beautiful city of Bruges for a 3 night stay. We have contacted the hotel since our visit and as they did not have the courtesy to respond, feel we must warn other travellers. We checked in at 6pm but due to "technical" problems, niether room was available but temporary rooms were offered for our 1st night. These would not be available until after 8pm and we had to insist a room was made available so we could freshen up after our journey from UK. This was reached by slopes and steps - not ideal for elderly people dragging luggage but we are very reasonable travellers and did not cause a fuss. The temporary rooms were very shabby, bathrooms in particular were more of a back-packers hostel standard. No shelving or any surface to place your personal items and the hair driers were totally useless. When relocated to our "proper" rooms they were of equally poor standard, certainly not matching the 3* photos on the website. However, the breakfast was a self-service buffet, varied and enjoyable. The restaurant was a different matter, rude, surly and inattentive staff with a could-not-be-bothered attitude. Many times, the reception staff jokingly commented that we "must know all the rooms" and on departure - because of our experience - the hotel would bear the cost of our taxi to the Railway station (7.5 euro). On reaching the station, the fare had to be paid by ourselves. We have travelled all over the world and this is the only time we have ever had to make a complaint - definitely the worst hotel we have endured.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here for a couple's weekend and enjoyed the rustic surroundings and the plentiful buffet breakfast. The room was well-appointed in an old historic building, saving the best of the old and incorporating the new for a wonderfully modern bathroom.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back and inside - facing a small outdoor patio. It was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I added Brugge to my European itinerary (between Germany & Amsterdam) at the last minute and had to find a hotel. I read all the reviews here on tripadvisor but still thought - how bad can it be? Surely I can cope for a one night stay. Other last minute options in the town center during peak tourist season would have cost an arm and a leg. In hind sight, I wish I had sacrificed a body part or two. Everything bad that has been said before is true and then some. Once I finally found the breakfast room I wouldn't even stay. It was just gross. I left & gladly paid for food I could trust in a nice cafe on the square. Also bad was the mattress, for me as I have back problems. The mattress was so very soft & gave absolutely no support. It took me quite a while to be able to stand up straight after a restless night of semi sleep. I probably looked like the Hunchback of Notre Dame as I made my way to the square for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dee240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night this month. We have stayed in hotels all over the world and can honestly say this was the worst we ever experienced.

Firstly, the garage did not inspire confidence as it appeared to be a derelict half demolished building with a makeshift roof and it smelled either of animal or human urine.

We stayed in room 226 in the main building. The whole place smelled of mould and it even appeared to get in our clothes. The room was absolutely tiny and was nothing like the photos that are on the website. Indeed if they had put a photo of this room on the site we would never have booked there.

The windows opened on to the street with no safety bars for children and a 6 year old could easily climb up via a large wooden structure on which the TV set stood and could then walk out of the open window.

I was not able to walk around my side of the bed without struggling to pass the 2 chairs that were against a desk and could not be moved forward.The furniture looked like it was bought at a second hand market and the whole place looked drab and unclean.

This room should never have been classed as a double room as it really had only space for a single bed but instead 2 single beds were put together.

One of the power plugs was half way out of the wall and could have been dangerous.

The website said that breakfast was included with the room but when we arrived we were asked to pay for breakfast. We only realised this after we arrived home.

We did not feel at all safe as the tiny dimly lit corridors and stairwells could be a death trap in the event of fire. Indeed if we had been booked to stay any longer we would have walked out and asked for a refund as the description and photos of the rooms on the website were nothing like the room we were given.

Room Tip: Perhaps if you book one of the rooms on the website you might fare better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dermot5746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
3,056 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hans Memling Hotel
Hans Memling Hotel
#77 of 97 in Bruges
613 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#66 of 97 in Bruges
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#51 of 97 in Bruges
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koffieboontje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koffieboontje

Address: Hallestraat 4 | Next to the Belfry of Bruges, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: $67 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Koffieboontje 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hotel Koffieboontje right in the centre of Bruges, in a quiet traffic-free shopping street close to the "Grote Markt" (central main market square). In a contemporary architectural environment, you will be staying right in the historical centre of the city, with its unsurpassed sightseeing and shopping options.All rooms have a private bathroom, a telephone, a TV, free WiFi access, a hair-dryer and free coffee and tea making facilities. In the morning you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. For a wide choice of more than 50 Belgian beers, please visit our brasserie "Het Strijdershuis", which also has a large selection of French and South African wines on offer. Here you can chose from a variety of meals: pancakes, snacks, salads and pastas, but also regional dishes and menus.For an alternative lunch or a-la-carte diner, try our restaurant "Kwizien Divien" which offers fine food creations at an affordable price.On sunny days the hotel terrace offers a magnificent view of the Belfry of Bruges.If you are in for some action, you can rent a bicycle from the hotel to explore Bruges and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Koffieboontje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koffieboontje Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing