We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be bettered”
Review of De Brugsche Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Brugsche Suites
Ranked #134 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Couldn't be bettered”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

There isn't a lot to say that hasn't been said. A fantastic venue and experience. Every aspect of the accommodation, service and catering is faultless. A genuinely unique 'hotel' run by a kind, knowledgeable and fun host. We hope to return.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all great. We stayed on the top floor; nice view of the 3 towers in Bruge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

It was a really special weekend in a really special place.
Peter welcomes you with a cup of coffe or tea, and the first impressions are really great, you feel like you visit a friends' house.
We stayed at rhe 3rd floor ( green room), great decoration, great bed and excellent bath.
Breakfast is good, i would like the butter to be softer (room temp) , and maybe the croissants were cold also. BUT you have fresh juice, any coffee you like, eggs, etc.
Peter can help you with every question you may have about Brugge and he even helped us with the transportation to the train station!!
Top choice for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Perfection personified with a capital 'P'! And that extra 'P' is for Peter who looked after us extremely well for the entire duration of our stay.
We stayed 3 nights and as soon as we arrived Peter put us at our ease and welcomed us with a drink by the fire to enjoy as we relaxed in the sitting room following our journey, whilst admiring the beautiful surroundings including a spectacular Christmas tree.
The decor is wonderful with an amazing attention to detail.
What a lovely place to stay with great service!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the top that has a view over the roof tops of Bruge, the Reine Elisabeth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Host Peter greets and dotes on you in this incredibly stunning B&B in Bruges. The French antiques throughout make you guests in an opulent townhouse. Wonderful breakfast too and great conversation with Peter as he helps you get the most out of your Bruges stay. A short pleasant walk to the town square made this place very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Absolute perfection! We have just returned from a weekend in Bruges staying at De Brugsche Suites and it was wonderful. The rooms are filled with beautiful antiques, wonderful linens, and a working fireplace to top it all off. The attention to detail is incredible and I don't think it could get any better, everything was literally perfect. Peter the host is the epitome of charm and couldn't be more helpful. The breakfast was divine; fresh squeezed orange juice, delicious coffee, pastries, eggs, fruit salad and more...you won't need lunch if you eat all that is on offer. It is only an eight minute walk to the main square yet really quiet. We can't wait to go back! Bruges was great too!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2010

This is a truly stunning accommodation option in a magnificent city. De Brugsche Suites has only 3 rooms, each with its own working fireplace, luxurious antique furniture and beautiful bathroom. It is located opposite one of the towers on the ring road around historic Brugge, a leisurely 10 minute stroll from the centre through beautiful cobbled streets. I am sure there are cheaper options in Brugge, but the rooms here are huge and easily compare with the best luxury suites in any 5* Hotel for which you would pay considerably more. The room rate also includes a beautiful breakfast, complimentary Belgian chocolates and mineral water in your room. Peter, the owner, also very kindly drove us to dinner, the station and anywhere else we wished to go. All in the rate is worth every penny and you will feel like you are staying in your own private mansion.

We would also strongly recommend Sans Cravate (a one Michelin star restaurant with an incredibly creative tasting menu and a very intimate atmosphere), Quasimundo bicycle tours, and a guidebook "Around Bruges in 80 Beers" which will help you to discover some incredible local haunts that are a long way off the tourist path and really capture the essence of the city.

Whether previous guests have kept this gem of a hotel/B&B to themselves by not writing reviews I do not know, but De Brugsche Suites was perfect in every way. Thank you Peter and Dirk.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsillence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We arrived to a roaring fire and from the outset we were taken care of. Our bags were taken to our room while we were offered drinks over a small introduction to the suites and Brugge. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and incredibly romantic.

There are only 3 suites, which means privacy is excellent - we didn't see another guest for the whole weekend and felt like we were the only people staying in the beatiful house.

Peter and Dirk were amazing, looked after us especially well, and even found us a booking at a lovely restaurant on the obviously busy Valentines night.

One of the main attractions for me was the in room fireplace. Each of the suites has a great little fireplace for cosying down in front of at the end of a hard day of eating chocolates!

This has to be one of the best experiences in service and luxury that i have ever had and I can't recommend it strongly enough.

We will definitely be going back soon!

Jamie and Abbey

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamielob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.8 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
3.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Brugsche Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Brugsche Suites

Property: De Brugsche Suites
Address: Koningin Elisabethlaan 20, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Brugsche Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“An exclusive and romantic stay in Bruges” Under this motto we created three styled private guest-suites in a stately townhouse, located in the historical city-centre of Bruges. “De Brugsche suites” is furnished with exclusive antiques and objets d’art and is located within walking distance from the most important sights, restaurants and shops. “Ultimate Luxury and Personalized Service” Each luxuriously decorated junior suite has a private en-suite bathroom and sitting area with cozy fireplace. Two suites have a lovely romantic view of the historic towers of the city. The third one faces the “Ezelpoort”, one of the medieval entrance gates to the city. The welcoming lounge invites for a drink in a relaxed and homely atmosphere. It is with great pleasure that we serve an excellent breakfast at our nicely decorated guest table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Brugsche Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing