We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Hotel in a perfect location”
Review of Maraboe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maraboe Hotel
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

When I first entered the lobby of the hotel I was a little put our it looked dated with the tub chairs with loose fitted covers over gangly plants. On entering the rest of the hotel was really surprised the decoration was quite boutique. With simple greys and neutral tones. Owner was very friendly and spoke perfect English as most do in Brugge (thank goodness as having been to three different countries we were getting our pleases and thankyou's a bit muddled) En suites were very nice with lovely toiletries, hairdryer and towels. Bed was quite comfortable but although we were in the back of the hotel were woken by some noisy german speaking people at 3.30am someone banged on the window and all was quiet again. The hotel also offers free wifi. When we went down to breakfast the dining room was very busy which amazed us as hadn't seen anyone else in the hotel. Breakfast was far the best of the three hotels we had recently stayed in on our travels through Europe, with a lovely fruit salad, lovely plain croissants and ones with chocolate. a good selection of cereals and lovely seeded or plain bread rolls. there was also toast and hard boiled eggs. tea, coffee, herbal teas or chocolate. The hotel is quite small and there is parking you have to pre book or there is parking across the road just don't have a top box to fit into either of the car park so we parked for free about 30 mins walk away. Brugge is a beautiful city with lots to do so we will be back and will stay at this hotel again. We did the chocolate tour and the Historian which was amazing and very well done. The owner also kept our bags in the lockup so we could explore the city further then my husband went to get the car and parked outside to load the cases in. There is a Christmas market with ice sculptures, ice skating and lots of stalls starting the end of november. Brugge is only 1 hour from Calais just pick your timings right for crossings and not on a friday during rush hour as the dreaded M25 is like a car park.

Room Tip: The hotel is right nest to a road so although we didn't stay in the front I don't know how n...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Maraboe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 433 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

An excellent hotel right in the city centre of Brugge. Near restaurants and the shops. The squares in Brugge are beautiful with plenty to do and see. Hotel is by a market that is on the wknd. Lovely clean rooms with a lovely breakfast. Will definitly stay again because of the excellent location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthWalesCymraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

For the price, it is excellent. The room is tiny with no air conditioning, but they do give you a fan. There is not a lot of space in the room, but you only sleep in it anyway.

The staff are amazing. The owner/ front desk person had our keys ready with a map, and answers to all of the questions we had upon check in. The breakfast is excellent with a lot of choice in a nice room.

The location is perfect as the hotel is situated at the mouth of the tourist area.

The fitness centre was a let down as it is in the musty/ moldy basement and most of the weight machines were under repair when we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadatraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Maraboe hotel recently and enjoyed our stay, the owner was very friendly as were all the other staff, we also had a dog with us and that was not a problem at all.
The hotel was very clean and the breakfast enjoyable, also they have parking spaces in the hotel which was a bonus..(€10)
We hope to come back for the Christmas markets and will try and stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We only stayed here for one night on a lightning trip to Bruges and the Hotel was an ideal place to stay.
An easy walk took us to the Town Centre.
The Hotel is a very pretty boutique type and is clean, has free computer use and wifi, friendly staff, quiet rooms. Lovely breakfast room and the breakfast was included in the price. Very good value.
Our room was small without a view but we only needed to sleep there for one night and it was very quiet and comfortable.
If you take a taxi from the station the pronunciation is "Maribu" !!!!
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If staying for a few days it would probably be a good idea to ask for a larger room than the one we...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinders172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Maraboe is located right oustide the city center; very quiet with an easy walk to all the sights in Bruges. We apprecited the reasonably priced on site parking (10 euro/day). The owner, Sandra is quite nice and very helpful. We had a triple room. The beds were comfy (even the 3rd bed) and the bathroom was clean and modern with a really good, strong hairdryer and some tolietries (no tissues though). There was an elevator, and a cozy area with a computer/free wi fi if you like. The breakfast room was nicely decorated, with a homey feel. The breakfast was typial european fare, including soft bolied eggs, and was good
enough to fill your belly for a day of walking and sight-seeing. My only complaint is that the lighting was not good-there were lights overhead, and small lights on the desk and night stands but it still always seemed to be too dim. I do recommend this hotel overall, and give it a very good to excellent rating. Enjoy Bruges!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Famontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for the first time in May and were very impressed with this stylish Bruges hotel, situated in a very nice location on the outskirts of the city. Great staff, nice room, good breakfast and very good parking (rare in Bruges). There were nice bars and bistros nearby and it was an easy walk into the centre. We have booded to return in September.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackwil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#35 of 97 in Bruges
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#46 of 97 in Bruges
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#37 of 97 in Bruges
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#9 of 97 in Bruges
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maraboe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maraboe Hotel

Address: Hoefijzerlaan 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bruges
#35 Family Hotel in Bruges
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: $97 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maraboe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Maraboe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maraboe Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing