We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average guesthouse”
Review of Maraboe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maraboe Hotel
Ranked #44 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average guesthouse”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This guest hotel is more of a guesthouse. While friendly enough, it was unremarkable. The breakfast was not very good, with little choice of food. The gym was full of equipment that didn't work properly. The location, however, was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugsgameinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    216
    46
    13
    2
See reviews for
103
200
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is in a very good location. We waited for 10 - 15 minutes on arrival to check in to our rooms as no one appeared to be around to check us in. When they finally arrived there was no apology.

We were paying the top of the pay scale for the bedrooms, but the windows overlooked brick walls and not much else.

The hotel was distinctly average. I cannot say I neither loved it nor hated it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just returned from a three night weekend at The Maraboe and found it to be a small, friendly and comfortable hotel which was very well run and in an excellent location within easy walking distance of the centre and railway station. Our double room was spacious with a modern and bright bathroom on the first floor lacking only in a draw or two. The breakfast room was modern and served a very good continental breakfast with unlimited tea/coffee. We certainly would stay at this hotel again and have no hesitation in recommending it to other visitors to Brugge

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EagleChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Maraboe gives you a calm and friendly experience - breakfast is well done, rooms are clean and comfortable and entire place feels cozy and cared for. The owners do a wonderful job of making you feel you are guests in a large home. Location is perfect - not in amongst the streets filled with people, just off the beaten path so it provides easy access to bus station and city center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went with the three of us and had a very large room with a very large double bed and a single bed. Large and modern separate bathroom and separate toilet. It's a large converted house and you can still see its orginal features. The entrance seems v authentic (nice tiled floor). There's parking underneath which we used (small and need to book). Very friendly hotel owners and staff, breakfast was really good, it has everything a continental breakfast should have and more (just no cooked breakfast which we certainly didn't miss) and the breakfast room is very grand and cosy at the same time. The hotel is located at the edge of the shopping area and inner city historic attractions so 1 or 2 minutes and you're there. We went last year in August and are going back in May bringing my parents and brother.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back (little alleyway as opposed to main road at the front). Book early as I i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banditwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for a stag do and had an amazing time. we took over 3 rooms (2 triples and a double), the hotel was clean the staff very friendly and even joked with us the next morning when we accidentally woke them up coming in at 4am. Close to the center of Bruges so ideal for a city break or weekend away. Breakfast is simple but very filling. Rooms are tidy and clean with free Wi-Fi throughout. Close to local sites (we were there to sight see more than the usual drinking on stag do's) and shops. Walkable from the train station and opposite a large market on saturdays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Worried about finding this hotel after reviews bit no robs with sat nav.Very welcoming at reception with easy instructions to parking area under hotel.
Brerakfast a bit mish msh-too many tables squashed into breakfast area but food-variable and to most peoples needs.
Staff very friendly and helpful-hotel so near to all attractions=having stayed before in the borth of the city-this is so better situated with an elderly mother!
Market on Satrday was fab!! -wanted to buy everything

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sttimmj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#37 of 97 in Bruges
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#33 of 97 in Bruges
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#46 of 97 in Bruges
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portinari Hotel
Portinari Hotel
#43 of 97 in Bruges
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#28 of 97 in Bruges
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#39 of 97 in Bruges
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maraboe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maraboe Hotel

Property: Maraboe Hotel
Address: Hoefijzerlaan 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bruges
#35 Family Hotel in Bruges
#40 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maraboe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Maraboe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maraboe Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing