We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Stokerij

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel De Stokerij
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

you will need sat nav to find this hidden treasure,20 mins past Bruges and half hour from ghent,a really great small country hotel, farm house style with all mod cons, we stayed in the double room outside to the left of the reception,very comfortable with open set bathroom,jacuzzi was'nt working but the shower was just fine, beautiful gardens, converted gypsy caravan,stable converted to a dining area and a breakfast room with a beautiful view of the land surrounding.
very large car park and secure for motorbikes also. no tea/coffee in the room but no problem to get some in the main house and bring it back to the room. The owners are wonderful, speaking many languages and cooking up amazing meals with local produce,full of local knowledge and information on what to do.
if you have transport ,skip staying in the city and stay here,a really great place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    96
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
249
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a little trouble finding the road to this little village, which is a sharp turn off a main road and easily missed. However, when we got to the hotel, nothing was too much trouble. Ingrid made our stay one we very much enjoyed (thank you). We arrived a little late after a long drive, but after a drink on the house, we were offered food at the hotel (as the local restaurant was full). The chef was taking a cookery school on that night, and veal rib eye steak with mushrooms was on the menu (which was absolutely amazing). The breakfast was well worth having with fresh bread on the menu. Thank you for a lovely stay. One abiding memory from here is how quiet it was - just fantastic. Would heartily recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed this hotel. Stayed in The Clockmaker room which overlooks a courtyard and has a very nice clean bathroom. The room has a lot of clock related decor and objects in it. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and I had a great night's sleep, it's just so quiet. It's about 20 minutes drive outside Bruges making ideal for a long weekend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank seanfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

i stayed here for 1 night and was made to feel very welcome by Ingrid, nothing was too much trouble for her. The hotel is very close to Bruges and has secure parking for motorcycles. The breakfast was very good too made by Ingrid's husband from local produce and very tasty too. I would recommend Hotel De Stokerij to anybody wanting a nice relaxing stay in a country setting.

Room Tip: The Dr's room was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichtegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
400 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very nice family runned hotel. Friendly people. We won 2 nights with wellness here and it was great. Got the bridal suite with a hot tub and could enjoy the wellness area of the hotel in a private atmosphere. Nice breakfast with homemade jams and homesmoked salmon, delicious. Als the dinner was fantastic and prepared by the owner. You can rent bikes or borrow a guide to make an autotour in the neighbourhood. Great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were traveling with friends from the states who had never been in Belgium. I had difficulties finding a hotel in the Bruges area when I stumbled across the de Stokerij. I was a bit hesitant, but any concerns vanished upon our arrival. The welcome drink, answers and recommendations to our many questions and delightful rooms. Breakfast was superb and we greatly enjoyed the dinner on Thursday night - while I am not a "foodie" it was a wonderful meal. Like others have mentioned, it is set in the countryside and was a treat to observe the young lambs (seemingly all twins) dashing about the field. Peaceful and relaxing - we look forward to returning in future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAW776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this small jewel in West Flandes. I can really recommend everyone to go there to have a real special gastronomic and relaxing experience. We went there with our 2 year old boy and baby and had a really warm welcome from the start (and our children were very welcome too!!). We had a superb family room, just perfect, with a lovely view to the fields with the cows (which was specially amazing for our small boy and absolutely relaxing for us). The room was prepared with lovely candles and relaxing music. Ingrid is really an incredible person who made us feel just like home and gave us very good tips for our stay. But the most incredible surprise was the "dinner experience" we had with them. Ingrid´s husband, who is an amazing cook, was cooking just in front of us and another 4 couples and explaining each of the dishes we were tasting, all made with local fresh products from the region. Our small boy had a special menu too by the way that he really enjoyed. I was specially touched by the warmness of Ingrid and her husband towards my child. He was really happy during the stay! This lovely charming hotel is also the perfect location to visit the Belgian coast, as well as Brugges and Gant. We will definitly come back, even if we live in Brussels and already know the region, just to relax!

Room Tip: If you travel with kids, take the "carroussel room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trotamundi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
8.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
8.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
8.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
8.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
8.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Stokerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Stokerij

Property: Hotel De Stokerij
Address: Hoge Dijken 2 | Oudenburg, Bruges 8460, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Stokerij 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed & breakfast is situated in 20 min. from Bruges and Ostende It 's perfect stay to explore the region per car and bike. Small charming hotel in the countryside with free parking and internet. Gastronomical Restaurant around the chief's table.Only upon reservation. Chef Jan Schaek works only with local products. Possibility to check in in the morning, free coffee, collect your key take some maps and go to Bruges for the whole day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De Stokerij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing