We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marcel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Marcel
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We very much enjoyed our 3 nights. Hotel is very new, everything designed very fashionably, everything was sparklingly clean and worked very well, the beds were wonderful and soft, etc. Breakfast was extremely good, nice toiletries provided, wifi worked well. Also, props for the fabulous hairdryers! We did pay what I think was quite a good rate - average of 110E /night for a Marcel + room, which I thought was a fair price.

However, this new-ness and design is also something of a shortcoming, as the installation of an elevator appears to be coming along very slowly, there may be few communication kinks to be worked out (for example, we had a miscommunication about the inclusion of breakfast and there was no sign in the room as to whether the towels were replaced daily - they weren't) and the toilet area, as lovely as it looks, is not terribly practical - we saw the photos and understood going in, but it really would have been nice to have a toilet that was not behind a frosted glass sliding door with gaps in it.

In any event, none of that would detract from me recommending this hotel or staying again - the location could not be better, the owner was extremely pleasant, helpful and accommodating, and made a great base for Bruges.

Room Tip: No elevator at the moment, and the stairs are VERY steep and the ceilings quite high (so lots of ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza1Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    88
    24
    2
    6
See reviews for
35
136
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at hotel Marcel for just one night, which as it turns out was very fortunate. As I needed to work in the evening, the WiFi was essential, however after connecting to the WiFi I discovered there was no internet access. This can often happen and can usually be solved by restarting the WiFi router, which is quite a simple operation. I called reception to report the problem and was informed by a male voice that the WiFi was working. It does beg the question - why did he think I would report that it wasn't working, if it actually was? Did he think I took some perverse pleasure out of making false reports? Anyway, the man agreed to come to the room and when he arrived, unshaven and splendidly attired in jeans and casual shirt, showed me the WiFi indicator on his phone which showed full WiFi strength. I informed him the WiFi signal was not the issue, but that the router was blocking internet access. He dodged this bullet by saying he didn't understand what I meant since he wasn't a computer expert, although all I wanted him to do was restart the WiFi black box. I explained to him that this was important for my work and if he could not fix it, maybe he could find somebody who could, otherwise he should not expect us to pay the full room price. His semi-aggressive answer to this idea was that maybe we should leave the hotel, a truly masterful exhibition of customer service. From his shoddy appearance and accent, combined with his customer service skills, I judged him to be of eastern European extraction rather than Belgian - the Belgian lady on reception could not have been more friendly. I am amazed that a hotel would employ staff without the most basic knowledge of problem solving so i would certainly not stay here again if i need access to the Internet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had high expectations for this hotel after reading many nice reviews. The location is great, the rest in our opinion does not deserve 4 stars. For 128EUR the breakfast was not included in the price. There is no lift in the hotel. Carrying two heavy suitcases on the 3rd floor was not nice. We did not like the room at first because of how the bed was made. The hotel uses linen and it's not ironed so the bed looks very untidy. The bathroom is more like a wet room, so when you are having a shower the water goes all over the bathroom floor which is rather unpleasant.
The WiFi did not work and when we complained at the reception the person was not able to understand how to restart the WiFi and just told us in not very good English that he is not an IT specialist and if we are not happy we should leave. We had a good sleep and the girl at the reception in the morning was friendly so in the end we decided not to complaint to the manager.
It's an average hotel in the good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevoraLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

As many others have mentioned, Hotel Marcel is the perfect location for exploring Bruges -- it's super close to the market and walking distance to everything in the small city. The staff here are very friendly -- they helped us with parking, dinner recommendations and really made our stay more comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and well worth paying for if it's not included in the rate you chose. The rooms are small, but very organized and comfortable for a weekend trip.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbender26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

rooms are well designed with a nice finish. large shower.
bar is great with a good atmosphere in the evening.
breakfast is great and included in the rate.
staff are very friendly and helpful
perfect location right in the street behind the markt.
Enjoy.....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louhans, France
Level Contributor
375 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here early in January 2014 and enjoyed every minute in the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are small but very well organized. I especially enjoyed the ceiling of my room, being a piece of art... and the bed, being very big and comfortable. The place is just off the market square with parking very close and the bar is a great place for a aperitif before you go for dinner. Breakfast was also very enjoyable and fresh. I can recommend this place to anyone who likes modern design in a beautiful old surrounding. The value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tornado0963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hotel Marcel is compact and bijous but where it may lack in square metres it more than makes up for in location and charm.
Super clean throughout, super friendly staff, great fire place to enjoy a Belgian beer in the evening and moments from the main square make this a hotel I would return to in a heartbeat.
The rooms are 15 msq but the hotel are clear about this on the website. The rooms are thoughtfully designed with a really comfortable bed and everything you need for a short city break.
The only thing to watch out for in Bruges is the parking - it is very limited if the city is busy and can make the trip a little stressful.
Im also a sucker for branding and they have thought this through from water bottles to the brown paper bag your breakfast bread, cheeses and meats are delivered in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macandiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#32 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#35 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#66 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#36 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marcel

Property: Hotel Marcel
Address: Niklaas Desparsstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marcel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Marcel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing