We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Lovely drink

Stopped off after a day in Brugge for a lovely iced chocolate. The hot chocolate drinks looked... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
19Lynn56
,
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Hot Chocolate on a different level.....

If you're in Brugges make sure this place is on you itinerary. This is a genuinely welcoming place... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
AdeKing1
,
Kent, United Kingdom
Read all 1,040 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bruges
from $10.90
More Info
from $51.62
More Info
from $21.79
More Info
from $14.99
More Info
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
1,040 results
Traveler rating
804
151
38
13
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
804
151
38
13
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chocolate house hot milk waffles shop downstairs large cup chocolate chip salted caramel little tea room visit bruges whisk stir mug marshmallows melt belgium euros chips
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,040 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our chocolate drink and it was good they offered it takeaway as well. We also bought chocolate in the shop from different regions in the world. It has lots of different varieties. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank dalilave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Just go there, climb the spiral stair case, grab a small table, read the menu and definitely get a hot chocolate and a waffle with fresh strawberries and homemade whipped cream. No spoiler alert here...just go. Oh, first you have to get passed the amazing chocolates downstairs...don’t get deterred, go upstairs. When you come back down after the waffle then look around then shop some more.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Bross24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

If you visit Bruges, you really should add a stop to "The Old Chocolate House" as a must do. You can buy chocolates here, but in my opinion there are other stores in the city which are better to just buy chocolates. The thing to do here is to go upstairs to their small cafe and have hot chocolate milk and waffles. Some people couldn't get a seat in the cafe because it's small and you may have to wait. I would recommend avoiding the middle of the day. Plus, there were some people in the cafe who wanted to order a waffle; they are so good, but didn't want to wait for it to be made. They only have one waffle machine so it can take 20-40 minutes if they are busy. My wife and I were happy to wait. We had been walking all morning and needed a break. The chocolate milk is wonderful and the waffle is fantastic - but the experience of how you make your chocolate milk, mixing in real chocolate to the milk, and having a real Belgian waffle was worth it!! If I go back to Bruges, I will definitely stop here again!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank SteveSquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

A delightful, warm, authentic Cafe to enjoy the best hot chocolate you'll ever drink! Very sweet and relaxed upstairs area to dine and lovely chocolate shop underneath.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 720LisaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

As the title says, I've had the best hot chocolate of my life there. You get a giant cup of hot milk and a capcake-looking chocolate that shall be dropped inside and mixed by yourself! Seriously, try it!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 942matheusw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews