We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hot Chocolate in Brugge!!”

The Old Chocolate House
Ranked #2 of 76 Shopping in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Hot Chocolate in Brugge!!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Called in here to defrost and was taken with the quirky little tea rooms. It's simply lovely and the hot chocolates are delicious!! Stick with the old favourite of milk chocolate :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BecBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    109
    31
    9
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a chocolate experience with a difference”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We wanted a hot chocolate drink and after enquiring with locals we visited this little old place. Basically the hot milk arrives in giant mug and you add your own choc drops to it until you get your desired taste of chocolate. 2 of us had dark choc and 1 of us had white choc.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank HRGuruPreston_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A truly lovely experience!!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I visited the old chocolate house after reading such wonderful reviews on here & we were certainly not disappointed!! We climbed the wooden stairs to be greeted with friendly staff & a cosy room kitted out like an old English tea room. We ordered the milk hot chocolate each and the assortment of little goodies to share & when it all arrived on a vintage cake stand it made us smile. The waiter then spent the time (even though they were incredibly busy) to explain to us what each little yummy sweet thing was and how to make the hot chocolate up. Each sweet treat was delicious & the hot choc was incredible (you can buy the hot choc pellets downstairs so you can enjoy at home...I did!!) I would tell anyone & everyone about the old chocolate house, a lovely little place to visit when in Bruges!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holsonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Its not just about the Chocolate!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a gem of a place right in the centre of Brugge. Was dying for a nice cuppa of tea and when i climbed the stairs to the seating are was not disappointed. The layout was like an old English tea house with my tea being served in a quirky tea pot. My other half had a Chocolate which was amazing and we shared a selection of small cakes which was gorgeous.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terran01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Excelent hot chocolate”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

It is cheaper than the other choc stores and the chocolate is awsome. An original belgian relic. If you go upstairs you can find the hot chocolate and some other options.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Felipe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Chocolate House also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to The Old Chocolate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing